We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in Upper Town...”

Upper Town (Haute-Ville)
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.01*
and up
Private Tour: Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 218 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The hilly section of the city known as Upper Town developed later than the original settlement it overlooks.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We stayed in Upper Town...”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have visited Historic Quebec on a number of occasions and I always marvel at how it moves me. I have stayed both in Upper Town (Haute-Ville) and Lower Town (Basse-Ville) and both offer so much to you...I enjoy Upper town for restaurants and shopping. The proximity in upper town, allows you to walk to everything. It is so convenient you can park the car and leave it or simply arrive by taxi from the airport and stroll wherever your interests take you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GDMICM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    201
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Tourist trap but a must-see”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's essential to visit Upper Town, namely to see the walls, the gates and the Plains of Abraham. But if you want real culture, descend to Lower Town and go to Grand Allee for the cuisine.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank niche_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Are we in Paris ???”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Romantic with all its little cafés, boutiques, the Upper town has a definitely european cachet ! and don't worry, you can be served in english without problem. We simply loved it !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePerrys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ancien Canadiens”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We joined Canadians who came to the Northern Hemisphere four centuries ago and shared the beauty of the city they founded. It is an experience akin to being in Europe!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in North America”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I knew Quebec City was special, but I didn't know it was so extraordinary. I've just fell in love with this city.
Charming, beautiful, vibrant, cool, full of history, art, culture, architecture, rich gastronomy and many other things one could say about it.
And the people...
Ah! people are amazingly nice, friendly, good-humored and all the time ready to help. One doesn't even have to ask. They realize when you're in need of something and just come to offer information, directions and, most important, insider tips.
Upper Town, with its nice streets, elegant façades carefully ornamented with flowers, its churches and imposing buildings in several styles, is an overwhelming delight.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Celestefaisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Town (Haute-Ville) also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Upper Town (Haute-Ville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing