We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B and B in the heart of Old Quebec!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castel d'Amerique Francaise
Ranked #7 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great B and B in the heart of Old Quebec!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Two girlfriends and I visited Quebec City September 3-7 and were delighted with our stay at this lovely b and b. Our room was sufficiently spacious for the three of us. We had and private terrace -- our's was the Champlain room on the third floor. (There are no elevators so just be advised). Jolanta, the landlady, is a gracious hostess who speaks fluent English, French and Pollsh. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    36
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
110
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had the luck of getting to come back and visit Quebec City again. I requested the same room I had the first time since I really enjoyed it. This place is great, hosts are very friendly. Food is excellent! A little something different for breakfast each day, plus always fruit, breads, cereal, etc. Evertyhing is very clean. I love the upstairs terrace you can sit, drink wine and relax. Easy to walk to everything in upper town. Great location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echostar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed staying here for 4 nights in August. The room was huge, quiet and had a modern bathroom. The breakfasts were so delicious and contained such a variety of foods, from egg casseroles to French bread with comfiture (jam), tea and coffee, fruit like blueberries and strawberries. We met fellow travelers in the morning in the breakfast room, as well as upstairs in the outdoor area overlooking the city. We felt very safe and well cared for by our landlady. The location was great, in the heart of the old city and easy to walk to all the important places.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs, let the landlady know beforehand. There is some street noise from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannel362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I traveled with a friend - our room was huge, with three beds - I think a queen, a double, and a single, and there was still lots of walking around room. There was a large closet, which also housed a small refrigerator, and we even had three windows we could open for fresh air. Everything was very clean; had our own bathroom. Breakfast each morning was 8:00 to 9:30, so not too early, and was delicious: a different homemade quiche and bread every day, boiled eggs, sliced ham, fresh orange juice, confitures, many cereals, other breads, a selection of cheeses, fresh fruit, coffee and teas - enough to keep you satisfied till well past lunchtime. The location could not be better, it's on a quiet side street very close to several of the bigger streets where there are many shops and restaurants. We walked everywhere, which we enjoyed, but the old quarter is very hilly, with lots of steps, which might be an issue for some - we were on the third floor, and there were 18 steps up each of two flights - our legs got very strong! There is a terrace, where guests can gather - nice to meet the other travelers. Overall, a great experience; we were well cared-for and very satisfied!

Room Tip: If you want absolute quiet at night, ask for a room at the back. We were on the front, and opened ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindao5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our room was gorgeous--on the 3rd floor, with lovely furnishings and art. It was pretty clean as well, with a little mildew in the bathroom but spotless otherwise. The location was perfect--quiet but close to things on a lovely street full of accommodations. Breakfast was good, but a little monotonous--a heavy egg souffle, and the only fruit were citrus although it was the peak of the season for fresh berries, etc which was disappointing. The cereal boxes were all left open all the time, which was a little off-putting. The availability of a computer and "help yourself" access to more towels, toilet paper, etc. was great. The terrace was nice to sit out on for a bit as well. Our hostess, who never actually told us her name, was nice enough but not terribly helpful or available with suggestions but we fended fine for ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place, so nicely priced, is unbelievably in the heart of Old Quebec City, opposite one of the best restaurants in town and walking distance to everything. My excellent vote is probably because of the great room we were fortunate to get! Third and last floor, with its own balcony, very spacious with a queen sizes bed, an extra sofa bed, a beautiful coffee table, a nice (small but with everything) bathroom and a kitchenette with a fridge and a kettle. The room name is Cartier. We felt brought back to Europe but the stunning water views of the Saint Laurence did remind us we were in Quebec!
The breakfast was in a nice cozy room downstairs where everyone was very friendly and all guests engaged in talks! Downside: you need to ask for the room to be cleaned (not a major issue) and breakfast is served until 9.30: not much of a sleep in if you need it!

Room Tip: Our room was Cartier. It is quiet as no one is above you but get ready to hike 3 floors with a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our stay at Castel was fantastic....Natalie, the owner, was a warm, caring and wonderful person. We felt right at home. The room was lovely, the house clean, comfortable and inviting...the decor eclectic but very French Canadian. Breakfast was a delight and so were all the other guests. It's a great value and well worth it. We strongly recommend this terrific place in a wonderful city.

Room Tip: All rooms great but 3 floors so choice is whether you want to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spirits1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel d'Amerique Francaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel d'Amerique Francaise

Property: Castel d'Amerique Francaise
Address: 31, Ste-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castel d'Amerique Francaise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castel d'Amerique Francaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel d`Amerique Francaise Hotel Quebec City
Castel D'Amerique Francaise Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing