We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Budget hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Ranked #55 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Budget hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a decent budget hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec, perfect for walking around and exploring the major sights of the old city. Rooms are clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast included at a nearby restaurant and a discount for dinner at the same restaurant. Check-in desk located at the Champlain Hotel 2 doors down and the service was good. Free parking in front of the hotel from 2100 - 0900 or $21 for valet parking. Will stay there again if I visit Quebec City again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ares1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    46
    22
    9
See reviews for
37
94
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel perfectly located for a walking tour of Old Quebec. Staff were very helpful. Steep stairs to our 2nd story room. Be prepared. Quaint steps out the window/door to a balcony with a view of Chateau Frontenac. Reasonably priced. Discount to a very good local breakfast spot.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Where to begin??? This hotel is like a ghost town, situated in front of a old jail that had, I believe, 10 hangings. I say that's it's like a ghost town because, the reception desk is not located in the jardin hotel, it is in the hotel next door, very weird! As if that wasn't strange enough, considering there is a reception area at the hotel, only it's completely sealed off, my room door, room 20, was made for someone no taller than 5ft6, perfect for me, but my son, and cousin had to bend to enter the room. My room was also the only door in between floors, it's so strange and spookie that I can't even describ it. The inside of the room was nothing special, for the amount of money I paid, I at least expected a coffee machine! I got a room with two double beds, one bed located in the back, and the other in the front of the room, separated by the washroom. Eventhough, I wasn't impressed by the rooms appearance, I did enjoy the extremely great location, as well as the lovely backyard terrace. Since my room was the entire length of the hotel, I was able to see into my room from the backyard terrace, as well as from the front. I would recommend this hotel, only if you stay in a room that does not have water pipes above your head because garuanteed if someone takes a shower at 6:30 am you will wake up, because I bloody well did! Other than the price, and noisy shower pipes, this hotel is located on a peaceful street, and can be a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights and were placed on the 4th floor. Nice room, it was small, but we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room. The back window of the room faced a courtyard, but all we saw was a white wall. I had to keep the shears closed because it was thowing my balance off to just be staring at a fuzzy white wall. The other wall in the room separated the bed from the bathroom. The wall was glass and looked directly into the shower, which was a clear shot of the toilet. I thought it was really strange to have someone laying in bed and then be able to see someone in the shower or sitting on the toilet...or vice versa-be going to the bathroom and watch your roomate sleeping...I would recommend this room (I believe 407) for a solo traveller or for a couple who doesn't mind watching their mate um...relieve themselves ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseAnne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I enjoyed a two night stay at this little two-star hotel during the summer of 2012. It's important to compare the price to other hotels in the old part of the city and not to other rooms you can get for the same price in other towns. That's because hotels in this part of the city are pricey due to the fantastic location. If you can separate the apples from oranges, you will appreciate the relative value and comfort offered by Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne. You would struggle to find a more conveniently located hotel from which to explore the sights of the old city, for the same money Though you hear a few creaks and bumps from other guests entering this historic building, I appreciated the renovations that had been done to our second-floor room, which improved the space without detracting from its character. The bathroom was small, but very clean, and the shower was excellent. I enjoyed two sound nights of sleep thanks to the comfortable double bed. The ground-floor terrace out back is also an excellent spot for enjoying a beverage at the end of the day. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ok not the largest or most modern hotel in Quebec City but who wants to be spending all their time in their hotel in this magnificent place! The hotels location is the winner, right in the heart of old town a stone throw from the main area of shopping pubs etc.

Location is the key here, hence believe it represents value for money!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. However, we did not have a great room. It was old and outdated room with average bedding. We were not too comfortable as we were placed in the basement. It was not the best experience in Quebec City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8achan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#53 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#49 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#42 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#40 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne

Property: Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Address: 109 rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality Located in the heart of Old Quebec City, in a XIXth-century building, Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne, on rue Sainte-Anne, near Chateau Frontenac, Grande Allee and the Convention Centre of Quebec City, has been welcoming travelers from all five continents since 1956. A friendly hotel At Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne, you will feel home thanks to our living room area with free Internet, board games an a television. In the summer, relax in the heart of Old Quebec, beneath a tree in our beautiful garden where you will love having a glass of wine after a day of touring and visiting the old city. Come and experience Quebec hospitality and admire the beauty of the historic neighbourhood in our Old Quebec hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing