We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Boutique Hotel with Superb Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My best friend and I stayed here July 15-20. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it could offer us two beds in one room. We were unsure about the location, but the location was perfect. Lots of great restaurants and shops within a block or two of the hotel. Easy walk to Hotel Frontenac. Staff were amazing (especially Annie-Karine, Veronique, and Phillippe)--very attentive and willing to help with reservations, directions, suggestions, anything you need. Nice lobby area with a full bar and service. Breakfast typical european--croissants, yogurt, fruit, cheese. Nice outside area for breakfast. Rooms and BR were a good size with great beds. We had a view of the water which was nice. Do not understand the negative reviews about lighting. I found it to be fine and there are lights directly attached to the headboards and the natural light was also good if you opened the blinds. Hotel has a very chic modern look and all the staff from maids to desk clerks to concierge willing to meet your every need. Would definitely stay here again if we return.

Room Tip: View of the harbor is very nice. We were in 507 and loved the room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lwood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Annie-Karine, Veronique and Philippe are very devoted to our guests... let me thank you on their behalf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. Welcoming & helpful staff. Very comfortable room & common areas. Excellent continental breakfast. Delicious complimentary coffees & teas. Good location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Walkers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a long weekend during our first visit to Quebec City. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the hotel had so many great features - quiet, clean, comfortable room, luxurious bath and toiletries, delicious breakfast and well-equipped gym. The hotel is in the lower city, so we would have breakfast at the hotel, lunch in the upper city and return "home" for dinner near the hotel. Note: our room did not have blackout shades - only blinds - so the room got quite bright very early in the morning, as we were there in June with a 5:00 a.m. sunrise. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side do not get as much morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PL28401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the hotel with young children and the staff were more than friendly and helpful in terms of helping us organize activities for the day/restaurants etc....
The hotel feels like home, and has many small special touches which made our stay pretty much perfect. From the complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate self-service bar open 24/7 to the children size bathrobes to the yummy molten brown bath products, le Germain definitely went above and beyond in terms of satisfying our needs. The rooms were spacious, beds were comfy and bathrooms beautiful and modern. The lobby was stunning and decorated to feel like you were at home. Would definitely return here for my next stay in Quebec City!!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank BeckySara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for buisness confrenses. We arrived early and they kept our luggage till our room was ready. When we came back they had already taken our bags up. The room was very functional with a splash of luxury. I would love to stay here for a couple weekend, if you see the shower you will understand why... They would bring fresh water and turn down our beds for us in the evening and also leave the next days weather for you.
The hotel is in walking distance to lots of different shops and bistros. The harbour is about a 3 min walk as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. It is simple, but one of our favorite hotels ever. All the details are right, staff is great, location is great, bed is excellent. Skip the bigger hotels and stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SETrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed four nights. Our arrival was very late but their personnel was awaiting our arrival at 11 PM had brochures and all kind of information for us, so that we could enjoy our stay. Well located. Very complete breakfast, no scramble eggs, but very nice. The coffee machine in the lobby great.
The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Had free wi-fi, which was great. Excellent personnell.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Sty Lawrence River, very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 101 in Quebec City
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $215 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing