We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, relaxing atmosphere.”
Review of Chez Temporel

Chez Temporel
Ranked #49 of 1,523 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Café & Bistro opened since 1973. Find us for recomforting café glass of wine in the fortified and historic Old Québec. Calm and cozy atmosphere guaranteed.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I went here on a recommendation and loved it. Old style very French coffee shop with great coffee, croissants, French newspapers that we tried with our bad French to read and nobody hurried us to leave. Big cups of cappuccino we're delicious. Very cozy on a cold winter's day.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank lizwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lachfrancois, Owner at Chez Temporel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for the good comment, It's really nice that you enjoyed our place. We'll be very happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 269 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stopped in here for a quick lunch and ended up with a three course menu du jour. Warming soup, Quebec pie and maple syrup tart in the middle of the day seemed like a good way to survive - 17 C outside. The food was great, staff were friendly and when we had lunch elsewhere on subsequent days, we regretted only coming here once.

Thank Team M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lachfrancois, Owner at Chez Temporel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi,

I'm really happy to hear that you loved your experience with us. We'll be happy and ready to give you a very good service next time you stop.

Thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

like this place because of all the reviews, but the caffe au lait was so bitter...down the way a bit is an Italian cafe whose espressos were just to die for! I wish I remembered the name!

1  Thank REJ810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a wonderful, cozy little hideaway on a quiet street, a bit bohemian, certainly possessing a "Quartier Latin" feel. I've been there twice, in 2011 and again in October 2013, and there are always people sitting quietly reading books, studying, or writing--it's that kind of place. The food is good, honest and unpretentious. The crème brûlée was the best I've ever had. The service is friendly. I love this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lachfrancois, Owner at Chez Temporel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the good comment. We hope to see you again so you can take another creme brulé.

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a delight......we are tourists and like to try to find interesting little places that prepare fresh tasty food.
We were told about Chez temporal and spent time trying to find it, it was quite easy!
We had a lovely freshly made Broccoli Soup with a Croque Monsieur. Both were freshly made and tasted really good. The menu is a lovely selection of sandwiches and Pizzas with a few extras thrown in.
If you want a nice casual lunch in interesting surroundings in the Old Town you won't do much better than Chez Temporel.
As an aside I also found the two young guys who were working that day particularly helpful and polite.
We will visit again next time in Old Town Quebec.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Werlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Temporel also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Temporel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing