We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central location”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice central location”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I celebrated my Birthday in Quebec City. The four of us stayed from April 18th - 20th 2014.

-Great pricing
-The staff was very professional and friendly
-Beautiful classic architecture with a bit of a modern touch in the room
-The room is clean and restocked towels without needing to ask
-The bathroom lacked a functional ventilation system
-Loved the Valet parking

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anybody because of the location, friendly & extremely helpful staff, cleanliness and overall gorgeous architecture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad you spent a great birthday at the Clarendon. Your good comment will be forwarded to all the departments. Looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    591
    219
    84
    42
See reviews for
332
635
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Clarendon during the Memorial day weekend and I must say we were truly impressed. Our room was spectacular! It had so much charm and very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable although it was not a king size bed. The Hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. All were able to communicate in either English or French without hesitation. It is perfectly situated right in the heart of old Quebec within a short distance of many little cafes and shops.Make sure to check out the boulangerie Paillard. The croissants are to die for. We were wined and dined at the Hotel restaurant and the food was fabulous. We had a late dinner and it worked out perfectly since there was a jazz trio in the piano bar that we could hear in the background. We had a wonderful caleche ride with an adorable dog named Winston who goes on all the rides with his master and beautiful horse named Black. This was so much fun and a great way to see Quebec City!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC23GS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We indeed have Jazz Night at our Lounge Bar, every Friday and Saturday nights. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Clarendon. Hoping to greet you again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just returned from Hotel Clarendon. It has a great old world char and an amazing location. I highly recommend staying here. It was very comfortable for our family of four. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: We had a view of Chateau Frontenac! It was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieFrost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. Make sure to try our restaurant Le Clarendon next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We (my wife and I, and our firends couple) were pleasantly surprised by staying in this hotel. Everything was nice from the taking our car and unloading it through our departure. Breakfast was as satandard as everywhere, but the hotel itself is a hidden gem.
Michael, Poughkeepsie, NY

Room Tip: Use lastminutetrave.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Clarendon. Thank you for your review, and we will hopefully see you again soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I always go back to Hotel Clarendon - it is not only beautiful, but close to everything. Our room as usual, was beyond our expectations, we were placed in the Executive Suite at no extra charge and it was simply amazing with a surround view of the Frontenac and the surrounding streets. We will always go back to Hotel Clarendon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are enchanted that you enjoyed your last stay as much as your previous one. We work hard to ensure that our guests experience the best possible stay when staying at the Clarendon, and we are glad it went beyond your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Clarendon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Hotel Clarendon. You can't beat the location, and the concierge service was outstanding. Our rooms were pleasant and clean. Some reviewers comment on the small size, and yes that's true, but to be expected in a stately old hotel. I would definitely recommend the Clarendon to people looking for an authentic Old Quebec experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choodle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We will make sure to forward your good word to the concierges. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at Hotel Clarendon. As for the size of the rooms, we have different room sizes at different rates. Make sure to contact us prior to your next stay to inquire about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel's location is good, but I can't see why anyone rated it above 2 stars. The hotel is just rooms and a restaurant; no pool, gym, sauna or anything else. My room is so small (I am in it right now, by the way) that I have to use my laptop in bed and I just operated the coffee maker on the floor (nowhere else to put it - no counter even in the micro-bathroom) !

Room Tip: There are planty of better hotels nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have different room sizes at different rates; it goes from the Economy, which is the smallest one at the lowest rate, to accommodate the traveler who mainly wants to find a bed to sleep, to the Executive rooms, which are the biggest with some of the nicest views of Old Quebec. Make sure to ask us about your different option when you contact us again. The Corporate room is THE option that would best suit you, as they all have a working desk for business people. We also have corporate rates; you only have to ask about them when contacting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 102 in Quebec City
1,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing