We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and close”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel Clarendon is located in downtown Old Quebec City within walking distance to attractions. Hotel is an older building and rooms are small, and so are the bathrooms. But nice and clean. Only valet parking available at $25 per night. Taxes are high. There is a restaurant on site,

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. There are some options for the parking around the Clarendon, but unfortunately none of them is without a fee. Our valet parking offers you to be worry-free, and enables you to avoid the many one-way and also crowded streets of old Quebec with unlimited in and out privileges. You chose the right option!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. We (my elderly mother, my sister and myself) stayed four nights and had an overall terrific stay. The staff are exceptionally kind and helpful and our room (king suite with sofa bed) was spacious with spectacular views. I would certainly stay here again in the future. We only had one meal at the restaurant and everything was very good. Excellent value and again, the location is most ideal. I was surprised at how quiet it was in general which was a pleasant surprise. Also, my sister and mother kept praising the AC system -- I was actually cold --but they both loved how consistently cool the room was given the outdoor summer temps.

Room Tip: We had room 309 -- which was great for three adult women. Of course the bathroom was on the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viola38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure that you had a lovely time at the Clarendon, and that you enjoyed our restaurant. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at the Clarendon for 3 nights. It is a nice hotel with clean rooms and friendly service. The hallways and rooms are small by North American standards, but quite acceptable by European standards. If you are looking for a Texas-style expansive room, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a quaint hotel in the old city, look no further ... you'll be happy here. My only complaint (and I heard others complain too) is that the free WiFi gets so bogged down in the evenings to the point that it is unusable. The room rate was a tad pricey for the quality of the hotel, but the fact that you are situated in the heart of the old city makes up for it. You can walk anywhere in the old city from here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Clarendon. We are sorry for the WIFI that was difficult; we are currently working on installing new antennas so our network will now be efficient. You are right in mentioning we are a quaint hotel, we are after all the oldest in Quebec and work hard to keep our coziness. Please call us prior to your next visit so we can offer you the best room at the best available price.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We definitely don't normally stay in hotels which look this fancy but when in Quebec city it seems like fancy is the only option! Despite it's looks though it wasn't expensive. The room was a little small but very clean and well decorated. There was a coffee machine but we drink tea - it's really weird for us but on this Canada/USA trip there have been no kettles to boil water at for tea in any of the places we have stayed. There was no wifi in the room which was devastating! Lucky we were only there 2 nights :) Can't survive without the internet!! There was a computer on the ground floor which had internet access which was good for emergencies- we normally use google to find out what to do when we first get to a town - but luckily in Quebec city it is not very big and you can easily walk around and find plenty to entertain yourself. We also had dinner at the restaurant because we ran out of cash so we had it charged to the room. It was a fantastic meal - great service and not overpriced. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MsOstritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and your meal at The Clarendon. As for our WIFI, we are indeed experiencing some issues, which should be resolved very soon. We hope so see us here again in the future!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place should be great. It has Old World charm and a superb location. However, if I knew that the WiFi in our room was going to be "awful," a word chosen by one of the friendly staff members today as we checked out, I would have continued shopping on TripAdvisor for another hotel. The lobby area is OK, but who wants to use WiFi in such a public space? Supposedly, management is aware of the problem and are working on it. Aanother sign that technology is not their forte was the movie we rented in the room. It had a hard time streaming without buffering, breaking up, stopping and starting-- very distracting! The room itself (we paid the extra for a "large" room, hearing that the small rooms were tiny) was nice. Really, I would not bother to write a review if the WiFi were not basically non-existent and I think people should know. I use WiFi to learn more an area I am staying, Skype, and so much more. This was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WillyRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are indeed experiencing some issues with our internet provider. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience it has caused, and we are working on resolving the issue as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Clarendon for 5 nights and couldn't have been happier with it. It is located right in the heart of the Old City, within walking distance of all attractions, shops and restaurants. The room was far more spacious than we were expecting, with a table and chair to eat breakfast at, a large flat screen TV and plenty of storage space. The free wifi was handy but a little temperamental at times. The staff were all very friendly and the concierge was particularly helpful. The public areas were very historic and attractive, although we didn't use the restaurant so cannot comment on that. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Clarendon and would happily stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank dilly476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Clarendon. Your good comments will be forwarded to our staff. We are hoping to greet you again in the future, and don't hesitate to try our restaurant this time!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent 2 nights here. Hotel is in fantastic location. Staff are friendly but work at a slow pace. Rooms are comfortable but small but this is to be expected in central hotel. Breakfast was very nice buffet. Biggest letdown was a Wifi, advertised as free & high speed, but we couldn't get it to work in either of our two rooms & with difficulty in the lobby. Bit disappointing with a teenager in tow. Overall though, the location is a big plus

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are indeed experiencing temporary issues with our WIFI network since we are currently going through major changes in order to improve our internet. Until everything is settled, a basic service (emailing) is still available for free. Our business center in the lobby is also available for our guest, free of charges. Don't hesitate to contact us prior to your next stay, so we can offer the best available room at the best available rate.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 100 in Quebec City
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $93 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing