We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the most beautiful meals ever!”
Review of Le Patriarche - CLOSED

Le Patriarche
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Saint Jean
Description: Nestled in the heart of Old Quebec near the Saint-Jean Gate, with its 4 diamonds,the Patriarche beckons with its intimate setting and the refined decor of a beautiful, circa 1827 stone house. Inside, you'll discover that good things come in threes, as executive chef Stephane Roth shares his creativity with his celebrated "trilogies from the terroir"
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Among the most beautiful meals ever!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had high hopes for this place as the reviews were outstanding and we were not disappointed in any way. The setting was intimate and elegant, service was impeccable, the timing was leisurely, and the food spectacular both in taste and presentation. We each ordered one of the trios - the guys got the Game Meat trio (wild boar, bison, pigeon, caribou in different preparations) and we women got the Fisherman's Plate (walleye, tile fish, smoked scallop, ballottine, mussels, etc. in various preparations). I have left out the detailed descriptions but readers can visit the website. The courses, aside from the soup, come on plates with three "bites" - small portions of 3 different varieties of your selection. We were moaning and smiling and sharing. While you can't switch out items on your trio, once the soup came (I wanted the one my husband got and he wanted mine), we quietly switched our bowls.

We each got Death by Chocolate for dessert and the moaning continued!

This place is expensive until you think about what you experienced and how the staff seemed to understand that this was an evening, not just a meal. We were there for 3.5 hours!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank socaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    49
    21
    17
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“excellent food and a ride home by the chef”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We saw their little sign on the main street and were intrigued by their concept. We got a nice table upstairs by the window, in a very cozy and romantic setting. The service was perfect, attentive but not intrusive. We took their five course meals and were very happy with that choice. They food was very creative, prepared with a lot of attention to detail. We also went for matching wines for $45, also a good choice apart from my strawberry wine that came with the "to die from chocolate" dessert. Overall, a wonderful but expensive evening out, yet with such food and a team of 16 people behind it the bill was reasonable. It was raining cats and dogs at the end of our meal and there was no taxi available, so the owner himself drove us back to our hotel. A wonderful end to a great evening. If we make it back to Quebec, then for sure again to this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretentious; Their Way or No Way”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were prepared to spend $250+ on dinner until we asked to change the soup selection on the prix fixe menu (for a cheaper soup) The server's response: We cannot do that!

This arrogant, inflexible attitude sent us off to another high-end restaurant in Quebec City, Initiale, which turned out to be a fantastic meal with superb, accommodating service. And, whereas Le Patriarche had only one server, there were 6 servers at Initiale, another small place.

A great restaurant has to have more than great food. It must offer great service and an appreciation of its customers. If changing consomme to pea soup is "impossible," they really need to adjust their self-important attitude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmavensny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Road
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Cleverly conceived, excellently executed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The chef has decided to do everything in threes. So, for example, if you get the lamb plate as your main course (as I did), you get lamb prepared three ways on your plate. While it might seem as though he has over-intellectualized his approach, it really works very well.

The food itself was excellent. I wish I knew how he made those little bubbles of tomato that came on my tomato salad appetizer. They seemed to be held together by nothing more than surface tension. My wife and I both ordered from the choice of three complete dinners, though a la carte dining was also available. Every component of both of our dinners was very good.

The service was also extraordinary. Our server's fluency in both English and French was very impressive, and her poise and refined manner were in contrast to the standard that, unfortunately, is now common even in many highly-rated restaurants.

One caveat: the portions are of a size that is often lampooned by those who prefer big portions of stolid food to smaller portions of refined food. But when you're eating five courses, how big do you really want your portions to be?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WandererOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We love wonderful food and it is hard to make us stop and say WOW, but this restaurant exceeded all of our expectations on every level. The food, presentation, creativity, and ambience were exceptional. The service was impeccable and the restaurant itself was beautiful. Yes, it was pricey, but for a 3+ hr dinner of this caliber, it was well worth it. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klsrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Patriarche also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing