We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever - Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worst ever - Stay away”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Do not go there.

Asked the manager a small question about meal option because on some website I couldn't understand what they meant, he started shouting and cursing. Almost hit me I think.

Very bad condition rooms, dirty rooms and kitchen.

The receptionist was afraid from the manager and warned us about his attitud few times.

Stay away, several much better Places to stay only block away and same price.

I have been to many countries and hundreds of accommodation places, this is the only one ever that I truly regrat.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    4
    38
See reviews for
2
11
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Two biggest problems were the noise and also the staff's politeness. Late night traffic with loud music and drunk people really was disturbing even during the weekdays. The person in charge pretended to be very nice, saying you can stay 'a bit longer', but once it is after check-out time you will get repeated, aggressive and almost insulting requests to leave. So don't take his words literally, or simply don't stay at this place would be a rather viable option.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street will hear people from the bar making loud noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Malaga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

this hostel smells so bad, there is an ugly dog and the place is not as clean as the website said. I recomment another hostel with similar prices and better location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paloma100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hostel was awful, we had the worst experience of our life with an hostel.
We were on the road, stucked in the traffic, so we called them to say we would be a little bit late, and the guy (very unpleasant) told us that the hostel was closing at 9pm (never seen that for a youth hostel), but that they would wait for us.
When we arrived in Quebec City, we called again because we got lost, and the guy said that he was leaving, that it was too late, that he didn't want to wait more, and he HUNG UP ON me on the phone !! So rude...
We were litterally 2 streets away. How easy would have it been to give us the code to get in, and to leave an enveloppe with the keys? The hostel we satyed at in Ottawa (Ottawa Backpackers Inn by the way) did this, it was so simple, and so helpful for people travelling...
So he left us without anything, in the night, in another country, city. Anyway, the day after we went back and tried to talk with him, but he was not willing to speak, DID NOT WANT TO SPEAK ENGLISH... So of course he charged us for the night we didn't stay at the hostel for.
The hostel looks very disgusting, there's a very bad smell when you arrive, and it seems really crappy.
Don't go there !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hostel overall was good and I would recommend it, staff were helpful, it had a good kitchen and dining area and comfy lounging areas. The dorms were large, but had old period character which I loved. The bathrooms were clean and modern. The downside to it all was the amount of school groups, and mornings were manic and contained epic queues for the showers. I think if you go and there's no school group, it would be excellent, but because of the kids, I say 'very good'.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We noticed the rooms were dirty when arriving, then we got bites, after research and knowledge about a 'crazy dog that goes around everywhere.' we found out we had FLEAS!!!!

The manager, he said it was rashes, blamed the water, soap and was adamant that it was not fleas.

Upon trying to get our money back the owner said we were 'never happy'! WE had FLEAS!!! The montreal hostel under the same owner, has bedbugs and the flea ridden dog is now there. (As told by the manager!)

DON'T GO! FLEAS!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xSarah91x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed here just for a night while visiting a friend who came unresponsive after I made the trip from Montreal. Got one last bed as I called at intercities rates with my Montreal phone, fortunately Steve was swift and didn't keep me waiting. First bad point is, you can't check in after 9PM, which is pretty early when you got only a pair of foot to use and are 8km away and it's 7PM, with only a cell GPS to guide you.

Bed was in the front room, the noisiest, but I didn't expect more since I was calling late. Extremely old place, indeed, and we could hear every car passing. There's clearly an urgent need for phonic insulation upgrade. Price is expensive for comfort provided. Some people may find a better deal by staying in a motel instead, for a lower rate than their private room.

There were 8 beds, and even with due caution from other people in here, packing up your things at 6:30AM when everyone else is still sleeping is sure to wake other people up. There was no "hard curfew", but people in the hostel were nice enough to respect other's sleep and not do any talking or cooking after 10PM, as Steve told us. A case was provided to store sensitive stuff, but it's only big enough to hold a SMALL computer, passport, and such. Bring your own padlock.

Steve appears to be cleaning every day, and despite extreme wear in some parts, there's no much dirt. Other guest tend to forget their stuff in the bathroom, fortunately, no bodily hair was found. Contrary to other hostels I went in, there was no extra for sheets and a towel, which is even nicer as they're cleaned every day.

This hostel is in line with others I slept in: good to avoid sleeping on the street, but not more. Can't get a good rest, eventually you WILL get waken up by other people entering, leaving, or simply, the street noise. Service was better, though.

Room Tip: NEVER EVER forget to bring EARPLUGS! Choose back rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubytus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge de la Paix
Auberge de la Paix
#7 of 30 in Quebec City
124 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Charest
Hotel Manoir Charest
#106 of 119 in Quebec City
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Lofts Saint-Joseph
#2 of 30 in Quebec City
111 reviews
Hippocampe Hotel
#9 of 30 in Quebec City
58 reviews
L'Autre Jardin
#52 of 119 in Quebec City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel

Property: La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel
Address: 386 Rue du Pont, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing