We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should really try this pizza!”
Review of La Pizzaio

La Pizzaio
Ranked #6 of 1,453 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Halifax, NS, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“You should really try this pizza!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was a very memorable meal and fairly unique pizza. We would highly encourage people to try it.
It is a VERY thin crust pizza, which is great since I'd rather enjoy the toppings than a bunch of pizza dough anyway. And the toppings were delicious. Great tasting pepperoni, great tasting pizza.

It was a few minutes' walk downhill from Rue Saint Jean, which is in the heart of Vieux Quebec.

The service was great, though it got off to a bit of a funny start. It didn't seem at first like the place was even open and a young man (likely owner's son) was sitting in the corner doing some homework. We were the only ones in there then (more came later), so we had a bit of a bad feeling. But the owner / chef made up for it after that. We were there with our three young children and he was very good with them. Although there was no children's menu, he made us a child's portion of spaghetti and just charged half the price.

And, he simply made delicious pizzas. We ordered 3 pizzas and the child's spaghetti. For my seven year old boy, the one pizza was a little more than enough. For my wife and I, our pizzas did not stuff us, but it was satisfying, and we were already planning to go elsewhere for dessert anyway.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wsekem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    66
    12
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ajax
2 reviews
“Simply the best traditional thin crust high quality A MUST”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews I knew it was a must - super fantastic -across fr the marche market this was an elegant quaint pizzeria - mark owner and our host not only made a great pizza but being the only ppl there (he stayed open to accommodate us on a evening usually closed ) Mark was a gracious host and made us feel like royalty and we swapped stories on our sons sports ambitions. All that aside BEST PIZZA IN NORTH AMERICA PLS GO SEE MARK YOU WILL NOT REGRET. TOUCH OF FURTHER CLASS IN ALREADY CLASSY CITY!! Thks Mark - Susy an Ray

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusyAjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great meal from start to finish”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We came here for dinner while on a house-hunting trip in Quebec City. We were greeted by a very friendly server/chef who brought us drinks right away. He brought us a sample appetizer to start, which was very good. We then had the bruschetta. It was very fresh and flavorful, made on the spot with herbs cut from live potted plants. The pizzas that came next were equally delicious. Beautiful, quality ingredients, interesting flavour combinations and unique presentation. All the food arrived very quickly and we were well attended to. On our server's recommendation, for dessert we had the chocolate creme brulee, which was fantastic. We enjoyed our first Pizzaio experience greatly and look forward to living in Quebec City and coming here regularly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emily_owen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You have to try this Pizza!!!! ”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We had Pizza here March 6th, 2014. We went here because of all the great reviews. All those great reviews are correct. The moment you walk in you are greeted by a beautiful pleasant woman. Very CLEAN restaurant! We do not speak French and they were very happy to explain their dynamic menu to is. The Gentleman that took or order gave us a sample appetizer that was bursting with wonderful flavors. When the pizza came out it was like a work of art. The flavor of this pizza keeps you wanting more, sooo delicious. The owners here at La Pizzaio are very passionate about their product and it shows! We can't wait to return. Thank you for your hospitality. See you again soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank antonetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yuuuuuummmm!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Came here for lunch on Christmas Day. After a semi-bad experience at the restaurant we went to for breakfast, this place made our trip feel more welcoming. They had great vegetarian choices, the waiter didn't make a "I don't understand" face when we asked what items were vegetarian. We decided on salad and pasta. Best pasta I've ever had! The Greek salad was full of flavour and the service was very friendly. I ended the satisfying meal with a coffee which came with 2 sugary rosettes. Even the coffee was amazing! I wanna go back just thinking about it right now. Especially after the terrible service we had at dinner (Table Restaurant.. Don't go there..) we're leaving tomorrow, ill make sure we stop for lunch again. YUM!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizzaio also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to La Pizzaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing