We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Auberge St-Pierre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Auberge St-Pierre”
Reviewed September 25, 2005

Had a wonderful visit to Auberge St-Pierre with five friends. All of us agreed we would return to this charming inn. Friendly staff, lots of Q.C. ambiance, very comfortable and a location that can't be beat if you want to explore Vieux Quebec. Parfait!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    296
    56
    14
    5
See reviews for
254
729
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 4, 2005

This hotel is wonderful in every way -- hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and attentive, the daily breakfast is exquisite, our room was cozy/clean/quaint, and the location is perfect as it is far enough away from the tourist-central part of town but close enough to walk there in a few minutes. I truly enjoyed my 5-day stay at the Auberge St-Pierre and highly recommend it to future visitors!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2005

This hotel has a great location on a quaint street in Lower Town Quebec City. It is a 3 minute walk to Place Royale (a gorgeous cobble-stoned square) and Le Petit Champlain--the narrow shopping street just below the Chateau Frontenac, and the cruise terminal. It is even within a 15-20 minute walk of the Gare du Palais (VIA Rail train station). The rooms have exposed brick walls, thin down comforters, whirlpool baths (a nice plus) and are decorated in attractive colors. Breakfast (included with room) is served in a pretty dining room from 7-10 am and you choose from about 10 dishes each morning and they make it to order--things like yogurt and fruit, omlettes, french toast, crepes, and oatmeal. It is really nice and the server was so bright and friendly each morning. The only drawback for us was the construction noise nextdoor as they renovate another old building. They started about 8 am and served as our "wake-up call." This is out of the control of the hotel staff, but hopefully they contruction will be done soon. We loved it! Make sure to have a meal at the diner-stlye Le Buffet De L'antiquaire on Rue St. Paul (4 minute walk from hotel). Mostly locals were in there, but they served Quebec comfort food and it was very cheap and delicious. We felt is was a great way to experience the true local fare.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank buckislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2004

My husband and I stayed there for three nights in July 2004 after reading all the wonderful reviews on trip advisor. Our stay in the hotel was very pleasant but our good experience during our stay turned into an awful experience once we received our credit card statement. Upon leaving the hotel we payed our bill in full, but when we came home and reviewed our credit card statements we found that some additional charges had been made to our credit card. On several occasions we wrote emails to the personnel of the hotel seeking an explanation for this additional charge, and more than three months later they have yet to respond. We are now trying to get the charge overturned through our credit card company since the personnel of the hotel has ignored us. Any good experience I had during my stay was soured by the dishonesty or lack of interest the people who run this hotel have shown towards our problem.

Helpful?
26 Thank trespequitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2004

My husband and I researched hotels on this site and and decided this looked like the place to spend our honeymoon. What a great choice! We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at the Auberge St. Piere in September 2004 and I would highly recommend it! The rooms were spacious with a beautiful French-country décor (wish I could recreate the room at home!). The staff was very kind and helpful with directions, restaurant information, and anything else we needed. There were quite a few meal selections for the complementary breakfast. We had something different each day and everything was very good. The only downside was that everyone must shower about an hour before the breakfast serving time ends (as I did) and there was no hot water left. I adjusted my shower time by an hour the next morning and was fine. We took the tour of the Chateau Frontenac (good tour!) and knew we had made the right choice with where to stay….those rooms were 3-4 times the price and quite small in comparison. I guess they are charging for being the token place to stay. Not worth it in our minds! We also loved the location of the Auberge St. Pierre…the hotel is located in a very quite section of the lower town but very close to some great restaurants and historic places. If you want to go to the upper part of the city and aren’t up for the stairs or incline, the Funicular is quite reasonable. We’re already planning our next visit to the Auberge St. Pierre!

We highly recommend taking the staff’s suggestion for dinner at Le Couchen Dingue (the silly/crazy pig) – a short walk from the hotel in the lower portion of the city. You get a 3 course meal at a very reasonable price. We actually only got one of the 3 course meals and one entrée and shared the appetizer and dessert and had more than enough at a very reasonable price. Make sure you have their maple apple pie too!

Skip the revolving restaurant at the Lowe’s unless you’re willing to pay a lot for only a beautiful view. The wait staff was incredibly rude and dinners starting at $20 means one dinner at $20 (vegetarian pasta), one at $25, one at $30 and the rest significantly higher (buffet is $40/person) and includes mostly French delicacies and seafood.

If you have a car, we recommend taking a 10-minute ride to the nearby falls (the name escapes me but you can ask anyone at the front desk for directions). The falls are actually higher than Niagara and quite beautiful. You can take a few hundred stairs or a cable car to the top where there’s a restaurant and a suspension bridge that goes across the falls.

If you go in the summer, we also recommend a short ferry ride to Levis. Going across the St. Laurence gives you a great view of the Chateau and the city. If you go before Labor Day there’s a bus tour that takes you around the island. Be sure to go to the famous ice cream shop that serves chocolate dipped cones…just get a size smaller than you think you want – it’s incredibly thick and rich and delicious (not like Dairy Queen’s version)– and surprisingly reasonable too! Ken at the front desk knows the place and can give good directions!

Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2004

I spent 5 nights at the Auberge St. Pierre and loved the hotel -- the location, the staff, the accomodations. The location was perfect for me since I love to walk -- and did so everywhere, navigating the steep incline to visit the upper city, or walking the short distance to the port to watch the huge cruise ships pull into port.

Out the back door, only a short distance away, there are numerous restaurants with varied cuisine and right across the street is a Subway, if you want to eat "American."

Shops and art galleries abound as one navigates throughout the lower city and into the upper reaches.

I was given the room posted on the website with the plaid duvet and enjoyed having the table to work on, as well as the small stereo system to listen to my new Diana Krall CD.

My only "complaint," if you want to call it that, is the low lighting in the room. The room had steps up to the bathroom and the lower step was poorly illuminated which would make it difficult for someone with vision problems to navigate.

While the price may have been more than I'd liked to have paid -- and more than I usually do -- I felt it was worth the treat to myself. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
8 Thank gdkrueger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2004

We stayed in a deluxe room that overlooked the Musuem. We had huge windows that let in a lot of light. It was easy to close the curtains for privacy. Our room was huge and included a king sized bed, sofa and table with three chairs in the main room. There was a separate room with a two person jacuzzi and then a shower stall and toilet and sink in another area. The room was spotless. Decoration and service was excellent. Breakfast was a joy and the waiters were very polite. It was located on a quiet street in Lower Town within easy walking distance to a number of good restaurants and Petit Champlain. We walked up the hill to Upper Town and we also used the Funiclaire. We loved staying in Lower Town because it was less hectic and quiet. I would recommend this inn to anyone looking for a special stay.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Property: Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City's most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful. Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 30 rooms and 9 Suites a winning combination for all our guests. Cozy, warm atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge St Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing