We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing stay”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Positives are location, comfy beds and helpful reception staff

Negatives are very small and cramped rooms (I broke a toenail trying to get to toilet in night and my wife banged her shin on protruding metal under bed on first day), waste bins are not emptied, card lock on door traps fingers, they did not replenish toiletries daily, only one lift which is used by clients and service staff, slow and non existent service at breakfast on two out of three days

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank M9498QMdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comment. All of them are read as they help us to provide a better service and product day after day to our guests.

I am sorry to read the room you were assigned to was not meeting your expectations. There are 143 rooms in the hotel and they are all pretty different. Regarding other inconvenience that you have experienced, you can be assured that the fallow up will be made with the concerned departments.

Finally, I am glad you have appreciated the comfort of the beds, the location and the service in general.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you will give us a second chance in a near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I spent five nights at the Clarendon Hotel in Old Quebec City. I had a delightful stay. My room was so comfortable -- yes a bit on the small side but quaint and very clean. It was not noisy neither from outside nor inside the hotel. I loved the art deco features of the hotel including the old world charm of the place. I would definitely return and strongly recommend it for any traveller wishing for a real Quebec City experience. The staff were friendly and very helpful too.
All round excellent rating!
Anne-Marie Tynan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the old Church -- there's a donkey and goat behind the walls of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMarieTynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review !

I am glad to read that you had a great stay at the hotel Clarendon. We strive to offer the best option to our guests, our staff is striving to be as helpful as possible.

We hope that we will count you amongst our returning guests again soon !

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely old hotel. We had a superior queen-size bedroom which was spacious, had good and comfortable furnishings, as well as lots of storage space. Situated right in the centre of the old city, it was in easy walking reach of all the sights, information centre, restaurants and shopping streets. We had wi-fi access that worked well in our room as well as public areas. The meals in the dining room were very good. The costs for the accommodation and the meals were on par with what was offered in other restaurants in the area. Overall the costs and the quality of the hotel were value for money. The staff were also most helpful and welcoming, and their English language abilities were very good.

Room Tip: Choose a superior queen-size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynWicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Good day,

Indeed, our location is very hard to beat. We only hire bilingual staff because communication is the basis of all good relationships and we want to make sure that our staff can be as attentive as possible.

Thank you very much for this wonderful review and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel may be Quebec City's oldest but it is badly in need of some updating. Many of the rooms are ridiculously small and badly furnished. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable enough. There is no business centre, and, though they do offer free wireless, I could not get online for the three days I was there. Another positive is its location; right in the heart of the old city and just a short block from the fabulous Hotel Frontenac and the lovely promenade that overlooks the river.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are glad that you enjoyed the benefits of our location and that you had a good night of sleep. Next time you come, it will be a pleasure for us to make you visit and discover our larger rooms.

We are sorry that you had problems with internet. Thanks to feedbacks from our customers, we have taken actions in order to improve this service. Also, for those who do not bring their computer while traveling, there is one available in the lobby for our guests.

We hope to see you back soon and thanks again for your stay

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Centrally located within the walls of the old city. Close to the chateau Frontenac, the plains of Abraham, Cartier Champlain. The food at the restaurant is excellent, although expensive. Staff was overall excellent. The room was really small with two double beds, one of which was leaning and I had to prop it with a phone book. It was hard not to hit the furniture. The carpet was not clean and was patched. The bathroom was really small, and the faucets were installed backwards. Singles or couples with full mobility may not mind such small rooms. The heating/cooling system takes a little time to figure out how to adjust and get used to.

I requested a quiet room and the hotel did oblige by giving us a room in the center of the hotel. There was a lot of construction at the front of the hotel, with the city repairing their underground parking lot.

Complaints are: we were always provided with two towels although I was paying for 3 and toiletries(like shampoo) were not replenished.

I am glad that we experienced the old city and we enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk everywhere from a central location. However next time we go back to the old city, we will stay at a more modern hotel outside the walls. It is the oldest hotel in the old city (143 years old) and some folks may enjoy that.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the hotel are quieter, but there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello,

Management and staff thank you for sending in your observations. It's always nice to have input from our guests. We do have many different room sizes due to the fact the the Clarendon is a very old hotel. I am sure that if you had called the frontdesk, it would have been a pleasure for them to send as many towls as you needed.

I'm glad to see that the staff did their best to try to accomodate you and that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you'll include us in your next travel plans.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, September 4 and 5. We arrived very late, after 11 pm and the front desk gentleman was very helpful and got us checked in and to our room quickly.

The room on the 6th floor, overlooked Chateau Frontenac and the Old City. The window in the room was oval shaped, which was quite unique, and framed the view. The furnishings were very nice and the bed comfy.

Very good location for visiting the city and close by to many nice restaurants. Wish we could have stayed in this beautiful city longer.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the Chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.

We are very well located indeed. Three minutes from the Château Frontenac, St-Jean street and the Petit Champlain district.

Once again thank you for choosing the Clarendon Hotel and all of our staff is looking forward to seeing you in the near futur.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. The room was lovely and the staff went out of their way to assist guests. Great location. Loved the comforter and wish I had asked for the brand name. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kthmathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for such a positive review about your stay at the Clarendon.

I appreciate that you took the time to share your good experience with everybody. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sincerely happy to know that you would stay with us again the next time you are in Quebec City.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
2,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $100 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing