We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Louise made an ideal location even better with her shared information.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Louise made an ideal location even better with her shared information.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

All was wonderful.
Great way to begin a day with delicious breatfast.
Very clean rooms, very nice linen, and even with nice soaps!
Marvelous location.
Louise with all her information about the area and delicious restaurants made the trip fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Saint-Pierre. Louise will be thrilled to hear about your kind words on her subject!

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@auberge.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    292
    54
    13
    5
See reviews for
253
715
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were in Quebec City to usher in the new year (2014), and staying at Le Saint Pierre Distinctive made our time a truly wonderful experience. For the record, speaking English only was not a problem. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a nice combination of modern decor and rustic charm. Very tastefully done without being too stuffy. There is a wonderful restaurant in the lobby that serves breakfast that is included with the room, a feature that we love and look for in a hotel. We ate lunch and supper in the city.

We really liked the location of the hotel, on the outer edge of the city, right along the St. Lawrence River. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and it's a short walk into the heart of the city, but the location offers a bit of respite from the noise bustle, which works well for us because we're traveling with two young kids. There is a steep hill to climb, but you can take a tram that will get you to the top. We had a car, so drove, though parking is a challenge. The hotel offers valet parking, but found a space on the street (metered parking), which is free in the evening and overnight.

Our room was clean and quiet, with the standard TV and free WiFi, which worked well but not perfectly, perhaps because we were on the top floor. Being on top, however, afforded us a great view of the river and all the huge ice floes passing by, not to mention big ships and the occasional kayak, if you can believe that. The beds were very comfortable, and the room service did a nice job.

The hotel lobby was very cozy, with a roaring fire and complimentary coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. There is a hotel adjacent to Le St. Pierre that is part of the same organization, and I guess you have access to their amenities, which might include a pool and spa, but you'd have to check on that. I believe there is a fitness room that we never used. On New Year's Eve, they had a party with complimentary champagne and hors d'oeuvres, which was nice, and again, the service was excellent.

On New Year's Day, the hotel extended the hours of the breakfast to accommodate those who had a late night, which I thought was nice. My son and I were in bed by 10:00, but my wife and daughter hit the town and were out until midnight, and it was party out there. The city is very cool on New Year's Eve, tons of people with loud music and dancing. It was freezing out there, but that didn't seem to deter people, and what I liked was that it wasn't obnoxious like a spring break party, it was loud and fun but civil and dignified. People of all ages were out there, and the restaurants and bars were all open and welcoming.

All in all, I highly recommend Le Saint Pierre Distinctive. It's a beautiful place, the service is great, and the location worked well for us, a family of four. The only downside was parking was a challenge, but you have to expect that in any city. Having lived in New York City for 10 years, I can say that parking in Quebec City is a piece of cake compared to the Big Apple.

Finally, we loved Quebec, a really cool city with lots to do for kids and adults alike, especially if you like cold weather. There are beautiful parks and ice rinks everywhere. I believe there is skiing close by. It may sound cliche but it really had a European feel, and you had a sense that you were not in the U.S. anymore, which is how we like to travel. I would imagine that it would be beautiful in the summer, much like Montreal, but that's a trip for another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Bonjour Fred,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review! We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay in our beautiful city. Québec City is so lively on New Year's Eve, will we have the privilege to host you back this year?

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@auberge.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel character is old world, the staff top notch. They anticipated our needs before we even needed to make a request. The location could not be more perfect. Anywhere you want to go is but a quick walk from the hotel. The beds so comfortable, breakfast excellent and very clean. I could not say enough about my experience. I will be a return guest for sure. Just a side Note - we took a horse and carriage ride .... Highly recommend, great way to get the lay of the land and a great explanation of some of the highlights.

Room Tip: Our view was facing the museum, if given the choice, I would like next time to face the Frontenac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Bonjour Tammy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Le Saint-Pierre, auberge distinctive. We are thrilled to hear that all members of the team were able to exceed your expectations in many ways. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@auberge.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was delighted with the friendly staff, attractive room, comfortable bed, overall cleanliness, and the absolutely delicious breakfast choices included in the room rate - not to mention that the included breakfast was also served by friendly and attentive staff! I absolutely loved my stay!

Room Tip: The breakfast is wonderful - make sure you take the time to enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeighRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Bonjour LeighRojas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Le Saint-Pierre, auberge distinctive. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay in Quebec City and that we were able to exceed your expectations in many ways.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@auberge.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A fantastic experience from start to finish. Hotel is clean and charming. Excellent design, mix of old and new. Staff was perfect at every point of contact. Breakfast was excellent, and resto at sister hotel next door was superb (Matto). If you want to be immersed in Old Quebec, this is a fantastic place to do it.

Room Tip: Might not be a bad idea to call and confirm which room you are booked into. They have some fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Bonjour Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Le Saint-Pierre. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and that the staff, the location and our facilities made your visit to Quebec City memorable.

We hope we will have the privilege to host you back soon.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@auberge.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. It's still charming, the rooms still clean, the hotel conveniently located, and the staff that we saw friendly. I'd booked one of the smallest rooms for a deal but when we arrived I discovered it was a double bed (my mistake) and asked to be switched, which they did, giving me the same deal I had, with a small extra fee for the bigger room. This is an historical building, so expect some noise. If you go at a busy time, ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street as noise from below can be heard above. If you have the breakfast, don't order in as it will most likely get to you cold. They have no lids. And don't order the crepes as they have no skill in making them. I had french toast the next morning and they were great. Breakfast is included, which is a bonus as its not your typical boring breakfast. My only issue here was it took 2 days for the dishes to be cleared from outside our room. The staff looked tired and right after carnival it was forgivable. It's in the heart of old Quebec, right near the river, where all the best restaurants are located and I do mean best. We would come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WISHIWERERICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to personnally apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at Le Saint-Pierre. You can rest assured that I will pass your comments along to the appropriate managers.

Do not hesitate to contact me when planning your next trip to Quebec City - I would be pleased to offer you a complimentary upgrade and make sure your stay goes beyond your expectations so you can enjoy your stay with us once again!

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@auberge.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Le Saint Pierre for a March break getaway looking for relaxation, sightseeing and a chance to eat at wonderful restaurants. We were able to do all of these things with ease due to the incredible accommodations and proximity to everything we wanted to see and do!! We will certainly stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in a a Superior room in the renovated section of the hotel and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you so much for your interest in Le Saint-Pierre, auberge distinctive and for writing such a positive review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our "phenomenal location".

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@auberge.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Property: Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City's most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful. Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 30 rooms and 9 Suites a winning combination for all our guests. Cozy, warm atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge St Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing