We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.22*
and up
Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 210 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous 17th-century cathedral has been restored several times but still provides visitors with an ambiance of centuries past.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Moving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This church is so beautiful. The baroque detail is amazing. Very peaceful and spirit filled. We attended mass twice here. Mass was in French but we did not mind. The high mass was beautiful with a fantastic choir.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    509
    115
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful and Priviledge to Attend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The oldest Cathedral in North America at 350 years old and truly a work of Art. We attended Mass on Sunday and did not care that I did not understand the Mass content. Great Cantor and beautiful inteior. The gold inlay centerpiece was majestic and not gaudy as can be the case with older Cathedrals in Spain. Beautiful Art and Stain Glass. They allowed us to see and touch the recent addition of their Holy Door from the inside sactuary due to the snowy weather outside (I understood it is one of 8 in the world and only one in North America)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilidogtraveler823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Graffiti finally cleaned!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Some time ago I wrote a review of the church in which I stated that I was disappointed that graffiti on the side of the church was not cleaned for what seemed like years. Well, I must report that I was recently there at the end of December and to my joy the offensive graffiti has been removed!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfect time to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you can make it before the end of 2014 take the time to reflect, quiet the inner voices and go through the recently, for the first time in North America, opened Sacred Door then drink in the soaring ceiling, the majesty of the church and its history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Not often would I rave about a visit to a cathedral, but this was certainly worth the visit.

We stopped on our way out of town as a last minute item to do and was pleased to have made the trip. Having visited many cathedrals in the past, this one was certainly one of the best ones to visit. Beautifully maintained and the architecture inside is incredible. In addition, other than a request for donation, we didn’t have to pay an admission fee.

Added bonus…because of the 350 year Jubilee this year, visitors are able to Cross through the Holy Door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank W_M_Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing