We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always a sure thing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #6 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a sure thing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have stayed there many times and it is always a great experience. The rooms are sleek and mordern with an old architectural charm. They have managed to keep the feel of the historic building but added all the luxury you would expect from a Germain hotel. Service is upscaled and very friendly. The staff makes you feel like you are their only guest! The beds are super comfy! The best part is breakfast. They serve a "uber" healthy continental breakfast with homemade muesli, freshly squeezed orange juice, etc... The setting is so layed back you feel like taking your time and having a third cup of coffee!!!
The only thing I miss is the Aveda products!!! They used to have them a while ago!
I highly recommend this hotel! Location is also super convenient for restaurants, shopping and nightlife!

Room Tip: Higher floors give a nice view on Quebec City!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anik17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeGermainDominion, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your great comments, it's always appreciated ! Let us know when you'll be back and we will bring Aveda products in your room for your own pleasure. Hope to see you back soon.
Lise, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    145
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
113
578
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Have always enjoyed the hotels of Le Germain Boutique chain...this was no exception. From the great decor to the excellent, relaxed service, this was one of the best hotel stays in years.

In the heart of the lower Old Town, with plenty to do, this place is great and highly recommended. A great breakfast and coffee any time, this was a perfect home away from home. Actually, I wish my home were as nice :)

You won't be disappointed. And the price is reasonable for the caliber of this property.

Room Tip: Hard to find a deal out there for this property, but they are there if you look hard enough. The &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeGermainDominion, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
This is exactly how we want our guests to feel '' home away from home" ! For your information, you can buy almost everything on our online boutique to recreate the same atmosphere and comfort ! We hope to welcome you back soon !
Lise, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esq
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent one evening at the hotel, which was recommended by the concierge of our favourite old-Montreal hotel. It was a delight. The hotel lobby is beautiful, warm, and inviting with a wood-burning fire place that was crackling away when I arrived -- a nice touch as it was cold outside. The room was very comfortable -- I particularly liked the availabiliy of plug-ins at the side of the TV (built into the wall mount unit) for my iPad so that I could watch Netflix or iTunes (very cool). The breakfast was excellent, and included in my room rate. I wouldn't hesitate to return there again. Concierge helped me with my dinner reservations, at one of two recommended restaurants, and which was excellent (Echaude).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esqEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeGermainDominion, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon ! Don't hesitate if you would like also to visit our other properties in Montreal, Toronto and Calgary.
Lise
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

As frequent travellers to Montreal, my wife and I decided to give Quebec City a try as we were desperate for some winter in a winterless year here in Vermont 2011-2012. The city and hotel did not disappoint. It rained the whote trip up until about 12 miles outside of QC when it changed to snow. Upon arrival we discovered the city buried in snow. QC with snow is downright romantic I tell you. The hotel and staff were excellent. Large, quiet room nicely appointed. Many restaurants and attractions nearby. The lobby is most cozy and I believe I had altogether too much espresso! Concierge and desk staff really nice and helpful. Damn I love Canada! Merci mille fois!! A bientot!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
You are right. Quebec City is beautiful, and very romantic, in all seasons. I took a walk to the Old City today to take a look at the Red Bull Crashed Ice ride and the city was splendid in this beautiful March afternoon. I am glad you enjoyed and will make sure our staff read your review. It is always nice to be complimented and recognized. We hope to welcome you, or your friends and family, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Beautifully restored boutique hotel. The common spaces are wonderfully equipped (love the Franke cappuccino machine!), and the staff is very helpful and kind. We had a discount from a travel site, but in no way were we short-changed or treated differently, as many hotels do. Our room was spacious and lovely, with a great view of the city. The location is also very convenient--just outside the old city, close to transportation, and near lots of antique stores and cafes. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank without_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
I will make sure to communicate your wonderful comments to our staff. Since you mention you will be back, do not hesitate to specify your preferences on your next reservation as we have different views and room types in two separate buildings – one with 8 floors (vintage modern design) and the other one with 5 floors (classic contemporary design). Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great location and fabulous staff. Great lounge in lobby and comfortable rooms. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
This is exactly what we aim for: great service in a pristine location, with comfortable guestrooms and common areas. Quebec City is beautiful in all seasons. On your next reservation, do not hesitate to mention you have stayed with us before so we can assign a room according to your preferences. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is an ok hotel, the rooms were nice but for the money I was expecting more, I found the parking too expensive,20$ a day and this is besides the price you paid for your room, is a bit pricey. Besides that, when you walk in the lobby, there's stains on the carpet, it needs to be upgraded. The breakfast in the morning which is included in the room price was ok, there was a good selection of food and beverage but I didn't like the way the breakfast area was set up, it's big tables which accommodates several people, so basically you have to sit with people you don't really know.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cuty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear guest, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations and thank you very much for your comments. I have to say that we get a lot of compliments for the warm set up of the lobby and breakfast in the morning. You are right, we have large communal tables but also more intimate seating. Breakfast can also be delivered to your room if you prefer privacy. As far as parking, we are located in an area where parking space is very limited and we feel very lucky to have some. We also offer valet assistance to make sure it remains available to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#4 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing