We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

On the good side, this hotel is perfectly located near the old town, Place Royale and rue du Petit Champlain, plenty of restaurants around. Rooms are spacious, very very comfortable. The staff are outstanding, very friendly, and helpful. We liked the breakfast set up, where you can either sit on your own, or with other people at a big table.
Downside, we found our mattress was far too soft and the bathroom was missing hooks, and handsoap.
Overall we would come back at we really like the atmosphere of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Bonjour Liany,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed it, and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again!

The confort of our bed is something very important for us, and we are renowed for it. Would it be possible for you to send me a direct message with the room number you were in, or the name of the reservation, so we can look into it immedialty? My e-mail address is scote@germaindominion.com.

We will do a follow up with housekeeping to make sure our standard regarding handsoap is still in place; we apologize about the inconvenience it may have caused.

Warm Regards,

Sarah
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel without realizing that it was located in the lower town below the Frontenac. What a great location. Almost all of the restaurants that we booked in advance, ended up being within a block of the hotel. The area is far less touristy than up by the Frontenac. The accommodations as well as the staff were excellent. If you want a modern, stadium lit hotel, this is not for you. Its a really nice boutique hotel which captures its past. Would stay here anytime

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeyrm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Close to our cruise ship terminal, this beautiful hotel (a former bank) was just what we were looking for! Even though we had booked 2 nights, we only had one night there because of a canceled flight from Philadelphia. We came in a day late, ready to rest from our travels! We rested very well, thank you! And in the morning after we received personal instruction on using the high tech cappucino-maker from a young staff member, we enjoyed coffee in our room! Then we proceeded to the breakfast buffet in the lobby. There were many items from which to choose and the quality was quite high. We were granted an extension on check out time, so that we could wait until the ship could be boarded at 1PM. The staff was accommodating and the hotel was exceptional!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majorkey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely hotel located in the lower part of Quebec City. Easy walking distance to all the highlights, there are some great steep hills around but if your not up to walking them the funicular is not far and will take you for a small cost to just below the Frontenac. The rooms were small but very funky and comfortable. Continental breakfast which is included is adequate. Would highly recommend this hotel for it's location, ambiance and the lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly staff in old town. Breakfast included some really nice cheeses and croissants and nice coffee options. You can get drinks in the lobby, sit down in a comfortable environment and relax. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. A bit on the pricey side but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Checked out of this hotel earlier this week after a 4 day stay. The hotel, rooms, staff and service are all exceptional. Spacious, comfortable rooms, coffee bar and fresh fruit in the open plan lounge area and a lovely, relaxed, continental breakfast. Well located, with great restaurants just a stone's throw away. I was ill with a cold and the receptionist went out of her way to prepare a local cold remedy for me. I was impressed by the standard and cleanliness of the hotel overall.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room itself was fine, except the lighting is poor and you would never be able to prepare a presentation or a brief with no lighted work area. But that was not the problem since this a vacation. The air-conditioning was not working properly--which caused a complete lack of sleep for my wife and me. Since sleeping is the primary reason for a hotel, this hotel was a zero. I called the front desk early in the evening who then sent a nice young man who had no idea how to address the problem--and then subsequently was told by the front desk that the AC had been shut down for the season! So obviously no fix that night--despite being told that the front desk was attempting to contact anyone for assistance. I was told by the front desk that "No other rooms were available" for a switch--despite being told by the young man that indeed other rooms were available. A distinct pattern in conduct was becoming evident--to me, inexcusable.
So I met with the general manager-who did sit down with me to hear me out the next morning. She confirmed that she had received an email the night before, but did not read it until 6:30 am so could not address my problem--and total lack of sleep--all of this for just $300 per night. The GM found the building AC man who was helpful and proceeded to fix the problem for the next night--in fact, they do have AC it turns out.
When I requested that the bill be adjusted for a terrible night, I was sent a bottle of jam. The bottom line is that the hotel, the staff and the GM did not deliver on the basic purpose of a hotel--and then did not make it right--an express disconnect between advertised service, their stated business of lodging, representations of quality, and the actual results.
If you are trying to decide which hotel to stay in Quebec City, my strong suggestion is that you try another. I know there must be good places there because my uniform experience over the years in Montreal has been exceptional. We certainly will go elsewhere when we return to QC. P.S.: If you are wondering why we didn't just check out, the only reason was that my wife was too tired to move for one more night and I deferred. I truly hope that the folks at the hotel have a similar experience so that just maybe they rethink their responses. While I expect that I may receive some sort of tepid response here--because I believe they do read TripAdvisor and want to appear to be responsive-it certainly would not salvage a lost night and their opportunity to rectify the situation. Good luck on your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kenk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvieD492, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guest,

I am deeply disappointed with this review.

When we met in the morning of your second day, we went to your room to look at the thermostat (showing 21 C – 69.8 F), Our focus was to find a solution so you would be comfortable in your room for your second day and night. When I followed up with your wife an hour later and after confirming that the temperature was going down, I was under the impression that you were totally satisfied.

Our main goal is not to adjust bills but to satisfy our guests by finding solutions. I sincerely thought we had succeeded.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me. Very sincerely,

Sylvie Dionne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $210 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing