We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 28, 2014

A lovely hotel in Quebec City. Historic structure in the center of the Old City. Could not have been more centrally located. Hotel has recently been remolded, most rooms are done. Breakfast buffet is wonderful, as is a tradition of all Fairmont hotels. Staff is very helpful with information on enjoying all that Quebec City has to offer.

Room Tip: A room on the end of the halls, up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Susan L,
We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience on your recent stay with us. Our teams work hard to make each guest stay special and it is truly rewarding to read your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,529 - 3,535 of 4,877 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Impressive in every way. The remodeling was great and the views were outstanding. There was almost no sound inside the room. The location was perfect. Great for any occasion. We were on our honeymoon and they brought us anything we needed, including champagne flutes, on demand. The hotel experience will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Thomas D,
Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are honored that you choose to stay with us for your honeymoon and thrilled you had such a memorable stay. Thank you for taking time to share feedback and we look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

i was here in mid fall of 2013. its a grand hotel. fairmont had brought the property at some point and is/was spending spending a fortune to restore it to its previous grandeur. and it seems to be working. for a space this humongous, they are doing a pretty good job. the views are completely breathtaking, the lobby and the ballroom where i saw jose felliciano (another story) made me feel like i had gone back in time. i'm not a proponent of weddings and the ridiculous expenses thanks to the bridezillas of this world, HOWEVER, it would be a lovely space for a reception.

the location is right in old quebec...or at the top of it...at there is fantastic (expensive) shopping, tons of eateries, and lots to take in. at times you feel the french and french canadian flavor and at times its feels very bavarian. i couldn't make up my mind if it felt more like austria/germany or france or quebec. anyway, it was great.

the staff were all helpful and friendly. and though there were some pockets of missed opportunity, they really truly do try to make for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: get a room that overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank EUwunderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear EUwunderluster,
Thank you for your review of your stay last Fall. We are thrilled you had an enjoyable experience. We have just recently completed a grand makeover of the hotel which we are positive you will enjoy discovering on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place is beautiful outside and in. We were told it is the most photographed hotel in the world and I can believe it. We did pay extra for a river view and it was worth it. The staff is great and the concierge most helpful. The hotel even prints its own maps! The location is also perfect – walking distance from everything in the Old city. The restaurants and bars were also tops, separately reviewed.

Room Tip: Pay extra for th4e river viiew
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Peter P,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent experience at the Chateau. We will share your great feedback with our teams. Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay and dining experiences and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed there because my son wanted to stay in the "castle". Stay elsewhere and go by for photos. The room was not ready at checkin time. The staff was rude. The bill had (3) incorrect charges totally nearly $200. I travel often and never had such poor service from the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
6  Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Christie C,
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and as such I would like to better understand the service issues you experienced on your recent stay. Guest service is our top priority and as such we strive to offer our guests a memorable experience. I look forward to hearing from you and can be reached at frederic.pare@fairmont.com.
Sincerely,
Frederic Pare
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Visited the Chateau for a couple of days fresh off a visit to Montreal earlier. May have picked a bad weekend though. Concierge let me know that it was the 1x per year that the Canadian construction industry is on holiday, and Old Quebec and to a certain extent the hotel too, was a bit overrun with visitors. So, for a 500 room hotel, that meant that the breakfast/brunch restaurant was a bid of a madhouse with an exceedingly long line just to put a name on a list; and amenities such as the indoor pool is really too small given the size of the hotel and the amount of guests. The locker rooms could use a good sprucing up too.

Be aware: The Hotel IS a prime tourist site in Old Quebec and the Hotel welcomes all manner of visitors and tourists into its public areas and restaurants (but mercifully, not the bathrooms. You need a hotel key for that!). As a result, if you are a guest in the hotel paying $500 plus a night, you compete with tourists who mobbed the lobby all day long.

The staff (concierge) and front desk were for the most part what you expect from a Fairmont: Supremely pleasant, professional and helpful. The concierge sent us to a very good restaurant (MC Chef) on our second night and helped us with another restaurant we had chosen for the first night (La Patriarche).

The room was very nice and well-appointed. Try to get a room in one of the "turret" lines of the hotel (we were in 421) for a nice semi-circle view of the Seaway. The room alone bumped up my review to 4 stars from 3.5.

Buffet breakfast was good (but you could have a line (no reservations) during peak peak time. wine and cheese bar has nice views and good wine selection (although the staff needs to brush up on its knowledge of what's on the list).

Overall, a nice Fairmont experience, that could be improvement by Management if they are focused.

Room Tip: Gold Floor, or something in one of the rounded turret lines of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shoredevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Shoredevil,
Thank you for taking time to post such a detailed review of your recent experience at the Chateau. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Chateau is indeed a unique and surely not typical hotel given its grand architecture and prominent place within the city. We do have measures in place to reduce traffic within our public areas, but your comments will be shared with our operations team as we are always working on improving this aspect. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Quebec City.
Sincerely,
Frederic Pare
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Over priced. Interior is shabby and not very clean. There is a bad smell in the lobby that never goes away. The rooms are on the small side and not up to much. The gym is average. The changing rooms are not very nice, and under repair. The steam room is dirty. You pay for the name, history, and location... But, upon reflection, it's not worth the price.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Paul Q,
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay as the hotel as just recently completed a major renovation and restoration and has never looked so good. Guestrooms, lobby area and restaurants were all renovated as part of this grand makeover and the feedback has been very positive. Nonetheless I will share your feedback with our teams as we work to constantly improve our facilities and service.
Sincerely,
Frederic Pare
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 100 in Quebec City
2,858 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 100 in Quebec City
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $177 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing