We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful as Ever, but Where is the Door?”

Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.48*
and up
Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous 17th-century cathedral has been restored several times but still provides visitors with an ambiance of centuries past.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful as Ever, but Where is the Door?”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I brought my Brazilian friends to visit the Cathedral on Christmas day, and I was flabbergasted to not be able to find the one main attraction for the year: the only Holy Door outside of Europe! It should be better indicated. On the plus side, the site is always well-maintained and absolutely lovely.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Martineau_QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    517
    117
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see for every visiter to Québec”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

From the second you walk in, you can just sense the history of the place. Reminded me of many of the churches I had seen in Europe.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Moving!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This church is so beautiful. The baroque detail is amazing. Very peaceful and spirit filled. We attended mass twice here. Mass was in French but we did not mind. The high mass was beautiful with a fantastic choir.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful and Priviledge to Attend.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The oldest Cathedral in North America at 350 years old and truly a work of Art. We attended Mass on Sunday and did not care that I did not understand the Mass content. Great Cantor and beautiful inteior. The gold inlay centerpiece was majestic and not gaudy as can be the case with older Cathedrals in Spain. Beautiful Art and Stain Glass. They allowed us to see and touch the recent addition of their Holy Door from the inside sactuary due to the snowy weather outside (I understood it is one of 8 in the world and only one in North America)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilidogtraveler823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Graffiti finally cleaned!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Some time ago I wrote a review of the church in which I stated that I was disappointed that graffiti on the side of the church was not cleaned for what seemed like years. Well, I must report that I was recently there at the end of December and to my joy the offensive graffiti has been removed!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing