We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Gem in Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Old warm charm oozes from this property. The Fairmont company has maintained this property well. Service was attentive and efficient. In the new wing is the spa, fitness center, and outdoor patio seating, like you're in a mini park. Great views and is central to everything in the old quarter. Not much public space, reception takes up most of the lobby. While I had a large room with a partial view of the river, care must be taken to secure a room on a level above floor 5, as most of the lower rooms would have an obstructed view, if at all. Fairmont members receive free wifi. Room had refrigerator, K-cup coffee machine, and flat screen TV. The family room at 550 square feet has a nice sitting area to entertain, and is well worth the extra money. Eating here would be a challenge as the hotel has two restaurants that could never be able to accommodate all of its guests if the hotel was full.

The hotel deserves all five stars, but the dining room is currently not fully open. We were put on a waiting list for dinner both nights, because, I as told, "the dining room was fully booked." When I called the front desk for help, I was assured I would get a table because I was an in-house guest. When my party was brought to our table, I asked if we could be seated in the main part of the room, and again was told the dining room "was fully booked." During the 2.5 hours we enjoyed a wonderful meal, but the restaurant remained less than a third full. There were at least 15 tables around us that never had any patrons. My guests were curious, and I was embarrassed. When my guests left, I asked the Maitre D' what happened to his "fully booked" restaurant, and was told that the dining room is not yet fully functional. Very strange.

Room Tip: WIFI is free if President's Club member. Choose a room above the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bjb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear bjb1370,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Chateau. In regards to your comments with dining reservations, we sincerely apologize for these issues. As our newly renovated restaurants did open just this past June, we have been operating in lower seatings so our server and kitchen colleagues can offer better service and gradually increase our seating capacities. This is a common practise when opening new restaurants. We will soon be running in maximum capacity. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,580 - 3,586 of 4,877 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

The chateau Frontenac is the only place to stay: the location, the grandeur, the room was a generous size & had a nice view. Take time to go for a drink and cheese plate at the ?1608 bar au vin. We had actually tried to book "the gold experience" but it was not avail on the last night of our stay so we didn't bother. Not a big deal as there are plenty of cafés, bars, close by. My only disappointment was that there was construction outside our room that began at 7 each morning! And when we came back to try to get a nap before heading out for the evening, it was still going on right outside our window. We were compensated when I mentioned it upon check out but it really should have been brought to our attention when we booked. We definitely would have paid for the upgrade for 2 nights. So I would recommend this hotel, definitely BUT check that your room is not near the construction.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear jacVirginia,
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your Chateau stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience. We sincerely apologize for the noise disruption. We have a very small portion of masonry work being done and we are sorry you were not advised of this situation for your room. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Quebec City.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hands down this is a beautiful hotel in a stellar location. That's the upside. Downside: rooms are generally small (and definitely request a renovated room), bathrooms are tiny with little space for your stuff, many rooms have zero view, so if that's important to you be sure to request that, elevators are so slow that we walked four flights rather than wait for them (it's a huge hotel with not nearly enough elevators). My biggest "complaint" would be that when we were there (July 2014) the in-room movie service was basically unavailable because the movies are streamed through an analog channel and the TV's are digital (or something like that). Definitely a drawback as the only time we catch up on movies is when we are traveling, so this was pretty disappointing. One last thing: we did end up asking to have our room changed, as the first room we were put in was an awkward corner room, where the bed faced a window and the TV was on a dresser in the entry foyer (making it almost impossible to watch from the bed). The room we ended up in was larger and much nicer.

Room Tip: Join the President's Club to get free wi-fi in your room Definitely request a renovated room I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Cathy D,
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent experience at the Chateau. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience. I have shared your comments regarding the movie service as it should have been functioning appropriately. We sincerely apologize this was not the case. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec City.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

beautiful but you want more then looks when paying $400.00 a night.
The air/conditioning didn't work properly. The drink portions were very small not like the other restaurants and bars in the area. !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Joel O,
Thank you for sharing feedback with us regarding your experience. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your all of your expectations. As we constantly work to improve our service and amenities, I would like that you contact me at genevieve.parent@fairmont.com so that we can better understand the issues and follow-up directly with you. I look forward to you response.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My sister and I stayed at The Frontenac for 2 nights last weekend. We were so excited to stay at:"our castle", especially because of the recent renovations. When we arrived by taxi, we couldn't believe that a bellhop did not immediately take our suitcases. Instead, we took them inside ourselves. When we went to our room, we were surprised that it was an older room with worn furniture and mildew around the sink. We called, and was told that we were given this room, because we booked with Expedia - what??? The did give us another room, but even though it was in better shape, it still was the same type of room. On the second night of our stay, the room felt warm. We called for maintenance, and found out that the air conditioner was broke. We were very upset, and demanded another room. We were told that there were not any rooms available, and we that we could not get a credit for the room, because we booked it through Expedia - what??? We ended up getting free breakfast the next day. We felt considering the circumstances, they could have done better. Over all, the hotel is beautiful, but it did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: I like Expedia - But, don't book this hotel with Expedia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Rudiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Rudiroo,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to hear about some of the issues during your recent experience and immediately shared your feedback with our operations team in order to facilitate follow-up. While not the typical service experience, I wanted to extend our sincerest apologies.
Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time in Quebec and enjoyed our stay at the Le Chateau Frontenac. We had an upgraded room which was a corner room that was roomy and sunny with a great view. Only minor complaint on the room was the bathroom which was on the small size with little room to put things. The concierge staff was super helpful making suggestions and reservations. Location was fabulous, easy to walk to different sites. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Sheri B,
Thank you for this great feedback. We are deligthed you enjoyed your stay, thank you for recognizing the service provided by our Concierge staff. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Not much to say beyond what has already been said. Our river view king was cozy but nicely appointed. The staff were excellent and the location can't be beat. We valeted the car upon arrival and didn't need it until we checked out. Get out and walk the streets before the tour buses hit and you can see the charming city waking up.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ADemonDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear ADemonDeacon,
Thank you for this great feedback. We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share it with us and we hope to see you again at the Chateau.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 100 in Quebec City
2,858 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 100 in Quebec City
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $177 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing