We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful and Friendly”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel puts all the essential elements of a great place to stay together - excellent location (near enough to sights but off the heavily-trodden path) on a beautiful basse-ville street, super friendly and helpful staff (welcoming, found us a great restaurant (Le Moine Echasson) and always quick with smile and greeting), delicious continental breakfast (cheeses...oo-la-la), and clean, well-appointed rooms (ours had a great view of the river, Nespresso coffee maker, walk-in shower, super comfy bed and speedy (free!) internet connection. The prices are reasonable (at least in the shoulder season). We love this hotel and Quebec and can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: 701 has a wonderful view of the river and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    170
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
131
676
27
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love it when an experience is so good, that I don't know where to start praising it. What a relaxing and warm stay we had. The staff are some of the most friendly, helpful and sincere people, ALL of them.


We got the VIP package through Tripadvisor (good til the end of May) and got a free upgrade to a larger room, 2 drinks at the bar area and free parking...all very appreciated. Unbeatable service, warm and sincere. It was our eleventh anniversary and they wrote us a little card, and had some chocolates and fresh fruit waiting.

The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever had, all the elements were of the finest quality. Cheeses from Quebec that were so delicious, the flakiest croissants, rillettes, hard boiled eggs, compotes that were astounding, fresh squeezed orange juice, the finest coffee and lattes that are available all day.

The place has a many places to dine or take a drink, in front of a lovely big fireplace (lit with candles while we were there), outside on their terrasse, all places that one feels very relaxed in.

This place was a definite win. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a reasonably-priced and welcoming hotel in Canada's largest province. It is a modern, stylish and well-designed facility in the perfect location: Near Quebec's best landmarks-- but sufficiently off the beaten path to avoid the hordes of tourists who take advantage of the short warm weather season to visit. The hotel isn't large enough for guests to become anonymous. It's boutique-like, but without the attitude. The staff, food and environment are all excellent.

Room Tip: In the off-season, everything is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times for work and I am always impressed and very satisfied with the experience. The rooms are not only beautiful and contemporary but they are extremely clean. The staff is friendly and always accommodating, the location is great and the price is right. There is a terrific breakfast with some of the best croissants you will find anywhere, at no additional charge.

I will continue to stay there for work and look forward to spending some time there with my family as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Somehow this hotel achieves with small touches what hotels with two columns under "amenities" can never achieve. Cozy and modern rooms in a small beautiful hotel is a great start but the 24 hour coffee in a very inviting lounge that asks you to sit and chat at 2am after coming in from a walk around this stunning city before turning in - you cannot beat that. The staff loves their job and hotel and know their city - and the city starts right outside in the narrow stone cobbled street that leads to a busy fountain.

When a hotel can compete with the beautiful city it resides in, it completes the experience in a way that you treasure and come back for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtroarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been to this hotel twice in the last couple of years. My boyfriend and I love it. It is well located in Quebec's lower town, next to the Musée de la civilisation. Great starting point to visit Old Quebec. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Staff is very nice and helpful. Love the buffet breakfast with a nice selection of fruits, yogourts, croissant, breads and cheeses.
Rooms are spacious, nice bathrooms and a very comfortable bed. Nice view from almost every room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjdupuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything was great about this hotel. The service from all staff was superb. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was large and very well equipped. Breakfast had an excellent choice and quality. Nespresso machine in your room and coffee freely available all day in the lounge were a great bonus. Open fire was a joy to sit in front. . Lovely location in old Quebec with lots of very good restaurants around. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ateamgoestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing