We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Clarendon
Nearby Hotels
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$373
$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
$253
$219
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel 71(Quebec City)
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$125
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sepia(Quebec City)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$442
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,601)
Filter reviews
1,601 results
Traveler rating
546
686
238
87
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
686
238
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hoteljazz bargreat locationold quebeclive jazzcity hallrooms are smallchateau frontenacvalet parkingan older hotelwithin walking distanceold world charmconcierge desktwo double bedscentral locationcharming hotelhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
708 - 713 of 1,601 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I set waiting in the lobby for over 3 hours while guests after guests arriving after me received their rooms. The people we were traveling with received their room at 10:30 in the morning. Our reservations where made at the same time over two months ago, 8-17-2013. By the way I am sitting in the lobby using their computer and still waiting. It is now 3:50PM and was just told the room is still not ready.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank R52B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Our check-in time is guaranteed for 4pm. However, it is very unfortunate that you were kept waiting that long. We try our best to ask that the rooms for people arriving early are made in priority. You can contact me personally to see what we could do for making up for you when you come stay at our hotel another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We drove 4 hours from Lincoln, White Mountain New hampshire to Quebec. Our first reaction to old town Quebec was: WOW. What a charming place. Our hotel Clarendon is right at the heart of the old city. We just parked our car in front and walked in to check in. It was 1pm and our room was ready. The elevator is so small and took a while before we could get in. We booked superior two queen beds room on 5th floor and the room is roomy with two gorgeous window overlooks to a church and a few beautiful narrow streets (with cobble stones). The staffs there were so friendly and helpful. We paid $25 Canadian dollars for vallet parking which is a little stiff but I guess the way it is.
After a quick rest we walked around town. Local people are so friendly. The old town is so elegant and we fell in love with it right away. We got back to the hotel to get the car. Within 5 minutes the car arrived right in the front of the hotel. We were on our way to see the Chute Montmorency Fall. The fall didn't impress me that much. We wanted to get back to the old town to explore more.
It was a sunny afternoon with gentle wind and clear sky. The old town was full of tourists. The fall foliage was still at early stage (unlike the white mountain in new hampshire already peaked) but old town Quebec was nothing else but a gorgeous place. We had italian food for dinner and it was quite good. After dinner we walked around town a bit more, bought a littke cake and came back to our hotel to celebrate my mom 84th birthday. My mom was so happy and so were we. We had a good night sleep and were so ready to get on board on the Emerald princess the next morning. The best part was after we checked in our rooms on the ship we still have 1 1/2 day to explore Quebec more. What a treat!

Room Tip: strongly recommend
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 130Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

As I can read, you felt in love with Quebec City! For your information, Quebec city has been considered the10th best city in the world according to the magazine Condé Nast traveler! As you said we are pretty well located in the middle of Old Quebec and it is so pleasant to walk around. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service efficient. You are most welcome to come back! Happy Birthday to your mom! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel Clarendon is an old hotel with modern amenities. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is centrally located in the old city, near everything. The view from our window was great. We enjoyed walking around the town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloBear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Indeed our hotel is old but modern at the same time. Did you know that the hotel Clarendon is the oldest hotel in Canada? We are pleased to know as well that you enjoyed the location and that you spent a good time walking around. Thanks again for the reviews!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

and an easy to walk to anywhere within the walled city. I booked late for a weekend in September. All nearby boutique hotels were full. I was pleasantly surprised to find a vacancy at such a convenient location and at a reasonable price. Our room on the 4th floor had a view of the church, cobbled street and Hotel Frontenac . we had plenty of space, everything we needed( hair dryer, iron, desk, lg TV, wifi ) and a very comfy bed. In order to stay three nights we had to change rooms. This went smoothly and both rooms were very nice. the hotel staff appears to be very casual, which is a bit unnerving when you need valet parking or luggage checked . But they were efficient and thorough. They patiently offered concierge service in english....no problem!
we never saw anyone in the lounge area over the three night stay. the restaurant was also quiet. But both were large enough for gatherings of big groups.
it was so easy and convenient to walk everywhere, so we headed out . This would be a great place to stay during the winter carnival.

one more important comment.. ..there was large construction site across from the front entrance of the hotel ( ask for rooms facing the church yard ). On the weekend this was not a factor. Valet service on Monday morning was effected and the street closed off.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glebegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

You are totally right when you say that there is construction across the street and the view is better on desjardins street. We are happy you enjoyed the room and the view. As you said we are well located and this is a plus for us. We are close to everything and our guests really appreciate that. Thank you very much for your great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Clarendon reminded us of the European hotels we enjoyed. It's old, but inviting...with a lovely lobby and lounge/bar. The bedroom was small, but clean...the beds very comfortable.
This hotel is smack in the middle of old town and a wonderful assortment of boutiques and restaurants. Service in the lounge and dining room was slow, perhaps due to short-staffing.
But the servers were friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodhoundBurbank_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you very much for you reviews. Indeed we are pretty well located and the hotel has an nice european style. I notice in your comment that you found the room quiet small. For your information you can get a superior room for a litlle extra, which is much bigger than a standard room. It will be a pleasure to see you in the future at the hotel Clarendon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews