We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”

Musee de la Civilisation
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.64*
and up
Quebec City Museum Package Musée de la Civilisation Musée de la Place-Royale...
Ranked #15 of 214 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum is characterized by its innovative and daring outlook. It defines itself as a seat of knowledge and ideas, a museum endowed with valuable collections, an education centre and a living memory. It is located in the region's capital, Quebec City, in the heart of an historic district and close to Place Royale.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful Moshe Safdie building. Imaginative exhibits. Interactive - very suitable for kids. We went there with our grandsons who enjoyed it thoroughly. A great place to spend two or three hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    509
    168
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calvi, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“E Tu Ake : Maori Standing Strong”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I only visited the Maori exposition, because I didn't get the time. Very impressive, I learnt a lot about this civilisation, and the presentation, guided tour was so interesting. I recommand it to everyone who's into history, culture, language, traditions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this museum is one-of-a-kind”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

this quebec city museum is a wonderful destination for everyone...my husband and i used to bring our 4 children to this museum several times a year while staying in our condo in the city beginning in the year 2000...it was always a highlight of our trips...as they outgrew the hands-on and dress-up activities they grew into the many permanent and temporary exhibits, many of them inter-active...most explanatory information is in french and english...my husband and i have always enjoyed the historical, cultural, and art-based exhibits...it is a perfect escape for a hot, cold, rainy, or snowy day...the cafe is a delight with beautiful views of the saint lawrence river and reasonably priced, home-style food...the old port location and museum roof terrace (open in the summer) are fun to explore after your museum visit...enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marjorie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely history of Quebec City”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We really enjoyed all of the artifacts on display from the beginning days of Quebec and the amazing sense of history that they got across through both exhibits and video reenactments of the time period when Samuel de Champlain first came to Quebec City. The 3D film that shows in both English and French about Champlain was not only captivating but we learned so much.

The arched basement was really a fun place to try on clothes from the Colonial period and see the way people lived back then.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A place to visit!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A museum as unique as its location, right on the St. Lawrence river side. The museum is dynamic and offers great exhibitions all year round

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyfromQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Civilisation also viewed

 

Been to Musee de la Civilisation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing