We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History 101” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee du Fort

Musee du Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.71*
and up
Quebec City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #38 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small museum chronicles the history of the city, including the numerous battles fought for its control.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
279 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“History 101”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a simple sound and light show. It is done in an easily understandable manor with lights and narration. Children can understand it. The show depicts the 3 battles fought to capture Quebec City. Go here early in your stay and as you walk around the city you will be able to identify the areas where the battle took place. There is a modest fee and a gift shop. The Musee is very near Chateau Frontenac. I have a comprehensive 4 day itinerary of Quebec City. If you would like it contact me on the Quebec City Forum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank snoopysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anick H, Director of Sales at Musee du Fort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your comment! We appreciate even more your evaluation of the museum because it clearly shows that we reach our objectives. We want to keep our presentation easy to understand for everyone. In 2015, we will celebrate our 50th anniversary and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    86
    23
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun "little" Museum :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed going to the Musee du Fort.

The eye catching little building, located near Dufferin Terrace / Chateau Frontenac, houses a great eatery on the first floor (Le Chic Shack) and a giftshop and diorama show on the second floor.

The 30 minute show consists of a large diorama of old Quebec during the 1600-1700's.
Several rows of theatre seats (with air conditioning) - with shows every hour.

The screen above the diorama tell the story of the city, and the models below come to life, with movement lights , cannon fire and smoke.

We recommend seeing this great little show early in your stay, so you will have a better working knowledge/appreciation for the area.

Take your show receipt downstairs to Le Chic Shack, and get 10% off your meal.
The food is simple, but very tasty (try the milkshakes - yum).

Worth the time - fun for all ages :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert and Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anick H, Director of Sales at Musee du Fort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment your visit! Our slogan, Start your visit to Québec City with a bang, is right in line with what you are saying: a good place to visit when you first arrive in the city. We’re glad you enjoyed your experience at the museum and at the restaurant le Chic Shack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My husbands favourite museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perhaps a little dated and the sound and light show delivery could be updated but essentially tells the key details of the battle in an interesting and informative way showing the geography of the area and really holding your attention for the 30 minute showing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anick H, Director of Sales at Musee du Fort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We really appreciate your comment. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute, but a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great overview of the history of Quebec City. I recommend it as a first stop. It keeps your attention for the full 30 minutes. Worth every penny. It was fun learning more about the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anick H, Director of Sales at Musee du Fort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your time and for your comment! We hope to see you again during your next trip in Québec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute and educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

There isn't much to this museum but what is there is extremely educational. They showed the students a video about the six sedges on Québec City and had a quiz afterwords. It's a small place not much there. They do have a cute gift shop, a little restaurant, and the video space. I'd go again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Braden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anick H, Director of Sales at Musee du Fort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are glad that you liked your experience at the museum with your school group. We offer an interactive quiz after the show to every school group (on reservation). It’s a summary of what they saw during the show and it’s fun! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee du Fort also viewed

 

Been to Musee du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing