We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare hotel in the heart of old Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a charming hotel. Fire place on the ground floor, sport facilities, charming staff and fantastic rooms (either facing the beautiful seminary building or the Saint Laurent river). Quiet rooms with king size bed, a nice size bathroom and very clean with very comfortable linen. Breakfast is nice but I would have loved cooked eggs however, the fresh croissants and chocolate croissants combined with nice bagels, fruits, vegetables... plus a great coffee machine. A fantastic stay in one of the most beautiful city.

Room Tip: I had room 803 and it was very quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Germain Dominion is "my" place in Québec City, whenever I visit. Each time I go, I know I'll have the most comfy bed, a view over the Saint-Laurence River, a great location to walk around in the city and great service from the front desk staff (from great restaurant recommendations to finding for me the liquid for contact lenses at 1am...)
The included breakfast in the morning is simple, but just what you need to start your day, and you can set up in the breakfast area for a quiet one-on-one breakfast, or seat at one of the huge tables and mingle with other "vacationers".
There might be other great places in town, but I don't really feel like trying them out... !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genevieve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Near or far, a big part of enjoying a healthy and happy life is making time for the occasional weekend getaway! Whether it’s a spa day, a road trip, or a beach getaway doesn’t so much matter. The key is treating yourself once in a while, and last weekend was my own much needed winter getaway in beautiful and historic Quebec City.

One of the prettiest cities that I’ve visited, Quebec City is also one of the oldest in North America. First settled almost 600 years ago by French explorers, Quebec City is a charming and romantic destination to discover. The city has a very old European look with an abundance of stone buildings, and is perfect if you enjoy walking dates and discovery magnificent views.

Not one to sacrifice my creature comforts, I stayed at the boutique Germain Dominion hotel located in the old part of the city close to the water. This was my second time staying at a Germain hotel (which is a boutique chain with hotels only in Canada) and I highly recommend the Germain Dominion if ever you decide to visit Quebec City. While the 8 story building turned 100 years old in 2012, the hotel was recently renovated and is modern and luxurious.

Loved the cozy fireplace in the Germain lobby, with a real wood fire blazing day and night. Also really enjoyed the communal continental breakfast served in the lobby, since it encourages interacting with the other guests! And since Quebec City is a tourist destination and the Germain is an upscale hotel, there were certainly a lot of interesting characters that I met during my 2 day visit

So many picturesque streets to explore, and an abundance of french restaurants to try. My favorite during my 2 day trip was the quaint little SSS restaurant in the lower Quebec City neighborhood just around the corner from the Germain. Food was amazing and so was the atmosphere, with the cold outside fireplaces were a theme for this girl

To see more photos visit: http://withlovegabrielle.com/quebec-city

With Love…
Marta

Room Tip: North facing rooms have a better view of the old city and picturesque walking streets of the old cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WithLoveGabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Impeccable service, professional in every way, very clean, elegant and as cozy as an hotel can be. I absolutely love this hotel and every time I'm in Quebec, I make a point to stay at Dominion Le Germain. I strongly recommend it to you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AGIRARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a great place to stay in Quebec City.. Located in the old town and an easy walk to the Frontenac and that area. Small and warmly intimate lounge area which is used for breakfast. ( Which was a real treat by the way. Homemade baked goods , great cheeses and fresh juice)The staff could not have been more helpful, especially Annie. Our room was large with a great view of the upper town and also the St. Lawrence. Nice appointments . All in all a first class experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everytime i vist quebec this is where i stay, great staff nice hotel the location is also perfect with thenold district and many testaurants in the area try Toast there is also a small gym and great breakfast every morning

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dserraglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Absolutely love this hotel. I was having a terrible day until I walked into the hotel. Such a great ambience. Small boutique hotel in a perfect spot in old Quebec City. Walking distance to fantastic restaurants and shopping and to the top of the hill where the Chateau is located. Rooms are well appointed in a modern decor and has all the nice little treats that make you feel welcome and pampered. Great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AurelioToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $205 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing