We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of history” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrin Centre

Morrin Centre
Ranked #15 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come visit the Morrin Cultural Centre, Quebec City's best-kept secret! Built over 200 years ago as one of the city's first jail, it now houses one of the world's most beautiful libraries. This national historic site is yours to discover. Walk through foreboding jail cells and browse the books in the charming Victorian library. We also offer various events; including a Writers' Festival, concerts, readings and lectures. Consider renting the Centre as the perfect place to hold your events.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The library is beautiful. The staff are very friendly.
The prison tours weren't available in April when we visited which was unfortunate but we'll visit next time in QC

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Good2GoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    131
    26
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were coming along for a cultural visit of an old library!!! Ohhhh... What a surprise! We had a GREAT tour. I would recommend to all...Hoping you are not afraid of ghosts!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Underrated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This facility was beautiful and had an exceptionally interesting prison tour. We happened to be in Quebec City when their celtic festival was going on and were able to enjoy it as well since it was ground zero for activities.

The library was decadent with it's old wood and dated books. The architecture and historical contributions are almost overwhelming. The walls are lined with pictures of famous military personnel and explorers from the past. The tor giuse was informative and apperaed as tho she genuinely enjoyed her job.

The prison was unique to those we had seen before in the U.S, and Caribbean, Narrow passageways led to dark chambers where prisoners has scratched images and game boards into the floor. Many rooms of preserved artifacts shined a light on how it was to live during the hayday of the prison which was on the outskirts of the city when built but was embedded by the time it was put to rest years later.

The celtic festival was wonderful and filled with dancing, drinking, and great fried food...need more? We spent a couple of hpurs at the festival after our tour and really enjoyed the bagpipes and spirit of the event. It got very crowded after 1pm.

Do visit the Morrin Center and if traveling in September try to be there for the Celtic Festival!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AndiS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Tour Guide in the first jail of Quebec”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We see the tour on the newpaper of the city and we when last saturday. Laurence, the tour guide, greet us and she was really nice, we talked with her waiting for the other tour guide. Maxime can speak very well in both language ( our tour was in french). He is great tour guide ; he is very interesting and put a lot of life when he is speaking. He also ask a lot of question about history, my boyfriend liked that. It was an one hour tour and it's seem to me like 10 minutes. Me and my boyfriend, we didn't see the time flow. We really enjoy the history of the jail and the building. It was interesting to learn about the first women to enter in the university or the story of the status of Wolfe.


( and I agree with the comment "don't take the 4:00 tour". We miss some time and I would like to come back in the jail and read all the sign than explain all the stuff and more. Maybe next summer with my friends and family )

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SAG801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Must see attraction in "Vieux-Québec"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Highly recommend a tour of The Morrin Centre in the heart of Vieux-Québec for anyone interested in architecture, history and looking to discover vestiges of the city's lesser known English heritage... Highlights include a visit of the building's early 19th century dungeon and prison cells as well as the Literary & Historical Society's exceptional library. Our visit was made all the more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable Maxime who gave us a dramatic, well researched and cordial tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardAntoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrin Centre also viewed

 

Been to Morrin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing