We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming historic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming historic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visiting Quebec City for the first time was a real joy. This hotel is in a perfect location to explore the Old City. We were fortunate to have Sylvain for our busboy. He not only recommended great restaurants but also listed the free activities and their timetable for the four days we were there. The weather was perfect in August and we did not miss a swimming pool at all!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are larger but cost a little more. Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Good day,

As you said, our hotel is well located and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our charming hotel. Indeed, Sylvain in an excellent concierge. Everybody here is working very hard to make the guest's experience unforgettable.

Thank you very much for you review and we hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    572
    215
    82
    43
See reviews for
320
613
61
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my second time to Quebec City and the second time I have stayed in this hotel. The location in great, right around the corner from Chateau Frontenac and walking distance to everything.

We had a room with two double beds, there was not much room to maneuver around and the bathroom was very small (pedestal sink with nowhere to put your stuff) - BUT - it is a very old hotel and has lots of charm. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quite.

There are so many restaurants around we did not eat at the hotel but we did partake of the Jazz in the evening in the bar. My father, who is a Jazz connoisseur, was suitably impressed with the trio that performed.

We went to the free Circque du Soliel show - it was awesome. We also had a wonderful meal at SSS. We were there on a Saturday night and there were also fireworks on the boardwalk.

The price is right for the hotel considering the location, why would you not want to stay in the close to everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelonJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Good day,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location, the charm of the hotel and the Jazz band in our restaurant.

There is a proverb in french saying ''Jamais deux sans trois'', I think it is ''all things come in threes'' in english. It means that when two successive events have happened, a third one will inevitably come up. So, we hope to see you a third time in the future !

Thank you very much for your review and for your stay at our hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
287 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Overall not a bad hotel, we have stayed in better in Quebec City. We booked a standard queen room which is a little bigger than a walk in closet. Very tight quarters but not as tight as some European hotels where you have to move luggage to get to the bathroom. Bed was comfy and the duvet was great. Air worked just fine and we had no problems at all with the wifi. We did not dine in the hotel nor go to the bar so no comment on either. The "ice machine" on our floor (2nd fl) was not operating and I would guess had not made a cube in quite some time. The location is excellent for touring the old city.
When we arrived I opeted for valet parking being specifically told that we could get the car in and out unlimited times and even if only to grab something out of it. Well, the following morning we indeed did need to get something out of the car, my wife talked with the concierge and he told her that it would not be convenient for them as it was parked "quite some distance away". When I got downstairs I got the same nonsense and told them that was not what I was told when I checked in. They had very kindly offered vague directions to where it was parked so we could go get it ourselves. Just prior to asking for the manager the little bugger relented and went to fetch it for us. Not a good experience at all in that sense.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more than one person, rethink the standard queen room. Very tight to uncom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainereale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

We are sorry that the ice machine was not working properly when you were at the hotel. For your next stay, let me inform you that there are two ice machine in the establishment : on the second and on the fifth floor.

Constructive comments like yours are the best ones in order for us to know what to improve and how to improve it. As you have been informed, the valet service includes in and out privilege.You can be certain that our valets have seen your review and will surely behave the good way if another billing mistake occurs again.

We really appreciate that you took the time to write about our hotel, and we hope to see you back in the future !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been to this hotel a few times when in Québec City. We like the charm of old Europe, high ceilings, class.
I brought my gluten free bread and had no problem toasting it for breakfast plus they kept my So Nice Soya milk in the staff's refrigerator with my name on it. I was able to eat gluten free and have my coffee without dairy products.
It is close to everything, the Château Frontenac, the boutiques, the funicular, etc. etc.
We found the price reasonable from Booking.com
The staff is courteous and pleasant. This is Québec after all, not Paris :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariposa144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for you review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Clarendon and especially the part where you are saying that our staff is courteous and pleasant. We are working very hard to accomodate our guest in every situation.

Have a nice day, and we hope to see you soon !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wanting to balance price and location, we chose Clarendon over many others and were not disappointed. Our party was spread across a premium and standard room. Both rooms were fully functional, clean, and quiet. The premium room was beautiful to match the historic architecture and style of the building overall. We had to pay a more for the room, but it was quiet and luxurious so we got what we paid for at least. The hotel concierge staff was outstanding taking care of our car, bags, and recommendation requests. The front desk staff was satisfactory and answered our questions via phone ahead of time. I was disappointed with the fact that I was told over the phone that I would receive a AAA rate only to find out at check-out time that I didn't. I didn't push too much because I probably should have checked on that during the check-in. To my defense, the check-in process was confusing with all the pre-authorization amounts and taxes they tacked on so I didn't have a chance to double-check my rate. In reality, I should not have to double check a rate quoted over the phone. Overall, I recommend this place if you are OK with no free breakfast and paying for parking ($25/night valet plus tax). It is perfectly centered between all the attractions of Old Quebec.

Room Tip: Go for the premium room to get larger corner rooms. Ask for a higher floor (quieter) with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Achilles07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed the concierge and the front desk agent service. When you come back, do not hesitate to ask for the 10% AAA member discount. It will be a pleasure to honor the best rate available.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

When entering the old city you sense the history, it is ever present everywhere. This is also the case when you cross the beautiful wooden doors of the Clarendon. This little gem is in the heart of the old city and its hisory hits your senses through your eyes with the preservation of its original design, through your nose with the smell of antique wood, through your hearing with old classics playing on their audio system. You easily fall into this romantic, artsy era where happy anf joyful times were the norm. This setting does all that and more. The rooms are adequate but alittle dingy and the mix of old and modern furniture do take away from the experience. It does not have all the modern conveniences but that is to be expected. What it does do is provide a nice sleeping quarters for you to head back out there and experience the history and the city. Afterall Midnight in Quebec City should be roaring and not snoring !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Wow, what a nice review ! I had fun reading it.

The way you describe our hotel is like a trip in the past. We hope you will come back to the Clarendon for another sleep in Quebec city !

Thank you for taking the time to write.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We did a 2 week family road trip and Quebec City was our first stop. We stayed at the Clarendon based on several positive reviews as well as its location. We were right in the city walls and within walking distance to everything of interest to us.
The hotel is old. It is not modern by any stretch of the imagination. The elevator is creaky, the décor is not fancy, but it's clean. We only needed the room for 1 night. Other than the shower putting out either very hot or very cold water (my husband realized that after several minutes of letting it run the water became a bearable temp) the room was perfect for our needs.
The staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

Indeed, the hotel is old and not modern. The Clarendon is the oldest hotel in Canada. It is an historical building and we do our best to keep the original design.

We are pleased to know that the room was perfect for your needs and that you enjoyed the service of our employees !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing