We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and inviting”
Review of Auberge Amerik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Amerik
Ranked #8 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Quaint lovely older home whose history we are now a part of. We stayed in the blue room, comfortable and quiet. Francois greeted us in the morning and proudly gave us an education about his home region. He found us areas that would more interest us than others, and did likewise for others. He is a true ambassador of Quebec. We would recommend this inn to friends and family. I gave the sleep quality 4 stars only because we had a double bed. The continental breakfast was quite sufficient, great breads, croissants, coffee cakes, fruit, yogurt, cereal and coffee, didn't need anything more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Propriétaire at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2015

Thanks for this very nice and eloquant review .
We now have queen size beds except in our 2 rooms with 2 double beds !

Hope to see you again this year !

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 349 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

I bought a groupon coupon for a weekend at the Auberge Amerik. Very nice place to discover Quebec city. The place is charming and the proprietors very welcoming. We received precious information about what to visit, how to get there and where to eat. We were kindly offered coupons for spa and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheekhamoher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Manager at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Sorry for the long delay

After all this time, we have improve a lot - come visit us soon

Best Regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

To sum up Quebec city in one sentence, it is marvels and fantastic surprises where you least expect them - at the "edge of the world".
To sum up Quebec City in two words - Auberge Amerik.
Auberge is a par excellence Quebec experience. Incredibly vibrant and diverse, it is a unique cultural exchange milieu with it old-world charm and, at the same time, its open-minded and welcoming atmosphere, what mimics the general mood of the city. Auberge is universally interesting to all ages and backgrounds, and it is suitable for everyone: families, couples or individual adventurers alike.
The fact that it is not in the immediate geometric center of the city makes it even better for you - the visitor. Walking to the spectacular walled city (the only remaining one in North America, btw) you will get to see and, inevitably, experience the true Quebec that is usually hidden from the eyes of the visitors.
Some of the highlights - hanging out on the rooftop or on the porch with the guests and buddies of François, who could be both locals and outsiders from other parts of Canada who settled in Quebec - all very interesting and amusing young people. Or the breakfast in the big hall, chatting with François and other guests about the different festivals and events in town and planning the day.
The most colorful and memorable impressions you get from any location that you visit are associated with the people you meet there. Thanks to François and his unique Auberge Amerik concept - Quebec was a truly bright and memorable experience for me.
So I suggest talk to François, book your room, get prepared for adventures and
Expect the unexpected!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergeamerik, Owner at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thanks a lot Mr ' Class Act ' Eugene

We will meet again someday... !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Auberge Amerik has the glamour of the old times. The breakfast is good and healthy. The location is good allowing driving or taking the 800 bus downtown. My wife, my grandson and I stayed in the Blue room which faces the lateral street and it was OK. Price seems to be fair for a city that is not cheap.
Pierre, the host was really nice and helpful advising us where to go taking into consideration we did stay for just a couple of days. If you have small kids there´s a park nearby that you should not miss. It has a nice playground, swimming pool and lots of trails to explore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumbalaia_Abitilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Gérant at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Thank you for your positive comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped at the Auberge Amerik for three nights, one day into a tour around eastern Canada. I've since looked at the small number of bad reviews on Trip Advisor and can only say I'm baffled given my own experience. The Auberge is about 20 minutes max from the centre of Quebec City (we're reasonably fit, but weren't in a hurry) and we had no problem walking in and out each evening.

First impressions were positive, including a friendly welcome from the owner/manager (Francois) and a resident who'd been stopping for a month or so. The room was clean, elegant, relaxed and (thankfully) had no TV. The shower was good (hot + powerful) which is a must, as far as I'm concerned. Continental breakfast each morning was excellent - a good selection of pastries, cake, fruit, fruit juice, good coffee and tea. There were also kitchen facilities, in case you wanted a cup of tea or snack in the evening.

Francois was available each morning to provide advice on sight-seeing, routes and so on. We hadn't really planned to see anything in Quebec City, so this was really helpful. He had advice and suggestions about visits to the old town and to the Ile d' Orleans, which provided for a couple of full and interesting days.

In conclusion, I would happily go back to the Auberge Amerik: the rate charged was more than reasonable for the service we received.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Gérant at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Thank you for your positive comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My son flew us into Quebec City late due to the weather. The three of us arrived about 10:30 pm by taxi and found our room was number 1. All we wanted to do is go to sleep. We slept well. In the morning Francoise welcomed us with an open heart. We had breakfast and enjoyed the comfortable family atmosphere.
After breakfast Francoise let us know how and where we could visit the old city in the time that we had left before we needed to fly out again. Indeed Francoise helped us to maximize our time spent in Quebec City and we quickly made a friendship in which we email each other. Friendships are invaluable and worth cherishing.
Ela Buchanan

Room Tip: Room one is good for families because it has two queen size beds in it. It is the only one we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Gérant at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

Thank you for your positive comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location is unbeatable, and the attentiveness of François is excellent. He helped us plan different places to visit each day. The building is so distinctive that it was very easy to locate. We liked the free parking, and the proximity to the Old City, to the expressways and to shopping and restaurants. It's a clean, orderly inn, with a good breakfast of delicious breads, fresh fruits, jams, yogurt, cereals and beverages. It was a good return for our money.

Room Tip: The inn is an old victorian house with spacious, airy and light rooms. They are spartan but comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Propriétaire at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015
Google Translation

Merci pour votre sympathique commentaire.
Merci de souligner le charme de notre vieille bâtisse plus que centenaire ( 1904 ).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
2.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,800 reviews
9.4 mi away
Le Gite du Hu-Art
Le Gite du Hu-Art
#5 of 120 in Quebec City
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Gite Confort
Gite Confort
#2 of 120 in Quebec City
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Couette et Cafe 253
Couette et Cafe 253
#4 of 120 in Quebec City
124 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#9 of 120 in Quebec City
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Amerik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Amerik

Address: 1720 Chemin de la Canardiere, Quebec City, Quebec G1J 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Maizerets
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $72 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Amerik 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE MAKE YOU DISCOVER QUEBEC CITY! Stay at our small hotel and enjoy the familiar atmosphere - including our guidance during your whole stay (tips, maps, recommandations) - WE KNOW OUR HOME TOWN AND WE LOVE TO SHARE IT WITH YOU! At Auberge Amerik, you stay CENTRAL: 10 min to Quebec City Center 10 min to Montmorency Falls and the Island Ile d'Orleans 20 min to ski station Mont Sainte Anne 20 min to reservation Wendake various bycicle paths starting in front of our door magnificent parc Domaine Maizerets and beach Baie de Beauport nearby situated in an artistic neighborhood Enjoy our services: Parking FOR FREE WiFi FOR FREE Gym FOR FREE Minibar, microwaves, fridges and access to the laundry room FOR FREE Bike renting Massage and NeuroSpa Restaurant ... not to mention the PRICE REDUCTIONS at our various partners' establishments! We are looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Amerik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Amerik Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing