We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant Hotel in Vieux Quebec” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel in Vieux Quebec”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The last time I stayed at a reasonably priced hotel in Vieux Quebec, it turned out to be Spartan and unimpressive. I was attending a class at a local university and this was the assigned hotel, so I stayed here but low expectations. The hotel easily surpassed them. The hotel has a real lobby behind an Art Deco interior, so the entry made a positive impression on me. Although petite, the room was recently renovated and comfortable and clean, as was the bed. The desk was tres petite as was the bathroom, but both were sufficient for my needs and neither felt Spartan. In fact, the bath featured “designer” soaps and shampoos. The hotel has a great location—across the street from City Hall on one side and Chateau Frontenac on the other, and facing Simon’s (a block away). It’s an easy walk to most of the upper city of Vieux Quebec, and not too far from some of the nice areas immediately outside the walls. But the best part was the view from my room at night; moody and historic. The only drawbacks are (1) parking; at $25 a night for valet. Seems a bit high but not atypical for other hotels in the area; and (2) proximity to food stores—bring with you because they’re quite a hike away. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAC-from-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for this nice and constructive review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful city.

We hope to see you again !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    568
    213
    81
    43
See reviews for
318
608
61
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having never been to Quebec I didn't know the difference between the Old City and the New City. The Clarendon is located in the Old City which mean that everything is within walking distance. There are great restaurants, a giant park with entertainment in the band shell, artists on the street, the Funiculaire, rhe Citadel, the Parliment and great shopping in little shops. The streets have little auto traffic which makes walking easy and safe. The hotel is 143 years old and the rooms are small, but immaculate and the beds are comfy. The staff is very helpful and attentive. There is a restaurant which serves 3 meals and I had a delicious buffet breakfast there. Because of the excellent location it is a less expensive alternative to the fancy Frontenac hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice review !

Even if our hotel is the oldest one in Canada, our young but experienced employees give the best of themselves to make your stay unforgettable. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our wonderful city and we hope that you will have the chance to come back again !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We (my wife and I and two boys 12 & 10) had the opportunity to stay at the the Clarendon for Canada Day this year. The location is fantastic, walking distance to just about anything. The bellhops / valets were the best we have ever come across. They knew everything about the city and as nice as you can get.

The hotel is a beautiful old hotel and well maintained. We stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable.

I would definitely (and have already) recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful reviews!
We really appreciate comments about the employees because they work so hard to give a good service to all guest. I will let them know for sure !
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you (and your friends) soon !
Thanks for your stay in our hotel!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My mom, me and a friend stayed here June 2013 and had a wonderful time. This hotel is the oldest in all Quebec and is located 2 minutes walking to the Chateau Frontenac. It is within walking distance to everywhere and has great restuarants nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great (think hot croissants) and plentiful. I just loved this hotel. I must say in all truthfulness the rooms are small, and I mean small. But beds are comfy and great views. Try to get a view toward the back overlooking the Frontenac. I also loved sitting in the lobby because this hotel is so "old school" you want to just sit there and take it all in.

Room Tip: see my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank professormb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review !
It is a pleasure to see that you had a nice stay with us and that you had enjoyed the facilities around the hotel. Next time you come, do not hesitate to ask for an upgrade in one of our large and beautiful superior room for a very small fee !
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great location in the Old City. Accomodations and service were excellent. Older hotel is clean and in excellent shape.It appears they continuously update the faciltiy and rooms without changing the charm of an older facility. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend the facility.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor - very quiet. Air conditioning worked great. Room was a good size and we op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for that nice review !
It was a great pleasure to share your comments with all the staff. It warmed their heart to know that all the effort they do are awarded.
We hope to see you back very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

You cannot beat the beautiful location of this old hotel in the heart of Quebec save for the Chateau - unfortunately the charm ends there. We have come to expect excellence from everything in Old Quebec and the Hotel Clarendon falls short - extremely short in almost ever department.

Had we not been here on a business conference with reduced rates and meetings in the hotel itself, we would have relocated after the first night. There is no way I would have paid the normal rates for this hotel with so many similarly priced options in the same area.

Normally we don't focus on petty service issues, but when they start adding up, you realize that they are not individual oversights but a just a standard of business. Our issues began with making our reservation a month in advance when it took two phone calls to reserve a King Superior room with the conference rate - which we had to inform the hotel of, with their own confirmations.

When we arrived for our 6 night stay, we were greeted with a friendly bell hop who ensured us that the hotel staff would see to our every need. Was he ever wrong and after loading our luggage on a cart which was appointed with a sign saying that they were only for bellman use, he promptly disappeared. After checking in, there was no one to be found - so we took our luggage with the cart and later were reprimanded for having it.

When we arrived in our room, we were disappointed to see that even after our extensive phone calls for reserving it, they gave us the wrong room - and sent us to one with 2 double beds and no work station - a far cry from the one we had specifically reserved for this week-long work-cation. We promptly called the front desk and informed them of their mistake. After keeping me on the phone for almost 10 minutes, they told us to wait and they would send someone with a new key for our new room - we stood around for almost 30 minutes! Finally a bellman appeared to relocate us down the hall. After scolding my husband for having the cart - he brought us to our new room which STILL had two double beds but at least this one had a work station. Instead of complaining yet again - we decided to make due. Unfortunately this room had the windows painted shut and a thermostat you could not adjust so in retrospect - we should have insisted on another move especially with June's humidity in Quebec!

Among these issues, our week continued to add to our dissatisfaction. Taken separately none of these issues make for a bad experience but they do tend to add up to a disappointing stay.

- the shower temperature fluctuates drastically between scalding and freezing to the point of being painful if not dangerous.

- Key cards needed to be reprogrammed EVERY DAY because they stopped working

- Housekeeping did not replace amenities like coffee and shampoo and they had to be sought out.

- Bathroom door did not close, and had to be locked when inside (although this could be just a condition of the hotel's age)

There were a few good points that should be mentioned although nothing that you shouldn't expect in a $200+/night hotel.

- the bathrobes in the room were nice
- The Kuerig coffee maker was appreciated
- Free Wifi service in the room
- the location, location location.


Over-all, with all of the amazing hotels and bed and breakfasts in Old Quebec, you can do much better than the Clarendon which relies too much on its location and not enough on its service.

We will not be returning.

Room Tip: The best rooms - can be found elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butterflymbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Wow, what a constructive review! These kinds of comments are very helpful in order to improve.
Our bellman are prompt to serve every guests, and since they have a limited amount of luggages carts, we need to keep a certain control so everybody has the chance to be serve the same way.
The communication problems that occured with the frontdesk are definitely not supposed to happen. There are no excuses for bad service, but you can be assure that the staff and the managers strive to better our services and give every guest a stay to remember.
We have taken every single points that you mentionned and we have fowarded them to the new owners. The new administration has been in place for only a year, and they appreciate guests who take the time to share their experience, good or bad, and will consider every possibilities to improve their product.
Thank you so much again for you stay and your reviews, you can be sure that there is going to be a follow up to make sure that a situation like this does not happen again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is a nice clean quiet hotel with a great location in Old Quebec I'd call before to confirm correct room reservation if not booking direct, Attached Restaurant is a little over priced (as with everything in Quebec) with upscale European type food, which is really not kid friendly. The valet parking is not on-site like advertised and it is also taxed (as with everything in Quebec)

Room Tip: above 3rd floor and the thousands of school kids visiting in June...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejetdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed the location and your experience overall.
It is preferable to book and confirm directly through the hotel, it gives you the best service and options since you are directly connected to our front desk staff who will be glad to assist you. The Charles Baillargé offers an upscale cuisine, but if you are in the mood for something simpler, the bistro menu might fit you and both also offer a full kids menu. The parking facility is accross the street from the hotel, accesible via a tunnel directly connected to the lobby. If you don't want to drive around, we also offer a valet service ($).
Come back to see us whenever you want !
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#30 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing