We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience in Old Quebec City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience in Old Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I booked a room at this hotel based on the many positive reviews that I had read and am glad to report that the Hotel Le Germain-Dominion lived up to the expectations.

We arrived a bit before normal check-in time but our room was ready so we were able to get settled in immediately. The room we had was on the top floor and we had a great view of the St. Lawrence. The room itself was well appointed - very comfortable king-sized bed, mini-fridge, Nespresso machine, flat-panel TV and a good size bathroom. It was very quiet with little noticeable noise coming in from the outside. Every evening the staff would come to turn down the bed and provide the requisite chocolate....

Accommodations at the hotel include breakfast and the buffet in the morning was very good. A large coffee machine provided espresso and coffee on demand while the spread consistented of various types of fresh bread, excellent croissants, various cheeses, oatmeal, cereal, etc. For the tea drinkers, they provide a variety of Lucky Leaf teas.

The staff at the hotel were very professional but friendly and approachable. They responded immediately to each request that we made and provided great recommendations for local restaurants, bakeries and places to visit, including the best local cheese shop. The first night we were there and decided to have pizza delivered to our room, the front desk staff insisted on placing the order for us (their french is better than ours) and coordinating the delivery! Without asking the staff delivered plates and silverware to the room for us to use for the pizza. Our experience was that this is the level of service that they always provided.

The location of the hotel was very good - within easy walking distance to any of the sights within the old city and still in a quiet spot away from most of the traffic.

The cost of the hotel was reasonable for the quality and location - very much in line with several other area hotels in the old city. We weren't looking for a budget hotel for this trip but this one didn't break the bank and I would rate it an exceptional experience given all of the positives we experienced. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future on my next trip to the Old City of Quebec.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors so that you get the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Wonderful experience reading your beautiful comment. Thank you!

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    160
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
122
647
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

unfortunately I don't have the chance to come to Quebec often and I didn't quite remember the name of the last hotel I had stayed at (very nice but....). while NOT the hotel I was thinking of, this is the one I booked. What an absolutely wonderful mistake.

Location is great, hotel is wonderful, staff is attentive, gym is small but well equipped, the complimentary continental breakfast has wonderful options. the big fireplace is a great place to sit and chat or just sit and read.

definitely the place to stay in Quebec City.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
If you think you made a wonderful mistake... you can come at any time, any season, we will try to make you feel the same way... but next time, no mistake... we hope we will be your first choice!

All the best,

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have stayed at the hotel Germain in Toronto, Canada, and thought that hotel was great, BUT, the hotel in Quebec City, was just as great, and more. The language had no barrier at all, the hotel staff were more than polite in switching to english, and never broke stride in trying to encourage my partner to keep talking in her attempt at speaking the french language. She had taken french many years ago, and spoke very well at the time, but the years had put a lot of rust on her once easy way. The location, and ability to find the hotel was really grand. The hospitality was out of this world, there is not enough room here to say what i really want to convey. Even the area restaurants, and populous made us feel as if we were friends who had just dropped by. We "highly" recommend this chain, and location to all who want the best in politness, service, and hospitality. Enjoy, and feel like your comming home, not just to a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Bonjour!
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! The best compliment we can receive is when people feel like home in our hotels... Merci!
All the Germain hotels have a unique touch, but what makes Le Germain-Dominion special is the cozy Lobby, that's for sure!
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were refugees from a terrible experience at the Chateau Frontenac when we lucked into rooms at this little gem. The rooms were very large and, although decorated in very modern/industrial motif, very warm and comfortable. They've thought of everything from gluten free snacks, to a nice throw on the comfortable chair to every sort of technological outlet one could need. But, what really stood out was the service. The concierge, Annie-Karine, was outstanding. She was very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and endlessly patient as was Veronique. The lobby is very cozy with a big fireplace and a 24 hour self serve espresso bar. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Quebec City. Rooms on the 8th floor have huge windows and very cool views even though the hotel is in Lower town. Many cool new restaurants very close by in this gentrified part of the city.

Room Tip: I loved my big room on the 8th (top) floor. High ceilings, huge windows and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Bonjour!

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Annie-Karine and Veronique, our concierge team, are doing an amazing job and recognition from guests is always appreciated!

I am gald we were able to make feel welcome so you can enjoy our beautifuyl city!

We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Au plaisir,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great rooms, great staff, great central location - pretty much everything in walking distance in the old town in Quebec. Shame about the breakky but not everyone loves sausage eggs and bacon for breakfast so fruit and yoghurt and croissant may suit!? Would def stay here again.....PS very comfy beds!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TommyKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Great comments from great people... great Thank you!
Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is an exceptional place to relax or for business. The personel is very nice and the rooms are big and modern. Ipods, Wi-fi, Nespresso, great bathroom, chocolate, water and apples...food for breakfast is healthy and complete. Moreover, the artwork on the walls are very nice. You fell like you are in an Art Galery. It is a must go. I will be back always when in Quebec city. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for view opposite to parking lot. Ask for a Bath if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpmessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

An exceptional thank you is a must go as I truly enjoy your incredible comment !

Sylvie
Note: I also love the view on the stone walls, so unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince edward island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent Christmas in Quebec city and on this trip we stayed at the Hotel Le Germain. This was our first stay with this group of hotels and it will not be our last.

Previous Tripadvisor reviews commented on the wonderful service and I can attest to this. From the concierge to the front desk to the breakfast service staff, everyone was extremely pleasant and seemed to enjoy their jobs. The hotel has a lovely intimate lobby which was festively decorated and our room had everything we needed. The complimentary breakfast (continental) was more than satisfactory.

As the owner of a 4 star Inn I tend to look at hotels with a critical eye. The Hotel Le Germain definitely has their eye on the ball, we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello kdpei,

Do you know we have a sister hotel at the Halifax Airport - recently opened? You may not find exactly the same concept but definitely an attention to detail and personalized service.

Such a wonderful comment from an hotelier, I am very happy we pleased you. As you say, we have a critical eye...

Warmest regards,

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing