We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't fit typical LOEWS hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Doesn't fit typical LOEWS hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location, service, friendly staff from A to Z. However the hotel is very dated and doesn't meet what I expected of a Loews hotel. It was more like a very high end holiday inn. Other than branding misnomer, the hotel has excellent points on other aspects: large full sized room, fridge, great view, and central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocmglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your great comments! We do have great projects to enhance our decor and you will be thrilled to see the difference when everything will be completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    717
    440
    197
    110
See reviews for
503
726
52
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed two nights in Loews Le Concorde after getting it with an opaque Priceline reservation...at ~40% off their website price. All things considered, this made it a fair value. I'd argue they should probably just give up and price the rooms at what the market will bear on their transparent site, but that's probably asking too much (end rant #1).

Pros:
1) Contrary to some earlier reviews, we thought it was a good location. Everything in Quebec City we wanted to see was in walking distance, although some walks had some serious hills. The hotel basically backs onto the Plains of Abraham, which is a beautiful urban park and has interesting history.

2) Liked the hot tub (though it could have been hotter). The fitness area/pool looked decent, too, although I didn't use them.

3) The room we stayed in was clean and decently comfortable.

Cons:
1) The big one: I knock off a full circle for the annoying expensive wi-fi. I don't understand in this day and age why quote-unquote fancy hotels insist on trying to rip us off for this. In the case of this hotel, it was especially illogical because free wi-fi was available in the park directly behind the hotel! Basically, this means you are just inconveniencing your guests for no reason. (end rant #2)

2) Parking is expensive. We didn't park at the hotel, because I'd rather not pay for expensive hotel parking.

3) Our room looked out onto a bunch of the hotel infrastructure. I'm getting pretty used to that being the case for Priceline reserved rooms, but it doesn't add to the experience. It wasn't silent, either, but it didn't keep us awake.

4) The hotel's exterior architecture. I have to list this as a con, since this brutalist concrete style should have gone out with the Soviet Union. In the case of this hotel, it doesn't effect the inside that much (which is decently chic, and like I said, clean), but the building is an eyesore.

5) Lemonade. Okay, this is nitpicking. Give the hotel credit; it tries to put out lemonade at check-in, to welcome thirsty guests waiting in what was a somewhat slow line at the desk. However, it ends up in the negatives because the lemonade was empty each time I looked (err, twice). Basically, it mocked my road-weary thirst and then gave it a wedgy. How about either (1) using a bigger carafe, or (2) replenishing it when it gets empty? (end rant #3)

(Basic message of this review: Don't worry. It's a fine. Some of the problems are definitely mine, but some are the hotel's. It is what it is).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RItravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience with us and we really appreciate your feedback. We will pass your comments to the departments concerned for follow-up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved the location close to a range of excellent restaurants and within easy walking distance of Old Quebec. However there were a few "buts" - on arrival we had to request that the bathroom was re-cleaned - this was done immediately; on day 3 had to ask for refund on wi-fi room charge as it was not working (wi-fi in lobby is free but service is also patchy); we enjoyed the view and the buffet breakfast in the revolving roof top restaurant but thought it a little pricey; kids loved the swimming pool but watching poolside was like sitting in a wind tunnel; and room decor was worn and in need of update.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenH10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to host you again at Loews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived via Via Rail from Montreal and it is about a 20+min walk from the main train terminal(which also serves AMT rail and Orleans buses) to the hotel. One word of advice is to walk through Old Quebec(yes even if crowded)because if you attempt to walk around Old Quebec(hence, outside of the old city walls) you will spend another 10 minutes transversing the hills and roads. Thus, it took us about 30+minutes to walk from the train terminal to Loews Concorde. Best advice is take the cab if you have alot of luggage($15 to $20 one way!) There are some buses around the terminal area, however the RTC website is not English friendly, so there was no way to ascertain which bus goes where(nor was there a system map). Sadly, there is a Bus 11 that stops right outside the hotel which goes into Old Quebec(straight down Grand Allee E, the street where your hotel is on) - however it's only from 7am to 9am and 3pm to 5pm! (the front desk said it is geared for employees only lol). Remember to walk TOWARD old quebec(hence exactly southeast). Google it under Google maps and it will show you the right walking path(make sure to click WALKING, not driving). It can be a little crowded so if you have heavy luggage, please hail a cab from the train station - there is a lot.

If you are coming by plane, more than likely you will need to take a cab. There is no friendly bus to downtown like the 747 bus of Montreal. If you are driving to the hotel - I am pretty sure you will be paying for hotel parking, because I believe the parking around the hotel(mostly residental and office) are for residents only. Some parking areas are only for ONE hour and can not park overnight. If you are driving is probably better to stay at a hotel with free parking which is farther because the hotel holds very little parking and it is full by check in time. You can pretty much forget driving into Old Quebec because the streets are narrow, there is alot of traffic during prime hours, and street parking(there is!)is limited and about one hour and $$$. I heard it was $25 for self parking at the hotel.

This hotel once stood alone with no shops and stores, in a more residential area. The past decade, the city decided to change the whole block to make it more lively.(Hilton is still the best big name hotel close to Old Quebec). So now the whole block is lined with mostly breakfast/dinner spots. Second Cup is right across the street and McDonald's half block down. I'm not sure if the food around here is good or not. However, I highly recommend a 'Lebanonese place" called La Galette Libanaise which had an awesome falafel wrap. Please don't waste time eating hotel food or going to the tourist trap spinning around restaurant upstairs. We already fell for the tourist trap Casse-Crepe Breton in Old Quebec(AVOID). So one good thing about this hotel is there is some sort of 'night life' and during the summer time when restaurants put tables on the sidewalks, street parking(very limited time span anyway) is removed for pedestrian usage.

HOWEVER, if you want to go to where the action is at that is if you consider it exciting - is Old Quebec City, where honestly it is really just a quaint little town, not even as lively as Old Montreal. Although the city walls are the oldest in North America(not much to see either), most of the actual shops in Old Quebec are geared toward tourists. I do recommend eating at upscale restaurants called L'Saint Amore(famous for lamb rack & red deer) and Le Lapin Saute(famous for rabbit) If your goal is not to see Old Quebec, it does not make sense to stay here - in fact this place is quite far from Old Quebec.

It takes about a brisk 10-15 minutewalk(depends on your speed), worst thing is you will reach the most boring part out of two Old Quebec main areas(Rue Saint Louis), the other road(Rue Saint Jean is much much livelier. To get to Rue Saint Jean(Hilton is closer) it's about another additional 5-10minutes. Even in August - bring a jacket! It was very cold even during the day time. Bring an umbrella also.

THE HOTEL:

The hotel from the outside is quite unappealing, horrendously brown and needs a good wash.Honestly, the building is weirdly designed and the rotating restaurant on top doesn't match the building.

There is a 'secret' one door entrance as you walk down Grand Allee (so you don't have to walk and turn the corner to the main doors). It is small and sandwiched by currently two empty hotel stores. There is a small 'newstand' inside that sells papers, some sovenieurs, snacks. The hotel lobby itself is okay, not of modern design, but clean, brightly lit, your grandma's carpet and furniture. There's always a ton of people sitting downstairs because that's the only way you get your free wi-fi.(None in your rooms unless you pay). The crunchbox business center is located directly across from the check in desk. There are two ultra slow computers for your use to go online. Not sure if you can print for free. Sometimes it is locked and you need to be buzzed in by front desk.

I was greeted by a lovely lady Pasquale and a normal friendly checkin process was completed. The elevators were around the corner - 4 elevators, no problems with waiting for one even though it was crowded at times. There is a night restaurant but I believe not breakfast restaurant in plain view. (Go out and eat anyway) We were given a corner room, looking away from the city. The hallways were moderately lit, carpeted, and unspectacular. Alot of kids this time of the year, but we were undisturbed. The room itself was quite horrid, the carpet had old stains everywhere and felt unclean. You can actually see the wallpaper lines(they used square by square!). Their normal big bed is a queen size bed and i admit it wasn't the luxurious plush types but it was firm enough - but I can tell it isn't high end. The curtains by the windows look like it hasn't been washed in ages. There is no circulated AC so there is an attached AC unit by the window with 1980's functions. The windows looked like it hasn't been clean since the 80's. Mini bar needs a key, but skip that. You can probably use that as a fridge.The safe box is in the closet - but faces away from you. Two fabric chairs and a round table by window. Lamp exterior looks like it hasn't been dusted since the 80's. Small LCD tv and drawers. Small chair to sit and put shoes on. The bathroom looked like my old apartment bathroom - ancient tiles. But the shower head was good and it drained well. Toilet flushed well and there was adequate space between toilet and door opening. Surprisingly nice toiletries, soap, and shampoo. Booked via priceline Name your own price for 110 a night(5% off at the time), and these hotels will never go further down than a 100 a night because it was heavily visited during the summer. It was ridiculously busy. There are only 4 'big name' hotels close to Old Quebec - Hilton(closest)-Delta-Loews-Best Western(farthest) - so the market is pretty much cornered. The smaller hotels within Old Quebec are ultra expensive and gives you a piece of 'history'.

I wouldn't recommend staying in any of these big hotels(aside from Hilton) if you plan to be visiting only Old Quebec or if even driving. It is much more convenient if you stay within Old Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerMrMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We have read your comments regarding your stay with us on August. We sincerely apologize that your experience did not reach your expectations. We assure you that your comment is already in the hands of the management and staff concerned to avoid this kind of situation. Loews Le Concorde Hotel and his staff would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

For the price this place is MINT. I love the elevator, the beds were amazing, i slept like a champion and I found the customer service A-1. I cant wait to come stay again. The Sunday brunch was a little over priced but well worth the views. I loved all the cafes outside and the fact that the Plains of Abraham are in the back yard! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_l0vah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We have read your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Loews Le Concorde Hotel and his staff would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
240 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a good choice for our first visit to Quebec City. The front desk staff was excellent as were the bell staff. The concierge left something to be desired but the front desk staff did her job for her. A nice young gentleman at the front desk gave us a recommendation for dinner that was the best meal of our lives. We enjoyed our room though it could have used some updating but it was very comfortable with a nice view. My only complaint was the poor quality of the housekeeping. The toiletries were not refreshed so we had to get them ourselves and there was no sign of vacuuming anywhere at the hotel. This was a bit disturbing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with you. We assure you that your comment is already in the hands of the management and staff concerned to avoid this kind of situation. Loews Le Concorde Hotel and his staff would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I arrived after having spent several days at the Lowes in Montreal. What a study in contrast. Whereas their Montreal facility' s appurtenances justify the tariff, the Lowes in Quebec hasn't updated its decor since the 1960s, and it shows. That is my main complaint, as the staff, view, and location were all fine. Given the hotel options in Quebec City, I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenserrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie K, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We have read your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that your experience did not reach your expectations. We assure you that you will see changes in our decor in a near future since we will begin some renovations shortly. Loews Le Concorde Hotel and his staff would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 102 in Quebec City
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 102 in Quebec City
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Concorde Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Concorde Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Address: 1225 Cours du General-de Montcalm, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Concorde Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec offers over 400 rooms and suites, located in the heart of beautiful Quebec city, nearby museums, activities, attractions and major events of the region. It is the ideal place for an urban getaway or a business stay in Quebec city. Its imposing structure offers a beautiful view of the majestic fleuve Saint-Laurent. Hotel Le Concorde offers valet parking to its customers since November 2014. Customers do not have to drive around downtown Quebec in order to find a parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Concorde Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Quebec City
Quebec City Loews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing