We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close during winter ?”

Montmorency Falls Park (Parc de la Chute-Montmorency)
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.15*
and up
Bike Tour to Montmorency Falls from Quebec City
Ranked #3 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These 275-foot falls on the Montmorency River tower higher than even the legendary Niagara Falls.The 2013 season promises to be exhilarating for people who will visit Parc de la Chute-Montmorency – Montmorency Falls, the second most visited site of the provincial capital after Old Quebec. The highlight of all the new summer activities is certainly the opening of two via ferrata routes built in the Boischatel fault near the waterfalls. Via ferrata – this is italien for “iron roads”, is an activity accessible to everyone over 12 years old that combines hiking and rock climbing. The two paths are built on the rockface on the eastern side of the waterfall. The less adventurous will also be able to get stunning views of the 83-meter high waterfall aboard the cable car which now runs with sparkling new cabins. History buffs will be glad to know that guided tours are now offered each weekend in the company of Sir Frederick Haldimand, who served as Governor of Quebec from 1778 to 1786 and Mathilde Robin, best known as the Lady in White, who lost her fiancé during the Montmorency Battle in 1759. Guided tours are offered in French or English until Labour Day weekend.
Kuujjuaq, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Close during winter ?”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I visited it before and it was nice. But in last january 2013 I was surprised that it was closed . So you should go during summer .

Helpful?
Thank Mawwwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau67, General Manager at Montmorency Falls Park (Parc de la Chute-Montmorency), responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comment. The site remains open year round. The staircase is closed in the winter for safety reasons. However, our public facilities and services have operating scedules : The cable car and gift shop are open weekends only in January, 7 days a week in February and Thursday to sunday in March and April. Details are posted on our web site at sepaq.com/montmorency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,397
    2,107
    558
    76
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had somehow missed this sight in my geography classes! Wow - DO take a tour and see this sight! Young or old, it is a powerful awesome sight!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DessertDiva208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The falls were incredible! They are so tall and majestic! Worth every kilometre of the drive! We were told of amazing legends and stories that had taken place on these falls which enhanced the experience! It was just spectacular and definetely a memory that I will keep!

Helpful?
2 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Really stunning, especially in winter. You can do a circuit, go down the stairs past the fall, and walk to the cable car which takes you back up.

Easy to get to from Quebec City - one bus for 3 dollars and you're there in less than half an hour. I believe there's a bus every 10-15 min. If you're in Quebec City, you'd be crazy not to see the Montmorency Falls - taller than Niagara!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxmax_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfalls - not to be missed”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I didn't expect to see the natural wonders when we traveled to Quebec, but the falls were spectacular. We climbed a big ice pile and sledded down on our bottoms. We also took the tram up to the top.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrucknerPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montmorency Falls Park (Parc de la Chute-Montmorency) also viewed

 

Been to Montmorency Falls Park (Parc de la Chute-Montmorency)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing