We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, host provides excellent local info, would recommend.”
Review of Auberge Amerik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Amerik
Ranked #8 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped at the Auberge Amerik for three nights, one day into a tour around eastern Canada. I've since looked at the small number of bad reviews on Trip Advisor and can only say I'm baffled given my own experience. The Auberge is about 20 minutes max from the centre of Quebec City (we're reasonably fit, but weren't in a hurry) and we had no problem walking in and out each evening.

First impressions were positive, including a friendly welcome from the owner/manager (Francois) and a resident who'd been stopping for a month or so. The room was clean, elegant, relaxed and (thankfully) had no TV. The shower was good (hot + powerful) which is a must, as far as I'm concerned. Continental breakfast each morning was excellent - a good selection of pastries, cake, fruit, fruit juice, good coffee and tea. There were also kitchen facilities, in case you wanted a cup of tea or snack in the evening.

Francois was available each morning to provide advice on sight-seeing, routes and so on. We hadn't really planned to see anything in Quebec City, so this was really helpful. He had advice and suggestions about visits to the old town and to the Ile d' Orleans, which provided for a couple of full and interesting days.

In conclusion, I would happily go back to the Auberge Amerik: the rate charged was more than reasonable for the service we received.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Gérant at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Thank you for your positive comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 350 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

My son flew us into Quebec City late due to the weather. The three of us arrived about 10:30 pm by taxi and found our room was number 1. All we wanted to do is go to sleep. We slept well. In the morning Francoise welcomed us with an open heart. We had breakfast and enjoyed the comfortable family atmosphere.
After breakfast Francoise let us know how and where we could visit the old city in the time that we had left before we needed to fly out again. Indeed Francoise helped us to maximize our time spent in Quebec City and we quickly made a friendship in which we email each other. Friendships are invaluable and worth cherishing.
Ela Buchanan

Room Tip: Room one is good for families because it has two queen size beds in it. It is the only one we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Gérant at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

Thank you for your positive comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location is unbeatable, and the attentiveness of François is excellent. He helped us plan different places to visit each day. The building is so distinctive that it was very easy to locate. We liked the free parking, and the proximity to the Old City, to the expressways and to shopping and restaurants. It's a clean, orderly inn, with a good breakfast of delicious breads, fresh fruits, jams, yogurt, cereals and beverages. It was a good return for our money.

Room Tip: The inn is an old victorian house with spacious, airy and light rooms. They are spartan but comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Propriétaire at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015
Google Translation

Merci pour votre sympathique commentaire.
Merci de souligner le charme de notre vieille bâtisse plus que centenaire ( 1904 ).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

well it was my first time in quebec city and all i can said about the host is wounderfull very helpfull .. he is 9 out off 10 for me and yes i go back again the only thing i did not like was a man fron nova scotia that works there and he made a joke about what do i have for breakfest beer or what that was not nice and because i from newfoundland is we are all drunks i told the host and he said he is a nice guy who been with me for almost 3 years ,, i said ok ,, but when i left on sat morning on aug 11 2012 at 530 am well this guy was outside sitting with a another man smoking up like wead or drugs well i guess he has that for breakfest ,, well im from NB and my name is great pardy have a great time with my wife the only thing quebec needs to fix is parking ,, it cost a lot off money like 20 dollars a day in old quebec too much

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergeamerik, Owner at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hello
Thanks for the good comments , I remember we had good discussions about hockey and politics. Your right for the parking , at the Auberge , we have free parking and when driving downtown I always try to show our guests the cheaper places... Sorry that you had a negative exchange with another guest , people sometimes smoke cigarettes outside and theres rarely alcool on the premises. Hope to see you again sometimes -Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Well where do I begin? I booked a through this website 2 weeks prior to our scheduled stay, and worried about what other customers complained about (the booking not going through) I emailed to both of the hotel's addresses and asked them to confirm... No response. So after waiting for a week I called the them the night before driving 1100 km from Nova Scotia to Quebec and no problem, and everything is in order they said.
So... We arrive and guess what? I The Scottish woman in charge of passive aggressively blames the booking company, a-a-and... they are overbooked and have booked us into a seedy motel down the road.. . Thanks for ruining our trip to Quebec City... There were no other hotels available last minute on a Saturday night - Roger Waters was in tow3n, everyone was saying.... We checked 20 or so. This "Auberge" owes me a lost weekend.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank bilzebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Gérant at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

We are very sorry for this mishap and present you our apologies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed for 1 night at this B&B on a 1 day trip to Quebec. I dont want to be too critical as I am not sure if I am either too fussy or if I had been spoilt at the other B&B's I had stayed in during my 7 days driving around Canada.
I admit this B&B was slightly cheaper than the other B&B's I stayed at but I was disappointed. I arrived about 3pm on a Friday afternoon and the owner was friendly and eager to provide any assistance on directions and maps for our sightseeing of Quebec. However, I stayed in the Blue Room and their seemed to be a strong smell of bleach on the whole floor of the house. The bedroom window was broken and had a large hole in it due to a rotten wooden window frame (not sure why it has not been repaired as it is quite noticeable...maybe it was to compensate for no airconditioning in the room). The bathroom was very small. The bar of soap available had been previously used by another occupant (which was rather unhygenic). There was a problem with the hot and cold water. Breakfast was basic: some cornflakes and bread/croissants.......did not have option for anything cooked. I think a little bit more care and attention to detail at this B&B would overcome some of the issues above. One bonus was that there was free wifi service.
Reasonably near Quebec City (about 15 mins on bus) or 40 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DB_Cooper_inHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergeamerik, Propriétaire at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hello Mr Cooper !

Hope you're still doing some good business in HK ...!
Sorry for some of the inconviences you had during your stay . Let me clarify some facts; we only use biodegrable cleaning products to clean our rooms and the linnen. We DO have air-conditioning in all our room; my mistake not to inform you on how to use it... As for the maintenance of the building we are classified historical building and we have old windows but never ever rotten...
True , our breakfast have nothing cooked; just fresh multi-grain bread, fruits, premium cerials,yogourts and so on . Honestly; you review made me put a lot more ''care to overcome these issues''... For exemple , we now have small fridges in most of our rooms... Hope we meet again someday...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a couple of nights in Quebec City at Auberge Amerik in July and I have been raving about our accommodation ever since. This was my 5th visit to the city and I feel like I have found my place. Not too fancy but with lots of character.... all the privacy you need plus comfortable common spaces. Francois, the owner, not only has great taste in music but with great enthusiasm helped us plan our stay and his recommendations proved invaluable. I am so pleased to have found this little spot and definitely will stay here on my next visit to the city.
Sincerely,
Suzanne Fowler

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mengluxy, Gérant at Auberge Amerik, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

Thank you for your positive comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
2.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,877 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Le Gite du Hu-Art
Le Gite du Hu-Art
#3 of 120 in Quebec City
229 reviews
1.9 mi away
Au Petit Hotel
Au Petit Hotel
#19 of 120 in Quebec City
155 reviews
2 mi away
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#10 of 120 in Quebec City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Amerik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Amerik

Address: 1720 Chemin de la Canardiere, Quebec City, Quebec G1J 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Maizerets
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $58 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Amerik 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE MAKE YOU DISCOVER QUEBEC CITY! Stay at our small hotel and enjoy the familiar atmosphere - including our guidance during your whole stay (tips, maps, recommandations) - WE KNOW OUR HOME TOWN AND WE LOVE TO SHARE IT WITH YOU! At Auberge Amerik, you stay CENTRAL: 5 min to Old Quebec 10 min to Montmorency Falls and the Island Ile d'Orleans 20 min to ski station Mont Sainte Anne 20 min to reservation Wendake various bycicle paths starting in front of our door magnificent parc Domaine Maizerets and beach Baie de Beauport nearby situated in an artistic neighborhood Enjoy our services: Parking FOR FREE WiFi FOR FREE Gym FOR FREE Minibar, microwaves, fridges and access to the laundry room FOR FREE Bike renting Massage and NeuroSpa Restaurant ... not to mention the PRICE REDUCTIONS at our various partners' establishments! We are looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Amerik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Amerik Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing