We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in Quebec City”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #36 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4 days in Quebec City”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Quebec and is close to several interesting destinations. Notre Dame Basilica, St. Andrew's and the Morrin Center to name a few. You can walk to the old quarter on the lower level and there are many restaurants and shops in the area. The hotel rooms were small, but clean and cozy. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and the jazz duo on Thursday night was outstanding. The wait staff allowed the patrons to relax and enjoy the music without interruption. Take advantage of the early bird, fixed priced menus at two restaurants that are within walking distance. Aux Anciens Canadiens and Cafe de la Paix were both excellent and the food was delicious. Great four day get away location. It did get very cold during our stay, but the holiday decorations, light snow, horse drawn buggies and carolers were almost magical.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fswoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments and all of our staff is glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I'll pass on your comments to the staff. In fact you can't find a better location in old Québec and the hotel does have a charm of it's own.
Management and staff hope to have the pleasure in making your next trip to Québec a pleasurable one.

Regard,
Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    609
    225
    84
    42
See reviews for
346
656
65
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed on a business trip, love the lobby, the bar is nice and had some live music playing. The rooms are small and not up to date but for the price are clean and comfortable. Would recomend, And you can't beat the location!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor if your looing for quiet but likely will not get Wireless internet. 2nd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We spent three nights on the first floor, right above the restaurant and right across from the elevator. Tuesday night, music thumping all night long (from the bar?). Wednesday night, floor leaking water from upstairs into our bathroom. Thursday night, an incredibly loud and long (7pm to about 2am) party, complete with DJ, held by the Caisse populaire Desjardins group, about 20 feet from our door. If the first floor is corporate and banquet rooms, why would they put visitors there? We had to leave Friday morning at 5am to catch a 6:30am flight, so at some point we just gave up trying to sleep at all.

Room Tip: We can only assume the upper floors did not host office parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was our 7 visit to Quebec and first stay at the Clarendon. We have stayed at the Frontenac and B&B's and found this to be one of the best stays. The hotel is welcoming, the staff very friendly, efficient and willing to speak English. Also the front desk is open all night. The room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed, however the TV picture was very fuzzy. One reason we choose the Clarendon was the in-hotel jazz bar, best in Quebec. A big plus, if you're driving, is an underground public parking garage across the street, extremely convienent and only $37 for three days parking. Its location in the center of Old Quebec is ideal for sightseeing. One other plus, I left clothing in the room when I left and they sent it to me back in the states.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrClarendon, Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
December 2, 2011

Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay at Hotel Clarendon in Quebec City’s historical district. We are delighted to know that we have reached your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next move to Quebec!

Marie-Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel is excellent for location and price alone! It is within walking distance of everything the old town has to offer. The price we paid was very reasonable, especially considered where it is located. The view from our room was amazing, we could see out over the city and the St. Lawrence. Parking was not included (as with most hotels right in the city) but the municipal parking lot is right in front of the hotel and can be accessed from stairs in the hotel lobby. Our only complaint was a very strong smell in the hallway. It was chemical in nature, might have been from new carpet or something like that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrClarendon, General Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Mrs Y.,

Thank you for having taken the time to inform us of your observations during your stay at the Clarendon Hotel, in December 2010. As the General Manager I make a point of expressing that myself and my team really have at heart the total satisfaction of our guests.

I am sincerely sorry to know that your expectations were not satisfied during your stay. Be assured Mrs. Y. that we take very seriously the comments we collect through our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by that smell and that the Clarendon Hotel will remain one of your preferred destinations.

Please accept Mrs. Y. my best greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is a great little spot right in the heart of Quebec City. It makes for an easy walk to absolutely everything you will want to see and do. We arrived late in the day to find that our reservations through a booking company hadn't been made. Not only did they find us all a place to stay they covered the cost until we could sort out what happened. Apparently a computer cliche at the time of booking. All was sorted out and everyone was happy. We did have 2 nights booked regardless and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are a true representation of the very trendy boutique hotel. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were happy with everything. The lounge serves up great drinks and the dinning was also excellent. Their tag line say it all... "This is the worst kept secret in Quebec City" We should be telling everyone how great the Hotel Clarendon is.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrClarendon, General Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
November 15, 2011
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay at Hotel Clarendon in Quebec City’s historical district. We are delighted to know that we have reached your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next move to Quebec!

Marie-Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you want to taste the flavour of the old city of Quebec then splash out for a night or two in the centre of the old quarter, as the Clarendon is right there. You won't regret it. As parking is not free, it is advisable to compare the hotel valet parking rate with the municipal underground car park, in the square, in front of the hotel ( Pedestrian underground access to the hotel ) A good English breakfast with all round excellent service from everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seagull_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrClarendon, General Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay at Hotel Clarendon in Quebec City’s historical district. We are delighted to know that we have reached your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next move to Quebec!

Marie-Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing