We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Jazz & Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Jazz & Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

The "standard double room" we booked was tiny but with only two small overnight bags and a plan to be outdoors most of the time the room size wasn't a great concern. However, "double" means just that, a double bed (not queen or king size); the bathroom sink and toilet were set into very narrow spaces and in my opinion may cause difficulties for those among us of portly proportions (room 227). If you're two adults with two suitcases and you plan to spend downtime in your room then I suggest booking a superior room. The room does come with free wifi and tea/coffee making equipment which is a plus. The room also faced the inner courtyard/other rooms but that kept it cooler - you can open the windows - and with the aircon being noisy we couldn't leave it on through the night. The hotel's jazz nights are fantastic, the lobby/bar/restaurant are very attractive, the hotel is in a great location just beside chateau fronternac, lots of history & lots of restaurants, the staff are helpful, cocktails are reasonably priced and if you're visiting QC to see QC and you just want a place to rest your head in the old town then there's nothing wrong with Clarendon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrClarendon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Bonjour!

Thank your for your comment. Hotel Clarendon is operating since 1870, so due to it historical architecture, you are right to mention that some of our rooms are smaller, but like you suggest, we have some superior rooms that are spacious and have effectively a great view of Quebec City. I’m please to feel that you enjoy our unique Jazz nights, our location right in the middle of the historical district and especially our staff.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Have a great day!

Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    576
    215
    82
    42
See reviews for
324
615
61
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eunice, Louisiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

If you had to hand pick the best place to be in Old Town Quebec it would have to be where the Hotel Clarendon is, and if you stay on the upper floors you have the best views in the town. The hotel was recently redone and you can tell by the crisp paintjob and updated ammenities. The staff was the friendliest you would want to meet. I felt I had been there before and was treated like a special guest. If I had to find something wrong with the hotel the only thing I can think of was the bed was a little on the hard side and the a/c unit was a little inconsistant in keeping its temperature.
Great place, great stay!

Room Tip: Pick above 3rd floor and a view of the front entrance side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrClarendon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comment! It’s a pleasure to feel your enthusiasm about your stay, especially about our staff!

I truly hope we will welcome you again at Hotel Clarendon, have a wonderful day!

Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyous10
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

the location was amazing walking distance to most sites...rooms were tiny but it's to be expected in a historic hotel...staff was amazing especially cleaning...valet parking was outrageously expensive the front desk did suggest another location but I was told to speak to the concierge and when I did he claimed to have no info how is that possible? I think he knew they would lose their tip for 3 nites it cost us almost 90 dollars.

Room Tip: we should have asked for a room with a view but our mistake so make sure you ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyous10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrClarendon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comment. First, let me apologize for the confusion regarding the parking fees. The correct information you should have receive would have been that the parking fees are 25 $ per night, (plus taxes), with or without valet service, in and out privileges. The underground parking we use is Quebec City’s parking, since it's connected to our building. In a second time, it’s great to know that our staff and our location right in the middle of old Quebec made your transit at Hotel Clarendon a pleasant one!

I truly hope we will welcome you again at Hotel Clarendon, have a wonderful day!

Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My peronal computer was of greater use than this hotel's conceirge and front desk staff. In addition, we found the staff useless, uninformed and unpleasant. I don't recall having an attendent open a door or greet us as we passed their desk. Perhaps management should stop recruiting out of high school. Our "superior queen deluxe" room was misrepresented and no larger than my closet. We chose not to dine in the hotel restaurant. The only positive is the location.

Needless to say, I will not rebook this property.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N-Mav81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed for four nights in August 2011. Hotel is well located for all parts of old Quebec. We booked a superior room and were disappointed with size of room. Although it was clean and the bed comfortable, there was little storage space with only two small drawers. One small window with no worthwhile view. We asked to change to a room more in keeping with what we thought we had booked and I am still waiting for reception to get back to me on that. So we ended up with most of our luggage draped over backs of chairs etc for the duration. The bathroom was another matter, it was huge with his and her basins and a bath-come-jacuzzi but we didn’t visit Quebec to spend our time in the bathroom. The Wi-Fi didn’t extend to 7th floor and no safe deposit box in room (free to store documents in reception). Free internet in reception.

Having said all that I have to acknowledge that the public rooms very much lived up to expectations and it was a delight eating in the dining room if just for the ambiance. In a hotel with the history of the Clarendon you can forgive all the quirks, in fact you relish them due to the history of the building. The only meal we took at the hotel was breakfast, which was a buffet, nothing cooked to order. The selection available and quality were fine.

Would stay at this hotel again if I could have confidence that the room is going to have somewhere to put my luggage when I unpacked.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josiane T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Hello,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comment. All of them are read as they help us to provide a better service and product day after day to our guests.

I am sorry to read the room you were assigned to was not meeting your expectations. I want to let you know that we have only 3 rooms on our last floor and, you are right, they are very different than the 139 other rooms. They are categorized in the superior category as they were renovated not too long ago.

I apologize if you have experienced problems with the internet connection during your stay but I am happy to let you know that we have just upgraded our service.

Finally, I am glad you have appreciated the atmosphere and décor of the oldest hotel in Quebec. I would be happy to personally make your reservation when you will be planning your next trip to Quebec city. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Josiane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Clarendon in September 2010.

The hotel was very quaint and cozy and quiet appropriate for what you would expect when travelling to such a historic place like Quebec city. Our room was a little small but quite clean and well kept. We had a nice view of the river the oval window in our room.

We dined in the restaurant in the lobby. We were quite satisfied with our meals.

We would definitely return as the hotel met all our needs. Also, it is located in a great place. Once you walk out the door you are in the heart of Old Quebec. You can park your car and never use it for the duration of your stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josiane T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Hello,

It was a pleasure to read your comment. I am glad the Clarendon met all of your expectations regarding the location, comfort, cleanliness... I will definitely pass on your kind words to the employees who work really hard to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city.

We hope to be part of your itinerary for your next trip to Quebec city!

Have a wonderful day,

Josiane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel was gorgeous and it was in an EXCELLENT location. You are within walking distance to all of the major attractions as well as some great shops and restaurants.
The people who worked at the front desk were amazing and incredibly friendly and helpful.

The one complaint I do have involves the restaurant.

a) we went to Jazz night on a Saturday night, which was a good time but the waitress was very rude. She overcharged us for our non-alcoholic drinks and refused to listen when we tried to point out that they were less expensive than alcoholic drinks (I think 9 dollars for a pop is a little bit outrageous).

b) We were not going to eat there but we were caught up in a huge storm brought on by the effects of hurricane Irene. We had to run back to the hotel (people were being blown over by the wind and rain and we were told to get back to the hotel because it was extremely dangerous to be outside in the storm).
Because of the storm basically the entire city shut down and we did not get to eat supper before it hit. Upon getting back to the hotel and going down to the restaurant (overpriced but the only food option on the vicinity...they do not even have a chip machine) we were..quite rudely turned away from the resturant because we did not have a reservation. The man simply told us we needed to reserve a spot, turned and walked away.
We called the restaurant when we got back up to our room to inquire about getting supper that night and the woman who answered told us that we MIGHT be able to get in at 9 that night. We asked her if she needed our name but she had apparently put down the phone as we heard talking and laughing on the other end but no response to us.
We went hungry that night.

The treatment we recieved from employees of the restaurant in Hotel Clarendon were without a doubt the rudest people we encountered on our trip to Quebec.


However, that being said. I DO recommend the Hotel Clarendon. But I suggest staying far away from that restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josiane T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Hello,

First of all, I am extremely sorry we were unable to welcome you at the Charles Baillairgé that night. I am sure you will understand that this is not a kind of event that happens frequently but your comment is appreciated and will, for sure, be taken seriously.

A letter was mailed to you this week. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss.

We would love to welcome you again at the Clarendon.

Sincerely,

Josiane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing