We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very excellent location, solid rooms, a little snooty”
Review of Hotel du Capitole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Capitole
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014

First hotel we stayed at for our honeymoon. The location is unbeatable, I think even if you stayed right in the walls there would not be a better spot.

The hotel was filled with lots of old people who clearly had money, being students who just happened to splurge on a hotel, we felt a little out of place. I ordered champaign to my room, and when the gentlemen opened the door, he looked in and said, "did you order this?" in a surprising manner. To be fair, our room was a disaster since we just finished camping around the St. Raymond area, so it may have been warranted.

Room was nice and big, and the bathtub in the room was a nice feature. Two TV's, and a nice couch.

Valet services was great!

I would stay here again, if only to be so close to old Quebec!

Room Tip: Go to Booking.com!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Capitole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our room had everything we could desire in a modest size; a queen size bed, Art Deco design and furnishings, all upgraded, full size bath/shower, lots of large towels, an in room Keurig coffee machine! (We loved that!) a smallish armoire closet with a full sized ironing board and iron (which we really needed!) nice reading lights and a convenient little expanding desk/table/vanity. We'd definitely stay here again. Also, really great location, literally on the edge of the walled city, we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Don't juge a book by is cover !!! In this case it is totally true . Very small room with a tiny washroom the size of a very small closet. A/C did'nt work éd. And my comments to that effect did´nt seem to bother anyone..too bad I'll stay next d'or to the Mariott next time in Town

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wonderful room, very cozy. Loved the loft. Was great for a single traveller but not very good for a parent with an older teen. One bed was fine for one of us, but the chaise was ok for sitting not sleeping.
The room was cute & decorated nicely. Loved the coffee maker. The loft bedroom was very comfortable, good work area & small but handy wardrobe. The bathroom was adorable with the brick walls & claw-foot tub.
Valet parking was very costly but we did not need to use our car as the hotel was located just outside the wall of Old Quebec, and it was a short walk to everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sand98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Marie M, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It seems like you've really enjoy your stay! Next time you visit us, do not hesitate to ask for a room with two beds if needed.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This beautiful hotel is right in the heart of Quebec City. Close to old quebec and many shops. The rooms are a bit small but they are cozy and really clean. Everything you could want! The wifi is good and the restaurant at the hotel has delicious food! The staff is also really nice and helpful. There is parking for a price, but it is really convenient. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erino90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Marie M, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Erino90,

Thank you for your comments, I am very happy to read your review and see that you enjoyed your stay at l'Hotel du Capitole.

We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really neat location and concept.
Meals at restaurants on site high quality.
Loved our stay
highly recommended!
During Quebec Carnival ideally located
Short cab to Art Gallery-great exhibitions and nice lunch location

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Excellent location-rooms were small - curved rooms !!!- right next to the Theatre, so can be loud when a concert is on there, but finishes early though.

Main complaint was access to your parked car, it was way around the back of the hotel.The valets were always happy to take items to your car but its not easy to use yourself.

Small balcony gets a neat view of the local buildings.

Has free wifi and restaurants all around and easy access to the lovely city.

Room Tip: If you have a car-take everything with you to your room 1st time. Quieter away from the front of h...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heydd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#12 of 102 in Quebec City
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marriott Quebec City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marie Rollet
Hotel Marie Rollet
#59 of 102 in Quebec City
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Capitole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Capitole

Address: 972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $163 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel du Capitole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Capitole, in the heart of Old Quebec! This small four-star 40 room hotel will charm you with its warm and personalized hospitality. At L'Hotel du Capitole, we always roll out the red carpet to pamper our guests with special attention. Discover the warm ambience of our hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec. Whether for a romantic stay or for a business meeting, you will be delighted by our wide selection of packages, which include lodging, meals and dinner shows. Small and large meeting halls are also available for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Capitole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capitole De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Capitole De Quebec City
Hotel Du Capitole Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing