We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To far out for Quebec city! Save the money on taxis or car hire and book a hotel closer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Ranked #74 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
2 reviews
“To far out for Quebec city! Save the money on taxis or car hire and book a hotel closer!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel was more like a motel scenario. Staff were very friendly and willing to help. We stayed for one night and decided to move on due to the location being too far out of Quebec city! Yes the hotel is good value, however, if you stay there you'll need to hire a car (costly), jump in a cab (around $70 roundtrip to old Quebec) or take the bus (1.5 hour trip as you need to get a connecting bus). When you look at the price to stay in the hotel vs the costs above you may as well book a hotel in old Quebec (which is what we did)

As far as the hotel room:
- clean bar a manky brown looking sofa
- air con unit was old and loud
- we were on ground floor and you could really hear foot steps above

If you do find yourself staying their, I can recommend the Chinese up the road - very good and they do takeaway!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retroacen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Client, we are sorry for your inconvinience. We are not a downtown property and our rates
reflect this .Most hotels in Quebec city are in our area or downtown.We do offer a shuttle from airport and we also have a car rental service in the lobby of our hotel. we recommend renting
a car. it is sometimes more convinient than using our local transit system.
We pride ourselves on great service, great accomodations and value for money.
Our rates include free parking, Deluxe buffet hot and cold continental breakfast, Wireless internet
and free local phone calls, free use of Hot Tub and soon to be BBQ Area for guests on a budget.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    68
    54
    16
    16
See reviews for
62
62
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

First off we had to pay $5/day to use the in-room mini-fridge. First and hopefully the last time we have to do that. We needed the fridge to keep my wife's diabetes meds cold. Second the mattress seemed like it had collapsd on one side, doesn't make for a good nights sleep. Third the hallways felt like a sauna, no a/c in the halls. The good was the free continental breakfast and the a/c worked very well in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Valued customer, I apologize for any inconviniences you experienced while staying with us
last July 5th.Our policy concerning our min fridges is due the fact we only have a limited amount
of fridges in the hotel. Therefore we leave up to the client to choose if they wish to rent a fridge.
In the case where someone needs the fridge for medical reasons we are happy to let them use it free of charge.As for hot corridors we do apologize , but due to configuration of hotel, we cannot
provide A\C in the corridors.
I am very happy to read that our in room A\C and our Free Breakfast were to your liking very much appreciated. Thank you for yourt feed back and hope we can accomodate you in the future.
Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We walked into our room and found it dirty, especially towels. It gave us a yucky feeling. Also two bus loads of kids were checking in at the same time. Even though we had per paid for our room, we moved next door to a Super 8, which was clean, new, and luxurious compared to the Howard Jphnson. Super 8 was way nicer for the same price. It was worth changing hotels even though we lost our money at HJ because we pre paid. The front desk clerk was very nice!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Djrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations as a Howard Johnson and we are striving
to get better and improve our Hotel everyday.I will look into the dirty looking towels, as we are in the process of ordering new towels for the summer season.
We are a clean budget hotel and with great service.
As a budget hotel we also cater to young student groups at this time of the year.If noise
is an issue we would gladly give a quieter room away from the studenrs. We hope you
may give another chance in the near future. You may call me directly at the Hotel 418 877 2226
It will be my pleasure to personally take care of your accomodations .Thanks, Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

nj
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Nice place to spend a few days. We stayed for 3 days here. Its close to all attractions, about 20mins drive to everything. Good places to eat around. Close to the airport. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast is basic. But they did have some healthy choice which i was surprised since its a no fancy no flair hotel. Will totally go back and stay here.

Room Tip: Get top rooms. Totally noise free
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your generous comments. We appreciate all positive or negative comments
as this helps us become a better hotel.Please do not hesitate to speak with my manager Paul or myself during your next visit to Quebec.
Thank you
Bruce Laurie, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

First night was so terrible that we decided to leave next morning even though we paid for 2 nights !!! Too noisy all night !! People were running like crazy bulls in the corridors all night, yelling and screaming. The hotel staff didnt seem to care !!
Cigarette burns on the furniture and carpet. The room smelled of smoke which kept the kids awake all night. The bedsheets and pillow felt as if they were made of plastic. No ground maintenence as there was solid ice around the building making it dangerous just to get to our car. The staff didnt bother why we were cutting short our stay even though we told them about all the issues. Its a total waste of money staying there. Please don't get lured by their cheap price !!!

Room Tip: Stay away !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Mr. Zaidi,

I sorry we have not met your expectations , but I can assure you this was an isolated incident . We had young hockey players in our hotel with parents. During the winter carnival period people
seem to be a little noisier.As for the room smelling of smoke, we are a 100 % non smoking property and pride ourselves on this fact. We will take care of this situation by washing carpets and disinfecting room.As we have spoken on the phone you
have accepted a 1 night gift certificate for your next stay in Quebec city.Hopefully we will restore
your faith in our property and Chain.
Thank You , Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I want to share a disappointing experience my family and I had this week in a short vacation trip we made to Quebec City. I made reservation online for 2 adults and 3 children (13-17). We had a room with two double beds and when I asked the employee how we could do he suggested that 3 people could sleep in one double bed. Can you believe that? My kids are 15, 15 and 17. I choose this hotel because of the price and I finally had to pay for an extra bed for two nights. Next time I will chose another hotel for 5.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbala5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Sir,
We are sorry for the misunderstanding, our hotel and do most hotels in north America charge for rollaways.We do not have any rooms with 3 beds , this is why we always have rollaway to accomodate guests.We hope the free parking, free internet, and free deluxe breakfast was stil
to your liking and your beds were comfortable and you had an excellent nights sleep.
Please call me at 418 877 2226 and I will be more than happy to explain our lodging policies
to you.
Thank you and have a great day.
Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly for work. It is a avererage hotel for the price range. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Not new by any means, but clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the hotel, on the west side it seems trucks park on that side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarasCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Sir ,
We appreciate your commments and hope we continue to meet your expectations as corporate
client.Please let us know at the front desk if how we can make your stay more comfortable.

Thank you

Bruce LAurie, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#48 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Airport
Econo Lodge Airport
#87 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport East
Comfort Inn Airport East
#72 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#82 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#20 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Quebec City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Quebec City

Property: Howard Johnson Quebec City
Address: 7300 Boul Wilfrid Hamel Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G2G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Quebec City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Internatiional Airport.12 Minutes from downtown Quebec. Free buffet breakfast,Free Wireless internet,Free parking,Onsite car rental. Free Shuttle to airport.Spa hottub, Beer and wine service.Close restaurant and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Quebec City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quebec City Hotel Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing