We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery Tour, very enjoyable!”
Review of Morrin Centre

Morrin Centre
Ranked #13 of 218 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come visit the Morrin Cultural Centre, Quebec City's best-kept secret! Built over 200 years ago as one of the city's first jail, it now houses one of the world's most beautiful libraries. This national historic site is yours to discover. Walk through foreboding jail cells and browse the books in the charming Victorian library. We also offer various events; including a Writers' Festival, concerts, readings and lectures. Consider renting the Centre as the perfect place to hold your events.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Discovery Tour, very enjoyable!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband & I took the Discovery Tour today. He was humoring me a bit and being a good sport by agreeing to go. Now he is insisting I write this review, right now! Sarah our guide, was very knowledgeable and friendly, a real gem. The Morrin Center was at one time a jail, a college, now it is a library & cultural center. We visited, among other rooms, the death row & the "modern state of the art" chemistry lab of the 1867 college. The tour takes about an hour & was one of the high points of our visit to Quebec city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank a trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    142
    26
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willunga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Quebec City!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Morrin Center is a hidden gem in Quebec City - just off Saint Jean. We did the guided tour with Phillippe who did a great job including posing for a photo in the replica 19th century Science laboratory - it was once an expensive and exclusive (mainly theological) college for English speaking Protestants. The building was also once the Quebec City Prison and there is an excellent display on this aspect of the building's history. We also spent an hour in the library of the Literary and Historical Society, which is the premier English language institution in Quebec.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Send your kids to JAIL!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our family went for a week long trip to Quebec in May. Our trip included whale watching , as well as a good chuck of time spent in Old Quebec City.

We went on a mini bus tour of the city, and our guide highly recommended the Morrin Centre as a possible place to tour. Our girls, ages 7 and 4 were very excited at the thought of touring an old Jail, the first in the city. We'd never heard of it, but figured why not?

To make this review brief, and to not spoil a future tour you may take, I'll just say that our tour guide Ben was amazing, and took great care and passion with every detail of the tour, he made our kids feel special, and left so much of an impact on them, that when we again returned to Quebec City on our way back from a whale watching trip in Tadoussac, they asked if they could do the tour a second time! We of course agreed, as we'd enjoyed it so much as well.

All of the staff we dealt with on our two visits were great, but Ben the guide, was what really helped make it so enjoyable, the kids liked it even more than the whale watching, and are now asking when we can go back again, for a third visit!

Thanks Ben, and Thanks Morrin Centre

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DundasRobinsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
“Great and Interesting!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great place in the heart of old Quebec! We all enjoyed the tour so much, everybody was interested, even the kids! Our guide Ben was son nice and enthusiastic, and with a very good knowledge of the place and its history. The library is beautiful and the jail quite interesting. Don´t miss it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PonchitoMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super place for older kids”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My daughter found this historic site from a flyer at our hotel. "Go to jail" is what caught the eye of this teen enthralled with all things criminal justice. I was a bit skeptical thinking "tourist trap" and my younger daughter was thinking "ho hum another guided tour," but we wanted each child to pick an activity to enjoy on their vacation so we gave it a whirl. And super glad we did! Our tour guide Ben was incredibly informative and entertaining, making the history surrounding this 19th century jail/college come alive for both girls. I not sure which part our girls enjoyed more experiencing "solitary confinement," watching a science experiment in the old college lab, or basking in the cool two story library filled with antique books! (Some bibliophiles in our house as well). Incredible staff, interesting history, and just plain fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrin Centre also viewed

 

Been to Morrin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing