We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Charm and Character!”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Charming historical building with rooms nicely updated.
Great location, clean and spacious rooms, attentive front desk services. Got the reservation at discount rate - therefore better than incredible value!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungTraveler913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Good day,

Thank you for sharing your observations during your wintery stay last December. The Clarendon Hotel is a cosy place to stay no matter what time of year.

I'll pass on your comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms as well as the attentive front desk staff. The Clarendon staff doesn't take for granted any of our guests and we appreciate it when you let us show you our *savoir faire*.

We do hope that you will include us in your next travel plans.

Regards,

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

On our first day, my mother and I were in our room changing our clothes when two elderly couple had entered our room. Apparently the front desk in error gave them our rooms as their rooms and provided them with access. Then the next day after returning from our day of activities, we were locked out of our hotel room. Apparently the front desk had terminated our access, again in error. On our last day, while checking out, the front desk informed me that I owed money due to purchasing stamps which I had not done. I assume it was due to the error that occured on our first day and that it was most likely purchased by the elderly couple which I explained to the staff member and was told that it removed from my billing. I just received my credit card statement and was charged for the stamps. The amount was less than $3 but it does not excuse the horrible service that your hotel has provided. I have sent in a complaint. I have worked in customer service for over 10 years and have never has such horrible service. Will never go there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Tee0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Good day,
Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. Staff and management are sorry for any inconveniences caused during your stay.
All comments, review and e-mails are taken very seriously. We thank you for taking the time to write your review and a detailed follow up of the situation will be undertaken in the following days.

Regards,

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel had a great restaurant, and the service was very good. The food on the menu was not ordinary, The room was a little small, but very clean. The best part of the hotel is that it was near everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikayla15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Hello,

Thanks for your observations. I will forward your comments to our staff regarding the excellent service you received as well as your appreciation for our regional cuisine.

We do hope that when you planify your next travel you will include the Clarendon as your home away from home.

Have a great summer,


Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

location was great, right in the middle of old quebec. the room was spacious and bathroom was big. 4 of us stayed in a room with 2 double beds. as it was the hotel's 140th anniversary, we had a good deal for our stay.

the travel desk was helpful and helped us plan our day and made calls to secure bookings. breakfast was not included but there are several restaurants and cafes nearby. it is very easy to navigate old quebec on foot.

though the hotel is old, it is clean and well maintained.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank ohmytians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Good morning,

Staff and Management want to thank you for taking some of your time to make a review on Trip Advisor. All of your comments are taken very seriously and follow up is always transmitted to our staff members.

I'm delighted that the Clarendon as well as it's location answered to all of your expectations.
All of our staff wether it be front desk, concierge, valet or dining room take great pride in giving their utmost .

I will pass on the nice comments to our housekeepers regarding the comfort of your room. Thanks to them you felt right at home.

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights. The location is ideal as everything (shops, restaurants, sites, etc) is within walking distance in a safe, quiet location.

The lobby is inviting and the concierge staff are helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable; however, the bathroom and storage closest were a little cramped.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great location and hotel but still working within a bugdet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebedeesolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Good evening,

Sorry for the delay in response. What a pleasure to read that your stay was up to your expectations.
Our concierge service is quite up to par with all of the information necessary to enhance any stay, wether it be a one night stay or like yours an extended stay.
The Clarendon is 140 years old and it still manages to conquor many hearts due to our fantastic staff that takes our 5 heart approach very seriously.
We do hope that you'll favour us once again when you decide to make you next travel plans.

Regards,

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Set in the heart of the old town it is in a perfect locarion to visit.
Service was excellent and our room on the top floor very cofortable with zacuzi bath.
A litte expensive but worth it.
One critique is that the wifi on the top floor is non exisent, even in the lounge it is veeery sloooow.
Parking in the underground pubic car park opposite good value.

Room Tip: Top floor room excellent if you dont need wfi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Hello,

Thank your for writing in your review, we appreciate it. The Clarendon is the perfect location in Old Québec that's a proven fact.
It's nice to know that you enjoyed your room on the 7th floor. This floor offers only 3 rooms so it's nice and quaint. Internet is available everywhere in the hotel so maybe that evening there was a technical problem. Don't hesitate to call the front desk whenever you need assistance. Here at the Clarendon we have front desk staff 24 hours a day 7/7.

All of our staff and Management wish you a bright and sunny summer. We're looking forward to greeting you once again in our beautiful city.

Regards,

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Lots of Character to the building! Location right in old Quebec City great! Rooms clean. Staff passive. Beds Abnormally hard, made sleeping difficult/restless, made my spouse and I very stiff and sore, and tired r/t sleep loss, very noisy! able to hear every person through walls, neighbors people in halls etc. No temperature control in showers Was scalded several times during showers! BE CAREFUL!! overpriced for what it was. no breakfast included etc. Tip envelopes left by housekeeper (rude) p.s in some of the restaurants they add a suggested tip total = to 15%!! Included wireless internet didn't work 1/2 the time or kicked you off, ++slow also. We were told $25 for parking per night but were charged almost $30
Would have been better value in a B&B
Could have offered suggestion re: best tourist attractions/things to do but like I said staff were passive, suspect perhaps their English skills are minimal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nibbor02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

Good day,

Thanks for your response. After reading your review I came to the conclusion that it probably slipped your mind that you could have called the front desk, where all of our staff is perfectly bilingual, to ask them for assistance. We have someone at the front desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
We always gladly accomodate our guest no matter what their needs are. We even offer upgrades whenever possible.
The Clarendon is a well classified 4 star hotel and we take great pride in continuously giving our 5 heart service.

Staff and Management wish you a fantastic summer,

Regards,

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
2,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $100 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing