We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick Your Tour Guide Carefully!”
Review of Morrin Centre

Morrin Centre
Ranked #17 of 214 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come visit the Morrin Cultural Centre, Quebec City's best-kept secret! Built over 200 years ago as one of the city's first jail, it now houses one of the world's most beautiful libraries. This national historic site is yours to discover. Walk through foreboding jail cells and browse the books in the charming Victorian library. We also offer various events; including a Writers' Festival, concerts, readings and lectures. Consider renting the Centre as the perfect place to hold your events.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children
Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pick Your Tour Guide Carefully!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really, really, really wanted to enjoy this tour as the Morrin Centre is the focus of Louise Penny's novel, "Bury Your Dead." Unfortunately, our tour guide was Max...something or other. Nice, but too intense. Examples, "How long do you think an indentured servant would be sentenced to serve if he ran away?" Okay, interesting question, but Max, EASE UP! Do not make everyone answer the question. That, and every other question you asked. Also, please do NOT physically get in my face when you're trying to be dramatic. This might work with kids, but your entire audience was made up of adults. This is one and one for me.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrugalFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    136
    26
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent history tour!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I had an English guided tour at Morrin Centre on Feb 10th with Maxime, a very enthusiastic tour guide. He showed us the prisons, the only English library in Quebec and more which are awesome! We experienced the cells and learned lots of interesting stories and histories of Quebec. I would say it is a must-go attraction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad Louise Penny 'unburied' this treasure!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

While enjoying Winter Carnival, I noticed that this building which was being used as a backdrop for one of four buildings having first ever North American videomapping projected on it, seemed to have a familiar name. Then I recalled that it was the setting of a murder in one of Louise Penny's awesome books which took place during carnival. My husband and I took the 45 minute tour led by Maxime, a very entusiastic and informative young man! This bulding was full of great history,going from a prison, to a college and finally to a public library which currently houses rare historical and scientific books. I would highly recommend this tour to all!! A Massachusetts fan!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Morrin Centre is a must to see in Quebec city!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

January 25th, 2013
My husband and I had a french guided tour at Morrin centre today, with a very enthousiastic guide named Elizabeth, who is passionnate about this Centre who was a jail at the beginning. You can visit the cells: it is amazing! The centre was an english college after the prison has been closed and is now the house of Litterature Historical Society. You have there, a marvelous library, the only english library in Quebec City. This is very interesting to walk within this part of Quebec history and this visit really worth it! Most of all, don't miss it!!

Christiane and Jacques, Boucherville

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristianeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely fascinating!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Morrin Centre is a bit out of the way, but entirely worth any amount of time you're willing to spend on it. The guide (Max) was extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the facility, which was a prison in the 19th century but was converted to a boys' college from the 1860's through to 1902. The library from the college days is fantastic - the oldest book comes from the 1530's! And you pretty much get to sit at George Etienne Cartier's desk, as well as a chair that Charles Dickens probably sat in, both of which are pretty novel. The laboratory was incredible - the chalk scrawlings on the blackboard are from the early 20th century, and they have all the original lab equipment and textbooks on outdates pseudosciences (phrenology anyone?). Overally, really really remarkable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tarajmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrin Centre also viewed

 

Been to Morrin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing