We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff in quaint hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly staff in quaint hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference from September 28 to October 5th. As many have mentioned, the location is great - walking distance to many shops, restaurants/pubs and historical sites. Approximately a 10 minute walk to the convention centre. The hotel itself is quaint and yes, it's old. But I really enjoyed the exposed woodwork and the quirks of the historical architecture/layout. Do not expect the space and layout of a modern hotel because you will not find it here. We stayed in a regular queen room and there was not a lot of extra room, but it was clean. The shower was adequate. There is no fridge in the room, which I found odd and also frustrating since we often had early mornings and wanted to have food on hand in the room. We didn't have any problem with noise as has been mentioned in other reviews. There is no pool nor gym.

The best part of this hotel, and the reason why my rating is 4/5 and not 3/5, is the staff. Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and accomodating. Particularly the staff in the bar - we spent several "happy hours" there and the service was excellent, including very helpful recommenadtions for restaurants and night clubs.

Overall, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the old city. Some rooms open over an interior court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for you stay in our hotel and for your comment.
As you mentioned, a lot of restaurants, boutiques and activities are walking distance from our location. You have actually stayed in the oldest hotel in Canada and the rooms are not of all the same dimensions. If you ever come back in our hotel, make sure to ask to visit 2 or 3 rooms of the same type so that you get to see that even though it it the same size of bed, the dimensions of the rooms are not necessarly equal. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your ''happy hour'' times in the bar and at the restaurant. You will surely be more than welcome to come back!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    576
    215
    82
    42
See reviews for
324
615
61
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

David, the concierge, was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The reception staff was efficient and everyone spoke very good English. I had no trouble with the internet. The hotel is "mature" but I'm not picky. I just want a clean, safe place to sleep. The location is great as we were able to walk to restaurants, shops, and "soak up the atmosphere".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your experience in our hotel!! Come back to see us whenever you want!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for three nights before we went on a cruise. Good location. Easy to walk around old Quebec. Our room just right for our needs and housekeeping kept it clean each day. The breakfasts in the restaurant were ok. One morning there had been a large tour group in and it tooka while for a table and the food to be replenished. The other mornings were fine. A good place to stay to see old Quebec.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for you review of our hotel!!
Your comments will be transmited to the restaurant so that it does not happen again.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel is very old but the location is very good, just down the street from the Frontenac. Also on the same street we found the 1640 Restaurant, ordered French onion soup, excellent! Took the funicular down to lower level and the area ha a very European look. Walked UP to our hotel, DUH,
After reading other reviews about the hotel, I felt our room was musty until turning on the air conditioning. the breakfast buffet was very good .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel! As you mentioned, a lot of activities and good restaurants are walking distance from our hotel. Buffet breakfast is effectively very good and with the arrivalof our new chef, I strongly advise you to come and have diner in our dining room.
Best regards and thanks again for your stay in our hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

4 couples stayed in the Hotel Clarandon last weekend. We had booked 3 queen rooms and one superior queen. On arrival we were informed that our rooms had been downgraded to doubles. The explanation for the change kept changing - first it was the fault of our booking agent, then it changed to a simple mix up. At the end, there was no real explanation although we had the impression (no proof) that the hotel simply sold the rooms we had reserved to someone else at a better rate.

When we asked for some form of compensation (lower charge, breakfast, etc), we were met with an argument. The clerk kept having to go into the back to consult his supervisor. The supervisor did not appear to deal with us directly.

The double rooms we were given on the 1st floor were very small, dark, stuffy with paper thin walls. The water temperature in the shower was impossible to regulate. At our request, on Saturday morning two of the 4 rooms were changed to a queen and a superior queen.

In my opinion, the housekeeping was not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. For instance, we had one small bar of soap for 2 people for 3 nights. By Monday morning it was a sliver. In addition, the complementary sugar/creamer packets in the room were already open and used.

In the end, the management provided $40 off the cost of the first night. Under the circumstances I would have expected them to have made more of an effort to be accommodating. Their attitude was that they were doing us a favour.

The only real positive things I can say about the hotel is that the lounge staff was very friendly and the location is ideal.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inside court are very dark and there is no ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Did not stay at the hotel but did dine in the restaurant (unable to find listing in restaurant section). Newly updated menu the was delicious. Trio of salmon for an appetizer was excellent as was the rest of the meal. Waitstaff wonderful. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant as it is part of the Hotel as well.
We are happy to learn that you loved your experience in our restaurant. The menu has recently changed again as we have a new ''chef'' in the house; Carol Paradis. His taste for perfection and creativity will impress you. I hope that you will come back to try his new recipes, especially if you liked the previous ones.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon, this time for a stay maybe?
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is simply worn out. The towels were thin, the bed and linens average. We couldn't see out of our windows, they were filled with condensation. The elevators take FOREVER. Our floor was wet next to the wall apparently from leaks in the roof. The internet service was lousy...out of service at least half the time. We were told "it has been having issues." Definitely not worth the price in spite of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel.
You definitely did not get the Clarendon experience that we try to provide each of our guest with.
Since April, we have new owners who are starting to invest in the refurnisment and the renovations of the rooms (including windows). You will be happy to learn that all the rooms have been recently equiped with new duvet.
For the internet, normally our system is pretty reliable. Maintenance has to be done and obviously we choose the moments that are the less busy in the hotel to do so. We are sorry that it had to happened during the time of your stay. Let me inform you that we have a business center that can be use by guests at anytime for free.
Once again, we are sorry for the issues encountered during your stay and for sure, let us know of your previous stay if you reserve with us again!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing