We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the Young & Young at Heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Young & Young at Heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

My husband and I traveled for the holiday to Quebec City. We had never been and had both always wanted to go. We have no children, we are in our early 30's, and love craft beer/ local culture. We chose the L'Auberge Saint-Pierre from a listing on Kayak.com because it looked quaint and it was in the old port district (walking distance to anything in Old Quebec City). The price was right where we typically like to be (approx. $140 per night), but the price did not include valet parking (there is absolutely NO overnight street parking) which was an extra $20 a night. The upside of this $160 per night price was a cafe style breakfast every morning included in the price. THIS was fantastic. A menu with approximately 10 items to choose from ranging from crepes to goat cheese omelets w/ fruit, potato and endless juice and coffee. This breakfast we had each morning would normally cost us about $20-$30 daily. Not only was it included, but it tasted fantastic, the service was amazing, and the room was casual elegant (white linens, white china, and small wooden tables).

The service at L'Auberge Saint-Pierre was exceptional from the moment we walked in (10pm on a Wednesday) to the moment we left. The valet even ran to our car (no idea where they parked them) and retrieved a bag from the trunk for us lickety split. The front desk, servers in the dining area, valet, managers, housekeeping, and bartenders were genuinely kind and eager to make our experience the best it could be.

The building at L'Auberge Sait-Pierre is perfectly located in the old port district. This is steps away from the Rue de Petit (which is the oldest street in Quebec City) and absolutely beautiful and super safe. We are from NY; we're used to looking over our shoulders when we walk anywhere. NOT in Quebec City. We wanted to go from one pub in old Quebec to a brewery in new Quebec City and were considering making the 20min walk. We asked the barkeep in the pub if it was safe--he laughed and said "this ain't NY my friends. We had 1 murder in all of 2009 and that was considered a fluke." We decided on a cab anyway and he called us one quick. The cab driver drove us approximately 2 miles and the price was $7. SEVEN dollars? We attempted to give him a $10 bill for the fare and he gave us back $2 and told us that was WAY too much. Seriously? Yes. Seriously.

Our room at L'Auberge Saint-Pierre was nice. The bed was a queen with feather pillows and a down comforter inside of a duvet cover. There was exposed brick on the exterior wall and our window faced a museum. There was a desk, a casual chair, a coffee table, two bedside tables, an Armour, and a flat screen t.v. in the bedroom. The bathroom was large with a pedestal sink and a jacuzzi tub. The colors were great (deep reds and wood) and I believe we were the loud ones on the floor because we never heard anyone else during our visit (they were fully booked).

If you are visiting Quebec City you should consider L'Auberge Saint-Pierre. We spent 5 days in the city and looked at a million other inns/hotels and wouldn't stay in a different one when we return. The price, mixed with the location/staff/breakfast and ambiance made it a perfect vacation for us.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Unique_Asprirations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    285
    53
    12
    5
See reviews for
252
693
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

My wife and I, and another couple, recently had the unique opportunity to stay in two hotels side by side in lower Quebec City, owned by the same people - L'Auberge Saint-Pierre and "71." This happened because the Saint-Pierre had been recommended by friends but could only accommodate us for the first two days of our planned visit. They offered the option of moving next door for only a little more money, so we took them up on it.

The Saint-Pierre is the older property, and it showed. The lobby and rooms were a little shabby, I thought, and the decoration truly minimal. The people were outstandingly friendly and helpful. That made it all the more shocking when we and our friends both discovered that our beds had not been made after our first night, even though the spreads were pulled up so they appeared to have been done, and the rooms showed other signs of having been visited by the housekeeping folks.

In the rooms themselves, there were some odd omissions. For example, there were essentially no horizontal surfaces where you could put down luggage, other than the floor. Same was true in the bathroom and two people's toiletries.. The coffee-maker was installed inside the top section of the only real chest of any sort, with a cord so short that you had to unplug it each time you wanted to add water or coffee. The TV was on top of the chest. There was no channel guide for the TV, or instructions for using the telephone. The former is a particular issue for English-speakers in a French-speaking area, since so many channels are in French.

I can't complete this review without applauding the included breakfast. You order from an extensive menu and the food is very well prepared, served quickly, and delicious. such a breakfast for two would cost at least $25 if paid for separately. Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

I am going to echo many of the previous reviews about this hotel. The staff at this hotel is so attentive and they do try to accomodate all your needs. We especially enjoyed the fire and seating area off the lobby. I asked for a refrigerator when we checked in and they brought it right up to our room. We were able then to purchase a few snacks and drinks to have available after we returned from our day's activity. Taxes in Quebec are very high so this does add quite abit to many of the food and drink purchases you make there. So this was nice to be able to have an option to have a few items in our room.
The breakfast is wonderful and the breakfast staff has a good sense of humor. We did ask for catsup for the potatoes the first day and so the following mornings, this was provided without asking and a little joking to go along with it. Coffee was great also.
The rooms and bathrooms were large and very clean. We had asked for two rooms next to each other, which was noted, and they allowed us to check in early when we arrived. This was quite nice as it had started to snow and rain as we reached Quebec and allowed us to change and venture out into the City.
We would definitely return to this hotel, only this time in summer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MA-Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Great location in the heart of the part of the old town below the cliffs, close to the river.
No parking, so needed valet parking ($20 per day)

Old-fashioned cosy look and feel to the hotel, but our small room only had a two foot high minature wardrobe between two people, so I had to keep my clothes in my suitcase for a 2 night stay. Also, only one bedside table. Bottom line is that our room wasn't really big enough for 2 people.

Odd breakfast. Lots of separate choices, but everything was just on one plate - such as toast/sausage/fresh fruit. Staff attitude varied, some were very welcoming and friendly, for others words like hauteur and froideur were more appropriate.

Overall, pretty expensive at $160 per night including tax, especially as parking was extra.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David4758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Staff was helpful and friendly! (especially Maxime : ) Each room was unique in the lower town, narrow street location near many small shops and restaurants! Never before have we experienced a breakfast included with hotel charge that was served with white linens and a full 12 item meal selection! Our last day we left the hotel early for flight before breakfast was served so they packed juice and croissants for us to take with us. Charming and quiet is what we liked best! Wouldn't change a thing! Take the two hour bus tour of Quebec City and you catch it a block from hotel. Arrangements are made at the front desk.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank orangesoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hotel had friendly staff who provided good advice about local attractions and activities. Breakfast (included) was good with about 12 hot selections. Service slowed a bit on the one morning that was busy, but otherwise was very good. Room was spacious especially for being in a converted old office building. I loved that the big windows let in a lot of light and actually opened which is a nice change from big tower hotels. The location in the old port made it steps away from many of the top end restaurants and they are directly across the street from the Museum of Civilization. The area is quiet at night, and there was no traffic noise at all. The hotel offers easy valet parking if you have a car or you can park a few blocks away at a parking lot.

Our room was missing a towel hanger on the back of the door, but the staff repaired it within a couple of hours of me reporting it. Overall a great place and I'd go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A-GlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We received a warm welcome when we booked into this hotel, which is ideally placed for sightseeing in old Quebec (upper and lower levels) and is within easy walking distance of plenty of restaurants in the old port area. We stayed for four nights.
Our room, which looked directly out onto the wall of the Musee de Civilisation across the street, was a reasonable size with freshly painted walls but rather tired looking furniture and floorboards which squeaked when walked on. The carpet square had definitely seen better days and the duvet cover was faded and marked.
The window wall was open brickwork with a miscellany of pipe work (probably heating and a sprinkler system).
The bathroom was small but clean, with minimal surface areas for toilet bags. Hanging space, number of hangers, drawer space and surfaces in the room itself were adequate.
The lighting was somewhat sparse, however the air conditioning and bathroom shower worked well.
Breakfast (included in the room rate) was waiter service of a choice from a very good menu plus orange juice and continually topped-up coffee. The service was friendly and swift; however the hot food wasn’t very warm on the first morning. We also were slightly put off by the practice of the tip given by the occupant of a breakfast table being put back by the waiter, in clear view, onto the re-laid table and not cleared until he arrived to take the next occupant’s order (a very broad hint indeed).
Overall we found the hotel to be reasonable value for the price paid, but we would look around for an alternative (even if higher priced) when staying in Quebec again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Property: Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City's most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful. Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 30 rooms and 9 Suites a winning combination for all our guests. Cozy, warm atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Auberge St Pierre
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing