We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
181
84
19
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
181
84
19
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateau frontenac old city stairs are steep few blocks within the walls room was large bed was very comfortable each morning marie quebec parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 300 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Convenient to the Old City and the Citadel. There are steep stairs to climb inside the building, but they operate a concealed lift to get your belongings to the upper floors. If you're in reasonable shape you won't have a problem getting to the top (3rd) floor. The room we stayed in was on the small side, but we didn't feel cramped. Breakfast was basic with croissants, yogurt, coffee and juice.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maize49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

The hotel is in a lovely location in the old part of Quebec City, close to everything you'd want to see...and also near to many restaurants. We decided from the map that we could walk there from the rail station. Unfortunately we missed a turn and ended up phoning the hotel for directions. Now a question: what other hotel would be so kind that the owner herself came searching for us. We told her where we were and she met us five minutes later and guided us back. A wonderful start to our stay. Our rooms were beautiful. My wife and I had a king sized bed in a very attractive room and our single friend had a queen sized bed in a room which she loved. Bathrooms in both rooms were fine. The continental breakfast was very good indeed. As someone else has pointed out, the stairs are very steep and could present a problem for the elderly or infirm. But they weren't a concern for us, despite the fact that we are now classified as seniors...The only down side was the Quebec taxes which came as a nasty surprise, adding 20 per cent to the cost of the rooms. But that, of course, has nothing to do with the hotel!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

This hotel is situated on a quiet street within the walls of old Quebec, a couple of minutes walk to the heart of the old city - so very handy. Parking is available around the corner using a card provided by the hotel and payable when you leave.

It is very quaint, and as others have pointed out there a lot of steep stairs to climb to your room! Your luggage is carried up in the dumb waiter. The common areas are very nicely appointed and charming, our bedroom was less so. We had a 'queen' room, which looked amazing in the photos, but was actually quite basic and lacked atmosphere. The bathroom was very small. Tea, coffee and milk in the room would have been nice. There was a kettle, cups and some teabags - not really to our taste but I think this is how it's done in Quebec.

Breakfast was a small continental buffet, quite average. The staff were helpful although we didn't really see much of them during our stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marie-Josée G, Manager at Hotel Cap Diamant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Bonjour Gilly,

I want to thank you on behalf of the Hotel Cap Diamant staff for taking the time to give the Trip Advisor readers and us some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve every aspect of the establishment. We take immediate action to all constructive recommendations from our guests.

Warmest regards & thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Summary: This is an excellent mid-range hotel in the best part of Old Quebec City, and is my first choice for where to stay in the Old City.
---
I stayed at Hotel Cap Diamant for two nights with a friend in July 2016. Initially, I was planning on staying at a B&B on Rue St. Ursule or Rue St. Louis, an area of the Old City I've stayed in before, but my friend discovered this hotel and we chose it based on its high ratings. Even considering how highly rated the hotel was, it still managed to exceed my expectations in almost every way.

The location of the hotel is without a doubt in the best area of the city. This is borne out by the fact that real estate in this part of the city is among the most expensive. So the people who can afford to live anywhere choose to make their homes in the vicinity of this hotel--a very good sign! The street it's on is behind Chateau Frontenac, which acts as a convenient buffer against the hubub of the Old City during tourist season. As such, the area around the hotel is very quiet, even though you are only a few minutes walk away from the heart of the Old City. It is higher up on the hill than most of the Old City, so you are also very close to the Plains of Abraham and some incredible views of the river.

We stayed in room 7 of the hotel on the third floor, and our room had everything we could have wanted: ice cold AC, surprisingly fast internet, a TV, a little fridge, and all the usual amenities. This really surprised me, because most of the old style B&Bs are lacking in one or more of these areas. I'm used to chalking this up to "rustic charm", but it was a pleasant surprise to have the B&B feel with all the modern conveniences.

The general decor of the hotel was in keeping with the classical European styling of most of the Old City. It was very nicely done and well kept up, complete with an attractive dining porch and backyard garden in the common areas. I also appreciated the niftiness of the luggage lift built into the ceiling, with its operating panel hidden behind a sliding painting in the lobby. First time I've seen a panel hidden behind a painting outside a movie!

The one slightly disappointing aspect of our stay was the complimentary breakfast, which was mediocre. But all this means is that you are better off eating at one of the many excellent Crepe restaurants in the city, one of which is a few minutes down the road. This certainly doesn't detract significantly from the overall fantastic impressions this hotel left me with, and I would heartily recommend it to anyone traveling to Old Quebec City.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marie-Josée G, Manager at Hotel Cap Diamant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016


'' managed to exceed my expectations in almost every way'' !

Bonjour Andres,

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your experience at our facility but especially with our future customers. You have best summarized the main objective of our small City Inn which is to exceed the expectations of our customers.

We hope to have the chance to see you again at our intimate establishment maybe during our next magical winter season.

Warmest thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We had the top floor suite in the adjacent building to the hotel. The stair climbing is not for the faint of heart, but there is a dumbwaiter to move the luggage up there. It was a large room with exposed brick and stone. We also had access to an upstairs room with a rooftop terrace. A lovely place and a quick walk to the Citadel, Frontenac and the boardwalk. The room was clean and exquisitely decorated. You'll want to move in. This could be a family suite if there was a bed on the second floor.

The "kitchen" in this suite had no cooking facilities: not even a microwave. There is only a refrigerator. This despite the fact that there is a full galley kitchen set up. The Continental breakfast consisted of Costco bread made to look like croissants, which is a huge disappointment in a French town, and some other not very good breads and rolls. We went out for breakfast one morning out of the three we were there.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hist0ryteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marie-Josée G, Manager at Hotel Cap Diamant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

'' You'll want to move in''!
Bonjour Sandra,

We were delighted to read your kind words about our intimate small city Inn. It made us extremely happy to know you felt at home with us. Our historical suite with private balcony is definitely one of the gems of our establishment with a view of the old city and the famous Château Frontenac. All the amenities and room contents is listed on our website page for referals.

At the same time I want to thank you for your valuable comments regarding our continental breakfast.

Best regards




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews