We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - Not to be missed!”
Review of Le Patriarche - CLOSED

Le Patriarche
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Saint Jean
Description: Nestled in the heart of Old Quebec near the Saint-Jean Gate, with its 4 diamonds,the Patriarche beckons with its intimate setting and the refined decor of a beautiful, circa 1827 stone house. Inside, you'll discover that good things come in threes, as executive chef Stephane Roth shares his creativity with his celebrated "trilogies from the terroir"
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OMG - Not to be missed!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Words truly can't describe how fabulous our meals were. We ate at three of Quebec's top restaurants, and this one was TOP of the list. There is a serious "WOW factor" for the food (taste, as well as presentation) here. And although I usually resist filling up on bread, I couldn't resist trying the cheddar bacon roll...wow, I really could have just eaten those, all night. Can't even imagine how tasty the other breads might have been. Still salivating at the memory of this meal.

I was too full to finish dessert, so they kindly boxed it up for me, as well as the little maple candies that they give all guests at the end of the meal. Even those candies were incredibly delicious - little soft caramels with maple.

In addition, they were able to accommodate my husband's need for a gluten free meal - including providing gluten free bread...something we rarely see in the U.S.

This was a truly memorable meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C-S-TravelersFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    49
    21
    17
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our Penultimate Old Quebec Feast!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The notable chef approaches the five course prix fixe dinner (and it took us a wonderful three hours) with presentation by "trilogy;" that is, each selection was brought cooked in three distinct manners. The service was superb, the cuisine matchless. And in an 1827 building. Pay attention, foodies, and don't miss Le Patriarche.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank troytjaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trilogy”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the best meals I've ever had. Our waiter was the owner, a charming gentleman. He explained every dish to us with great passion. We chose to let him suggest wines, and the suggestions were great. Some "out of the box" thinking, especially on the whites.
The concept here is based on the "trilogy". Everything is served in groups of three. If you order scallops for the first course, you get them three different ways, all exquisite:
Scallop in cuttlefish ink tempura, Belgian endive mousse
Tartar with lime and lobster oil, mussels and coriander foam
Boiled scallop with ginger and coconut milk
I had the "gibier" (game meat) for the main course, and it was divine:
Barded young wild boar, green beans, light tomato sauce with spices
Smoked pigeon breast filet, potato and celeriac cake
Caribou, stuffed zucchini, alder juice
This is one of these rare occasions where you are blown away by the talent involved, both in the design and execution of these wonderful creations. And when the wine pairing is up to par, it becomes a spiritual experience. The scallop in cutllefish ink tempura is a masterpiece. You get 2 or 3 bites of it, but who cares? You won't be hungry after this meal anyway.
Your boss won't like your expense report, but you only live once.

If you are anywhere near Quebec city, and you can afford it, hurry up and reserve a table. You won't regret it. Just tell your boss you had 6 clients with you, that's all...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mon_onc_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best food of the holiday......”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

..... And we ate some incredible food!!! Service was excellent in the small dining room. Fantastic evening and a memorable meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmabelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very special meal”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We wanted to try something different and this restaurant was perfect for that! It is not a cheap meal but I'd say it is totally worth it! The flavours were very complex and interesting and the wine pairing was a great addition to our meal!

I was a bit confused by the reviews here where people said that the meal consists of the same food prepared in 3 different ways. That may have applied to the scallop appetizer but not to the entree. The entree had 3 different types of meat or fish or some other option I can't remember. It is a great opportunity to try things like a caribou or boar if you have never had this before. And everything is cooked and presented beautifully! For dessert I had "Death by chocolate" and it was amazing! Really special and memorable meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrinaKnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Patriarche also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing