We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Parisian like city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upper Town (Haute-Ville)

Upper Town (Haute-Ville)
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.30*
and up
Private Tour: Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The hilly section of the city known as Upper Town developed later than the original settlement it overlooks.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Parisian like city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We walked all over. There is great shopping, many pubs and restaurants and a lot of sights to see. City was very clean and decorated beautifully for fall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rubletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    182
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great for walking around, many sidewalks, but not real wide. Veiws of port and St Lawrence Seaway were lovely.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank srsobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What A VIEW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We styed here. We walked her (for hours and hours). One of the world's great hotels is here (we didn't stay there).

Upper Old-town Quebec has wonderful views, historic buildings by the boat load, cute or fancy or even (sorta) cheap hotels and LOTS of wonderful walking to do. This is a walking part of town (if you don't mind a little up and down).

We spent almost three full days here (with some time in lower old town) and walked all of it. The old city wall is a nice, easy (with some stairs) walk with wonderful views. A walk up to the Citidel might be a challenge for some, but very much worth the effort. It commands some views that you would (and will need to) pay a small fee to see.

Good resturants are to numerous to mention. Our hotel's breakfast was great, so we cannot comment on the day's beginnings outside of that, but noon and evening meals were on offer everywhere and in our 3 days we were never disappointed.

We should note that, by accident, we got out of the "tourist circut". I lost my reading glasses and needed to buy an new pair. Our hotel guided me to a street with a pharmacy, but also all of the "usual" stores that locals need to survive in a big city. It was great fun! And NOT even a little bit touristy!! Ask your hotel where to buy an aspirin!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Haute-Ville a Stroll Through Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

As you stroll down the Grande-Allee in the direction of Haute-Ville, a scene begins to unfold that takes you back to what looks like 1700s Paris, complete with horse-driven carriages, cobblestone streets, tiny sidewalks, and bustling merchant stores everywhere. The Haute-Ville is, in a word, charming (although not as charming as the Basse-Ville in my humble opinion).

Plenty of restaurants and touristy shops line the Grande-Allee, but if you break away and wander the side streets there are other boutique stores, bistros, and public promenades available to see. The basilica Cathedral of Notre Dame is worth visiting, as well as the Chateau Frontenac as you approach the Terrase Dufferin.

Personally, I recommend eating at the restaurant "Aux Anciens Canadiens" on the Grande-Allee, and stopping to peruse the native inuit carving gallery right across the street.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This area is so amazing. It has a European feel without the cost of being in Europe. Cobblestone streets, cafes, shops, street artists and lovely parks. So much fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eyerep74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Town (Haute-Ville) also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Upper Town (Haute-Ville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing