We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is closing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Ranked #51 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Well, we were informed upon check-in February 6th that the hotel was closing on February 12th. Somewhat taken aback by the news, indeed. Very sad for the staff.

Front desk staff was very nice but were rather sad about the closing and why not. The staff, overall, were very helpful and the ladies who looked after the rooms always had a smile and a hello.

We had to change rooms from the 19th floor due to the inconsiderate twits on the 20th floor who allowed their brats to run up and down the hallway. Called front desk, they sent security and nothing was done. So, got a MUCH better room on the 17th floor. Much quieter and view was very good.

Unfortunately, the restaurant on the top floor was closed, no menus in the room to ask for room service, fridge was emptied and, though business was brisk due to the Winter Carnival, there was a cloud of sadness over the hotel.

Location is great so too bad about the hotel's closing. A landmark of sorts will be no more.....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chayisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hot tub was absolutely frozen (worst than a cold pool), the sauna didn't work (our bedroom was warmer), spa was closed down two days prior without notice to guests, the Rooftop restaurant was closed down, the bar's breakfast was only until 10am and pricey, front desk clerks would answer our questions but it seemed like we were putting them off out of their way, as if they didn't want to take the time to talk to us. Housekeeping didn't speak English so when she knocked on the door and came in, we didn't know how to communicate with her to come back in a little bit. Our phone in our room didn't work and they were marks and tears on the nightstand between the beds. There was no vending machine in the hotel and no variety store near by to get snacks at night.
When I booked the reservation, I had been quoted a good price and wrote that down. When I called to confirm the room on our way up to the hotel (13 hour drive!), they had raised the price by $60!!! We were able to meet in the middle with pricing but we still were not pleased that the price went up!
For a hotel with such a "high standard" and high prices, it really was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burnsieKAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hotel rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. The view is awesome and the staff highly professional, helpful and accommodating. We stay about 40 nights annually in hotels and have for the past 30 years. So, that is maybe 1200 night spent in a hotel room - and, the chambermaid cleaning our room is the most thorough, thoughtful and helpful ever. Our items arranged, cared for and clean. Awesome.


The great staff need a place with decent amenities - maybe they could give up a whole floor and renovate to include a great gym, pool and spa facility. I suspect the place runs less than 70% anyway and would not miss the 20 rooms given over to shared amenity.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce_in_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our second visit to Quebec City and we decided to stay at the Loews as it is well located not far from old town. However the hotel is looking a bit tired which is sad a normally Loews properties are top notch. We had a room on the 22nd floor facing the old town which gave a great view of the St Lawrence River and old town. We could see the ship traffic on the river and the lights of the city at night. We had dined at the revolving restaurant on our previous visit to Quebec City and were surprised to have our waiter tell us it was the last night the restaurant would be open in the evenings. The hotel is conveniently located beside the Plains of Abraham Historic Battlefield park. An ok stay but not as good as we expected and are sorry to hear they are closing the Hotel in 2014. Hope someone takes it over and gives it a spruce up as it has a great location and views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetboy727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Growing up in Quebec City, Loews Le Concorde Hotel always held a certain level of prestige. The rotating restaurant was always talked about and it was always seen (in my eyes anyways) as a fancy, expensive hotel. Visiting Quebec City on business gave me the opportunity to finally stay at Le Concorde, and I was so excited.
Boy was I wrong.
Walking in, the lobby is very plain. You can see that at one time it was probably fancy and sophisticated, but the carpets looked worn and the furniture out of date.
Going up to our rooms, the elevator and hallways were the same. The carpet did not look clean and everything was very 80s/90s drab.
Getting into my room, it was very standard. It's not that there was anything wrong with it exactly, but it was not the level of sophistication that I was expecting. The bathroom was fine, it looked like it had been renovated about 10 years ago, but when I was in there I could hear the shower of my neighbor when it was turned on. The TV table was dirty. and I mean dirty. There was a big spill of juice or soda that had not been wiped up and now was a mess. I was there 3 nights and it was never cleaned.
The breakfast in the rotating restaurant was very nice. Alot of options.
And of course, what I suppose people pay for when staying at this hotel is not the (non-existing) luxury, but the location. When visiting Quebec City it doesn't get any more convenient than this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsschloeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are booked for April 20th. Want to add more rooms. But sadly. When called hotel was informed that hotel closing February 2014. If we didn't call the hotel wouldn't know about it closing. Don't know what option will be available for us. Am very disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPHANIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I loved this hotel so much. Les chambres étaient très bien! I came here with a group of friends and we stayed at the hotel for a few days. It was lovely and a great walking distance from things that are nearby.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ayana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 102 in Quebec City
1,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Concorde Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Concorde Quebec

Address: 1225 Cours du General-de Montcalm, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $98 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Concorde Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec offers over 400 rooms and suites, located in the heart of beautiful Quebec city, nearby museums, activities, attractions and major events of the region. It is the ideal place for an urban getaway or a business stay in Quebec city. Its imposing structure offers a beautiful view of the majestic fleuve Saint-Laurent. Hotel Le Concorde offers valet parking to its customers since November 2014. Customers do not have to drive around downtown Quebec in order to find a parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Concorde Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Quebec City
Quebec City Loews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing