We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about this hotel.”
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Our stay here was everything I'd want for a romantic holiday. They've done a splendid job of converting an old bank building into a small luxury hotel. The location in lower town was superb, very close to the port, dining, shopping, galleries and antiques. It was also very quiet (the lower town seems quieter than upper town.) The public areas were so warm and inviting. Having a glass of wine on one of the deep cushioned sofas before going out to dinner is recommended. The staff suggested extremely charming bistros within a few blocks. Breakfast was delightful with room to eat on an outdoor patio if you wish. Our room on the 7th floor had a wonderful view of the Chateau Frontenac. The room was simply but beautifully designed. There were 2 showers - one in the tub, one a separate shower stall. Quebec City is very small, so you can walk everywhere. Don't miss the Farmer's Market.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    166
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
127
663
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

First trip to Quebec city and stayed at Dominion for 3 days last week. It was a wonderful stay at the hotel. I was on a higher floor with a partial river view-- didn't stay in the room long enough to enjoy it though because there was much sightseeing to do in the nearby lower and upper town. The location of the hotel was ideal for walking back and forth the major sights. There was a little street noise every now and then at night, but the comfortable bed more than compensated for that-- I slept well.

From my experience traveling around the world and being in all sorts of hotels, the room I stayed in is a solid 8 out of 10. Modern, minimalistic and functional. There were minor flaws, like the shower glass door was not completely sealed leading to mild leakage on the floor and cleaning could be done better (though I am a major clean freak and very few hotels meet my standards anyway). However, Dominion shines in its people and the service they provide.

The service at Dominion is 10 out of 10. Everyone at the hotel were very pleasant and friendly. Every matter (check-in, check-out, directions, recommendations, operating their free fancy coffee machine) was handled professionally and with patience. The service was attentive and personal.

Breakfast was fresh and more than adequate.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

While it was a nice hotel with friendly staff, the overall price for the hotel was very expensive considering the room I had (1st floor facing the parking lot). Doubtful I'll stay there again the next time I'm in Quebec City.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

one of the best small hotels. great people, location and room.

concierge Simon the best

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and received a warm welcome from Lise Lapointe, concierge, plus she was available to answer any questions about Q- city and she knows directions like the back of her hand! If driving in you should call for exact directions to the hotel because google maps are confusing with all the one way streets. The lady in charge of breakfast explained the dishes ie., local cheeses and breads, chocolate croissants, rabbit (pate?) and the 24 hr./day coffee machine. You can also eat outside on the patio- if you drop a crumb a flock of birds will befriend you. Fellow guests recommended the Mistral Gagnant restaurant (the hotel desk has a menu) and we had an all inclusive meal- I wish I was there right now!
Very nice stay- best location!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is a great boutique hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

Although it is small, in what was one of the earliest 'skyscrapers' of Quebec (not what we call a skyscraper nowadays!), it has been converted carefully and with good attention to detail. The ground floor has comfortable seating and a bar that opens until 3am for guests. This was a great area to relax in.

Our room was one of the standard ones so not large, but carefully furnished. The bathroom had a great large shower and great modern fittings. We really enjoyed being in the room.

Breakfast was nice, with a good selection to choose from, but the area did get a little crowded on one rainy day (everyone had the same idea and slept in late!). There was one computer with internet in the lobby and we found that it was usually free when we wanted it.

The location was excellent - very quiet in the lower town. Although this meant trips up to the upper town for sightseeing, it was easy to walk up or take the furnicular, and we really appreciated being in a quieter area in the evening. There are enough bars and restaurants to give it a little buzz, but we experienced no noise distubance when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovesanicehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Dominion 1912 in the Old City of Quebec for a couple of nights on a romantic getaway. The hotel was fantastic with a great lobby with comfy sofas, a big dining table, tons of books to borrow, free internet and free coffee and tea. It was a wonderful oasis on a hot day. It is a wonderful hotel with nice rooms and extremely comfortable beds. The bathroom in our room was a bit tarted up but was ok. The breakfast is good and varied and it is so nice to have it outside, even if it is near a parking lot. Service is very good and the staff is very helpful. When we were searching for a 3 hour boat trip they suggested a local yachting school which was perfect for what we needed. The tourist office did no such thing so we were very grateful to the staff. The location is great as well. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel except the price is quite steep at $200+ so for families it might be considered too expensive but there were children staying there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,056 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing