We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Ranked #50 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Quebec City, quebec
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friend and I just stayed here and we were very disappointed. Our first room carpet was so stained and dirty we asked to change rooms. Our second room was dirty everywhere - from dust bunnies on the drapes to dust everywhere. The room hadn't been cleaned in a while. The rooms need a total renovation. It would be nice to have a place to have breakfast on site besides room service. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful as to directions, etc. The hotel is very worn - needs help from the lobby on up. This is not the way a four star hotel should look.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointment501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We have read your comments regarding your recent stay with us.. We sincerely apologize that your experience did not reach your expectations. We assure you that your comment is already in the hands of the management and staff concerned to avoid this kind of situation. Loews Le Concorde Hotel and his staff would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    743
    465
    208
    117
See reviews for
544
747
53
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The sauna was never on so it was not warm even after my swim and hot tub. Hot tub was a bit cool but the pool was fine. Great location for the city, restaurants, old quebec city, convention centre etc but $6 for a bag of chips wow. I did not dare request a coffee or newspaper at those types of prices. I did really think the clenaing, front door and front desk staff were pretty special and considerate so this may make up for any of my petty grievances.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are really sorry to ear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. This is really not the type of experience we want to offer to our guests. Your comments have been communicated to the management. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from four nights at the Lowes Le Concorde in Quebec. We reserved the hotel through Expedia. Upon check in the person behind the counter said that the "Expedia Room" was by the elevator on a lower floor but for $30 more a night we could have a room up high with a view. A scam or a bargain? We went for it and we were very pleased. Our room on the 26th (top) floor had a 180 degree view of the city down to the water and beyond. The room itself was very spacious, well maintained, and very comfortable. It is located on the Grande Alle, sometimes called the Champs Elysees of Quebec. Great restaurants, a straight walk to the old town, and lots of interesting sights. One big complaint is that the hotel charges a fee for wifi access. In the old days it may have been OK but now every other establishment in Quebec has free wifi. It is time for le Concorde to join the fold.
The only disappointment was that Expedia was dishonest in not revealing the room location. Forewarned is forearmed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for this great review on you stay at Le Concorde. We have taken your comments concerning wi-fi fees in consideration. Our IT team is working on a solution for this issue. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was staying at the Lowes for 3 nights on business. When I initially picked the Loews, I saw the 4 diamond AAA and good reviews and figured it must be good. What a disappointment.
When you first walk into the lobby of the Loews it's obvious the owners have not kept up with the times. Everything is dated old and worn. I then waited in line for getting checked in. For some reason throughout my stay - the front desk always had a line in front of it. Waiting took about 15 minutes (it just seemed the front desk staff had no sense of urgency), but I finally got checked in and went up to the room. The hallways are as dated as the lobby and so are the rooms. The decor of the room reminded me of something you can pickup at a yard sale. I was worn and about 40 years old. Almost all the other items in the room were showing the same age of 40+ years. The only new stuff seemed to be the bed frames and TV.
The bedding wasn't very comfortable and the blankets seemed to share the same year of the decor - circa 1970. Not duvets but plain worn blankets. The mattress was not plush or comfortable either.
One of the worst items was the internet. It was so slow... How slow was it? It was so slow I missed my dialup line. This was by far the worse internet connection of all times.
BTW, Cosmos cafe next door has a great internet connection if you need to get some work done.
All in all - this is a Motel 6, with a Loews name on the building. Would I stay here again? No way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighTechTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We have read your comments regarding your recent stay with us.. We sincerely apologize that your experience did not reach your expectations. We assure you that your comment is already in the hands of the management and staff concerned to avoid this kind of situation. Loews Le Concorde Hotel and his staff would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at Loews since it was near the Convention Centre where I was attending a conference, and was pleasantly surprised that it was also located directly on the rue de Grande Alle where there are tons of bars and restaurants (that is the cross street with General-de-Montcalm) and within a 10-minute walk of Old Quebec. This is a new property with clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff who lent us a couple of nice umbrellas on the day of our stay that it rained. Our room faced Old Quebec and we had a nice view from the 10th floor. The lobby lounge is cozy and has wonderful service, but we didn't eat in the hotel during our stay. We ate at the Grand Cafe (good, basic fare and pub menu), Cosmos Cafe (large range of breakfast options and good coffee, directly next door to the hotel, downstairs), and had our last dinner in Bello restaurant in Old Quebec (definitely recommend it). I'd definitely stay here again although the price was a bit higher than I would usually expect to pay, but suspect it may be the standard for this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0ves2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Quebec.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for business. Rooms were spacious, clean and nice. Great location near the Plains of Abraham, many restaurants and a short distance to lower town. The revolving restaurant offers great views of the city, but is a bit overpriced. That's the good. The bad: as a business traveller paying for internet access, I expect it to work. WiFi in room was so slow it was basically useless, and when raising it with the front desk, I was directed to call the provider myself. The speed improved slightly, but was still made working extremely challenging. Not good for a conference traveller and would stay elsewhere if I want internet in my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are sorry that you experienced those issues with internet. Our IT team is working on a solution to improve it. Thank you for pointing this out to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We appreciated the friendliness of all the staff. We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the old city, and to the very large National Battlefields Park also known as the Plains of Abraham. We spent a few hours in the park, enjoying the greenery. We also enjoyed the view from the revolving restaurant on the top floor, which actually moves, one full turn every hour and a half. The breakfast buffet was very good. The elevators are brand new. The rest of the hotel reflects the time it was built, however it is perfectly clean and in excellent condition. The street the hotel is located on has a lot of restaurants of varying price ranges and types of food offered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPro49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Google Translation
Nous avons bien pris connaissance de votre commentaire relatif à votre séjour chez nous. Loews Hotel Le Concorde et son personnel tenons à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience chez nous et nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#37 of 102 in Quebec City
1,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Concorde Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Concorde Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Address: 1225 Cours du General-de Montcalm, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Concorde Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec offers over 400 rooms and suites, located in the heart of beautiful Quebec city, nearby museums, activities, attractions and major events of the region. It is the ideal place for an urban getaway or a business stay in Quebec city. Its imposing structure offers a beautiful view of the majestic fleuve Saint-Laurent. Hotel Le Concorde offers valet parking to its customers since November 2014. Customers do not have to drive around downtown Quebec in order to find a parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Concorde Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Quebec City
Quebec City Loews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing