We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip July 17, 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trip July 17, 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband, daughter and granddaughter spent two days at the Hotel Clarendon. Our experience was great. Perfect location. Clean rooms and a comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Quebec City was beautiful. I would definitely stay at the Clarendon again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review about our hotel !

Indeed, we have a perfect location for a great getaway stay in Quebec city. You will surely be more than welcome to come back here again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    557
    208
    77
    39
See reviews for
305
592
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The oldest hotel in the old city but so accomodating We stayed in 2 double beds, so comfortable it was the best sleep I had n a long time but small and more lighting is needed in the rooms... It was within walking distance to everything! Immaculate . Valet parking was a pleasant surprise, we never had to wait more than a few minutes for our car. the only time we moved our car was to visit Saint Anne which should not be missed.

The hotel staff were helpful and so friendly. They were always available for questions and helped booking tours.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We are glad that you had a good night sleeping on our new matresses that we have change a few months ago. We are constently changing and refreshing the rooms in order to make your stay the most comfortable.

The hotel has 143 years old, this is why all the rooms are not of the same size. For your next stay, I will suggest you to reserve one of our superior rooms that are bigger and are equiped of brand new furnitures.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great place to stay, Bus stop in front of the hotel, close to everything, walking distance from Chateau Frontenac, Quebec Carnival site, close to Via Rail Train Station. Many great restaurants around it, and close to La Grande Allée where you'll get plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeroben61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is true that we are close to everything ! Next time you come, maybe you can try our restaurant Le Charles Baillargé, which is very popular for its Jazz atmosphere.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was very clean & neat. The staff always helpful in every aspect of our trip. The hotel sits perfect close to all tourist spots. You are walking distance to everywhere in upper & lower Quebec. Many restaurants & bars close by. This is one hotel I will come back to for sure. The cost is excellent value for the service in return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Wow ! Thank you for these very nice comments about our hotel !

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were welcoming, very pleasant and helpful, and spoke English well. The lobby and entrance are breathtaking. The air conditioning worked perfectly, the high ceilings and the plates on the doorknobs are pretty, and we had a nice view. Did not smell smoky or musty as one might expect from a hotel that old. The hotel's location is fantastic, a short walk to everything, and not far from the funicular.

Not so great stuff: the room could have been better, given the price. It was small (though having never stayed in the Old City before, it might be average (compare w/ NYC)), not much storage space for toiletries or, for that matter, the suitcases. The finish on one nightstand was peeling, the paint on the windowsill and the drapery rods were peeling pretty badly. The TV stand/dresser looked like it originally had cabinet doors which had been removed. The nightstands and TV stands matched each other, but not the room. Towels were good but not exceptional. Having a separate set of taps for the shower vs the tub was amusing. Electricity was also amusing: the main switch also controls some wall outlets, so if you're recharging something, make sure it's still charging when the switches are off.

Room Tip: The hotel is a square ring, with rooms facing outward and rooms facing inward (I didn't have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review !

The employees will be very happy to know that you noticed their customer service skills. They are working very hard to make sure that every guest has a good stay. We are glad that you also appreciated the location and the view.

You can be assured that all the comments you left about the room will be considered.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you back in our wonderful city !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The last time I stayed at a reasonably priced hotel in Vieux Quebec, it turned out to be Spartan and unimpressive. I was attending a class at a local university and this was the assigned hotel, so I stayed here but low expectations. The hotel easily surpassed them. The hotel has a real lobby behind an Art Deco interior, so the entry made a positive impression on me. Although petite, the room was recently renovated and comfortable and clean, as was the bed. The desk was tres petite as was the bathroom, but both were sufficient for my needs and neither felt Spartan. In fact, the bath featured “designer” soaps and shampoos. The hotel has a great location—across the street from City Hall on one side and Chateau Frontenac on the other, and facing Simon’s (a block away). It’s an easy walk to most of the upper city of Vieux Quebec, and not too far from some of the nice areas immediately outside the walls. But the best part was the view from my room at night; moody and historic. The only drawbacks are (1) parking; at $25 a night for valet. Seems a bit high but not atypical for other hotels in the area; and (2) proximity to food stores—bring with you because they’re quite a hike away. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAC-from-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for this nice and constructive review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful city.

We hope to see you again !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having never been to Quebec I didn't know the difference between the Old City and the New City. The Clarendon is located in the Old City which mean that everything is within walking distance. There are great restaurants, a giant park with entertainment in the band shell, artists on the street, the Funiculaire, rhe Citadel, the Parliment and great shopping in little shops. The streets have little auto traffic which makes walking easy and safe. The hotel is 143 years old and the rooms are small, but immaculate and the beds are comfy. The staff is very helpful and attentive. There is a restaurant which serves 3 meals and I had a delicious buffet breakfast there. Because of the excellent location it is a less expensive alternative to the fancy Frontenac hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice review !

Even if our hotel is the oldest one in Canada, our young but experienced employees give the best of themselves to make your stay unforgettable. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our wonderful city and we hope that you will have the chance to come back again !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#30 of 106 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing