We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Clarendon
Nearby Hotels
L'Hotel Port-Royal(Quebec City)
$202
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
$261
$221
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$313
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 71(Quebec City)
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Auberge Aux Deux Lions(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$404
$332
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,599)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveler rating
544
686
238
87
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
686
238
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hoteljazz bargreat locationold quebeclive jazzcity hallrooms are smallchateau frontenacvalet parkingan older hotelwithin walking distanceold world charmconcierge desktwo double bedscentral locationcharming hotelhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Hotel Clarendon is a wonderful older hotel with a charming personality and a lobby filled with Art Deco details and comfortable charm. It's located in the heart of Old Quebec, within walking distance to everything. We walked ALL over the city, never touching the car until we left. (We did take a taxi to see Cirque du Soleil, but it was such a nice evening we walked home via low town and up the funicular.) The room we had was small with two double beds and a large, nicely renovated bathroom. It had a beautiful little dormer window looking down at the city. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the mattresses are hard. Parking is on site, either park yourself or valet. The staff was polite, smart, charming and very helpful, even offering tips for planning our return trip. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: This is an older hotel and the rooms, although nicely renovated and very clean, are small. We stayed with two adults and two kids in one room. Had I to do it all over again, I would've booked two rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Greetings,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had a good time in Quebec City, very often having smart, polite and charming guests will give a good synergy for our devoted staff. The time you took to fill the review will not be lost to us, many thanks!!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a 3 night stay recently for the Red Bull Crashed Ice event.

Found it easily and someone came out to take care of the car. CAN$25 per day, with drive in /out all day. Check in was very quick. Room was a good size for the three of us ( but why do they not put 3 cups , 3 coffees etc? Why just 2?) View was lovely, looking out at the Fairmont and over to the river from the other side. And the corridors on floor 5 were VERY narrow. This is an old building which means rooms etc will not be uniform. But this also made it easier to hear noise from other rooms.

Staff very friendly and welcoming. Booked it primarily for it's location. We could walk to the event within a minute or so, and were surrounded by many restaurants, bars and shops.

The lobby was very comfortable, although we were unable to get room service one night as they had closed. Room service menu in the room said they were serving until 10pm - this was at 9.40pm - so a walk to the sign of the Golden Arches it was. And we were also unable to get a drink from the bar as a jazz evening was ongoing. No problem with that. The audience did not want 3 very cold and scruffy people interrupting their evening, but it may have been useful to have been able to get a drink from somewhere in the hotel. ( don't forget - room service was closed).

All in all, a pleasant enough stay.Staff were lovely, location is excellent, hotel has car park, which in Quebec City is a bonus.Would I stay here again? If I had a car, and it was a good price , probably. If I came on the train, no. Would try one of the little boutique hotel around the old town.

PS Try the revolving restaurant on top of the Loews hotel on the edge of downtown. Go at night and just have a drink. Takes around an hour to do the circuit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi!

This a very thorough review, thank you very much! The Crashed Ice track is indeed very close to the Clarendon Hotel, so it is very convenient for all of the spectators who want to stay within walking distance of the track.

The Clarendon Hotel is one of the oldest establishment in North America, dating back to 1870. To put it into perspective, the Motorwagen was exposed to the public only in 1885. With this in mind, we are working steadfastly to bring the Clarendon to a renewed standing. Your comments are the key to our success.

It is critical that you take time to talk to us when you encounter annoyances such as the situation with the bar. Very often there are possibilities available to make sure our guests are given the best options available. We believe that communication between you and us will guarantee you have the best experience as possible here at the Clarendon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent a week here with our daughter and son in law who had come to Quebec from Hawaii to visit the Quebec Winter Carnival . The rooms were clean... the location was great as we were able to walk to many of the locations we wanted to visit ....... the staff were (as always) very helpful and knowledgeable as to the venues and activities that were happening while we were there... meals and service in the dining room were great and our overall stay left us all with a very memorable stay
Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerDieppe_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Good day! We are always glad to see new comments from guests who stayed previously with us. Especially when we have the chance of reading these very positive words. Obviously memories are made when you spend time here, either within the walled compound or in the lower portion of the Vieux Quebec. Thank you very much for this review, and we hope to see you again next year for the Winter Carnaval, again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very pleasant staff, very clean rooms, very reasonably priced and close to everything downtown Quebec has to offer.

Although it meant a 15 - 20 minute walk to Old Quebec from our Hotel, it also meant we got to see more of the city because of the location.

Close to shops, restaurants and other interesting things to do, we plan to make this out hotel of choice on a soon to be, return trip.

After our long weekend here, as we were leaving town, we got to see some of the performers from "Cirque du Solleil" performing right in the streets of Qubec. this was real cool. As they would get out in the middle of the road when the lights would turn Red, and perform quick acts for drivers entertainment. We were told this was because they were opening that night.

Room Tip: Other then to say, don't be turned away by it's location or price. If the location and price os ok with you, you WILL be glad you choose to stay here, or at least I hope you enjoy as much as we did. YES, parking across the street in an underground parking garage was a bit of a pain, and it would have been a bigger pain, if we would have needed to get in and out often during our stay, but we didn't have to leave, so we were very happy with it
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Many thanks for this great review! We agree that climbing back to the upper portion of Old Quebec is a challenge by itself, if you made it, congratulations to you sir!
As you mention, during summertime we have amazing surprises in Quebec City, such as performances of the Cirque du Soleil. It is a very unique city we have, we are glad that you could enjoy it as much as you did !
Again, thank you very much for the review! We hope to see you back in Quebec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were staying as a family in two separate rooms. The rooms were clean, pleasant and comfortable. The staff was helpful. Location excellent, great value. We used the parking garage in the hotel and had no problems with it. The lobby was grand. If you're interested in the history of the hotel, there's a page in the guest room binders that will give you the info. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samson718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Greetings!
First, thank you for this comment, we are glad you had a good time during your stay. We pride ourselves with the august history of the Clarendon, still standing since it became an hotel in 1870.
We strive to offer the best option to our guests, our staff is striving to be as helpful as possible. We hope that we will be able to count you amongst our returning guests again soon!

Again, thank you very much for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews