We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

and an easy to walk to anywhere within the walled city. I booked late for a weekend in September. All nearby boutique hotels were full. I was pleasantly surprised to find a vacancy at such a convenient location and at a reasonable price. Our room on the 4th floor had a view of the church, cobbled street and Hotel Frontenac . we had plenty of space, everything we needed( hair dryer, iron, desk, lg TV, wifi ) and a very comfy bed. In order to stay three nights we had to change rooms. This went smoothly and both rooms were very nice. the hotel staff appears to be very casual, which is a bit unnerving when you need valet parking or luggage checked . But they were efficient and thorough. They patiently offered concierge service in english....no problem!
we never saw anyone in the lounge area over the three night stay. the restaurant was also quiet. But both were large enough for gatherings of big groups.
it was so easy and convenient to walk everywhere, so we headed out . This would be a great place to stay during the winter carnival.

one more important comment.. ..there was large construction site across from the front entrance of the hotel ( ask for rooms facing the church yard ). On the weekend this was not a factor. Valet service on Monday morning was effected and the street closed off.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glebegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

You are totally right when you say that there is construction across the street and the view is better on desjardins street. We are happy you enjoyed the room and the view. As you said we are well located and this is a plus for us. We are close to everything and our guests really appreciate that. Thank you very much for your great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Clarendon reminded us of the European hotels we enjoyed. It's old, but inviting...with a lovely lobby and lounge/bar. The bedroom was small, but clean...the beds very comfortable.
This hotel is smack in the middle of old town and a wonderful assortment of boutiques and restaurants. Service in the lounge and dining room was slow, perhaps due to short-staffing.
But the servers were friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodhoundBurbank_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you very much for you reviews. Indeed we are pretty well located and the hotel has an nice european style. I notice in your comment that you found the room quiet small. For your information you can get a superior room for a litlle extra, which is much bigger than a standard room. It will be a pleasure to see you in the future at the hotel Clarendon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having read some rather negative reviews of this hotel and feeling somewhat apprehensive, we were pleasantly surprised. We had read reports of surly staff, dirty bathrooms with hair left on the floor, tiny bedrooms with not enough room to swing a cat.... We were met by a lovely, friendly and helpful guy on reception and although the room was smaller than some of the bedrooms we had on our trip, it was clean, very comfortable and perfectly adequate. It is in a really convenient and historic location with easy access to many restaurants close by. On the morning of our departure there were a lot of other guests who were off to join a cruise ship so there was a long queue for breakfast and in addition, the restaurant was short-staffed, which slowed things up further. Our waiter, although obviously overstretched, was polite and did his best to deal with our requests.
This is a hotel full of character and we would certainly like to return sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are glad to know you decided to book our hotel even if you read some rather negative reviews. We are really pleased you liked the room even if it was smaller than the room you used to have during your trip. If you come back to this hotel, I would like to let you know that you can get a bigger room (Superior) for a litte extra. Also, keeping our hotel clean is really important for us.It is one of our priority. I would like to thank you for the patience you had at the restaurant for breakfast. Indeed the hotel was fully booked during the period you were here. That explain the queue for the buffet. The Maitre D does is best to accomodate our clients and he is working hard to find a solution for that kind of situation. Thank you very much and we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Plus:
Location! One of the best in town
Ultra comfortable bed and great sheets (so soft)!
Negative: the service
The clerk at the front desk ignored us until someone in the line had the courage to go "disturb" her
They put 100$ on your credit card as a deposit upon arrival
Upon check out we had 25$ extra on our bill (restaurant bill put on our room). We never entered the restaurant! I refused to pay, they had no proof of the purchase so they accepted to remove the extra fees.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to know you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our comfortable beds. For the staff at the front desk, I mentionned them after reading your review it is really important to take care of our guests FIRST. It is unacceptable to ignore our clients. Our priority is the customer service. I will make sure that kind of situation you had will never happen again. I also read about the situation you had at the restaurant. Probably one of the waiter charged on the wrong room. I'm glad to know you didn't have to pay for that mistake. Well thanks again and you will be most welcome to come back to the hotel Clarendon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Second time staying in this old hotel which is comfortable, clean & renovated to current standards but maintains its historic charm. Room was large, bathroom was clean & well stocked. Great location for walking to all destinations in the old town.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Asim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate your review. You well describe the hotel and we hope you will come back a third time to the oldest hotel in Canada. We are glad to know you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all our requests. Great location in the heart of old Quebec City. Room was clean and the bed very comfortable. It is an older hotel, but thats what gives it character. Numerous great restaurants within walking distance. There was some construction going on across the street, but really didn't distract from the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EiniDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As you said, we are pretty well located. Everything in Old Quebec is walking distance from the Clarendon. We are also glad to know you were not distracted by the construction in front of the hotel at the city hall. Obviously it could be an issue for some clients, but we do not have complaints about that. Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

i stayed in the hotel for a few days and i love this hotel. this is an art deco architecture hotel and when you walk the hall you can just make a travel in history
the rooms are maybe a little small but the bed is really comfortable, the bathroom is very beautiful. the hotel stand in the heart of the old town. every week end there is jazz concerts.
i really like the hotel and i hope i will come back soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouchout1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Bonjour !

It is very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 143 years old hotel ! Indeed, on Fridays and Saturdays, there is always a group in our lounge plating Jazz just like in old days.

Thank you very much for your comments, and we hope to see you back soon !

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
2,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $100 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing